We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad to stay for one night”
Review of Laem Thong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Laem Thong Hotel
Ranked #61 of 91 Hotels in Hat Yai
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not bad to stay for one night”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Hat Yai is a bit wired town with hundreds of different hotels,most of them are really old,pricy and...empty!
So we left kilometers behind looking for a cheep but acceptable hotel for transit night and finally came back to Laem Thong Hotel,located within 300 meters(!) from Hat Yai railway station,very close.
We took a 380 bath double room with fan. And we came back to 70's! Very old furniture,smoked, with specific smell..actually I was afraid of mice and insects,but no one appeared) There was a window,but overlooking the wall and tighty closed with dark curtain - so,there was no window in the room) The bed was ok, covered with sheet, with 2 pillows and kind of big towel instead of dovet.The TV was working, with 3 english speaking channels. The bathroom was quite spacious,clean,tile faced,with hot water. No personal cosmetic accessorise. No safe deposit. Wifi was good both in the room and lobby. For 50 bath there's tasty thai food,big portions,but mice a running under the tables..)
To sleep 1 night and to take a shower this place is ok,but to be honest,I was looking forward to leave it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Ksenia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    7
    13
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
6
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

The room was clean and big. Bathroom also clean, decent, with hot shower.
Very cheap, 450 baht through Agoda.
The hotel is old, with some kind of oldy smell in the corridors.
Some of the staff is rude and unfriendly. Some are friendly.
Wifi is free in the lobby.
The restaurant is fine, very cheap and good food.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

I've stayed here several times over the years, as its an OK place for a night. It is clean and the bathrooms basic but OK. The hotel was recently renovated and now seems a lot smaller as part of it has closed. On one visit I found the mattress was very bumpy but was able to change the room. Fan rooms are 320 Bt (2011). There is a restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank LizinKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

What a very lame review is "EEwwww....this hotel made my skin crawl!!!” I mean really... The "HaveMonkeyWillTravel" couple is going from hotel to hotel, bargain hunting. They got to see their room at Laem Thong in advance, and then said OK. What do they have to complain about? If they wanted the Marriott, they should have gone to the Marriott.

YES - the hotel is a bit dated. The ceiling fan looks like it's from the 1950s, and the TV with many channels is a bit small. But the water is hot, the bedsheets are clean and bedbug free, there's a wifi router sitting on the floor at the end of the hall, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the restaurant has good food. Laem Thong is quite an acceptable hotel for $13US per night. What whiners are HaveMonkeyWillTravel...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KenRoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

i stayed there for 1 day recently on transit to surat thani . i found the room clean the staff excellent and enjoyed the break . this was at the start of chinese new year there so possibly i was there at the right time . it was better than a basic room ,cheap and above all clean

Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank aramatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We were on our way from Phuket to Penang and stopped in Hat Yai for an overnight respite. We'd had a look on the internet and thought - for one night, it doesn't really matter where we stay, although we'd been used to pretty nice hotels in Thailand! We originally looked at staying at The Golden Crown hotel which we found on a website for about 700bht a night, and it looks really nice, but we also saw a guest house called Louis' Guest House, which was apparently only 400bht a night and we thought for one night only we'd down grade to this! However when we got to Louis and had a look at the room which we were quoted 500bht for, we decided against it as it was pretty disgusting....

We crossed the road and found Laem Thong Hotel, strange looking place, but it was dark, getting late and we were tired...a very friendly porter showed us the room - which did have a tv and lots of channels ...but looked like it hadn't been decorated since the early 70's...for 450bht we couldn't be bothered to argue and took the room..

The hotel has 7 floors, we were on the 7th. When you get out the lift the corridor was dark n dingy and dirty looking.

The room itself, AC, was def not working properly and we were swelteringly hot all night!

The bedsheets looked fairly clean, although the room itself was so mismatched and dirty looking, with wallpaper peeling off the walls and badly stained yellow curtains, windows with bars on them.....

it was fine for one night and the location is pretty good, but if you can afford it, i'd def try The Golden Crown instead :)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havemonkeywilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hat Yai hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hat Yai hotels
0.0 mi away
The 1 Place Hat Yai
The 1 Place Hat Yai
#33 of 91 in Hat Yai
2 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tanaphat Hatyai Hotel
Tanaphat Hatyai Hotel
#45 of 91 in Hat Yai
8 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lee Gardens Hotel
Lee Gardens Hotel
#14 of 91 in Hat Yai
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Florida Hotel Hatyai
The Florida Hotel Hatyai
#47 of 91 in Hat Yai
31 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chudchada Place
Chudchada Place
#15 of 91 in Hat Yai
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aloha Hotel
Aloha Hotel
#6 of 91 in Hat Yai
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laem Thong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laem Thong Hotel

Property: Laem Thong Hotel
Address: 46 Thamanoonviti Rd., Hat Yai 90110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Songkhla Province > Hat Yai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 91 Hotels in Hat Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing