We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some improvement with better rooms”
Review of King's Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hat Yai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
King's Hotel
Ranked #70 of 90 Hotels in Hat Yai
Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“some improvement with better rooms”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I just enjoyed my 3 days (2.7.13 to 4.7.13)holiday in King hotel hatyai. The hotel had renovated some rooms with new furnitures including new carpet and bathroom, however, with the new improvement, there is an increase in room-rate of Baht 750 per day as compared to previous rate of Baht 500 to 550. If you are a budget traveller like myself you still can ask for the older rooms which is about Baht 550( which is very often sold out.) As location wise it is situated next to a new Aloha Hotel where the rooms rate is more than baht 1000++. If you just want a comfortable room with very basic amenities then you can consider this hotel otherwise you can go next door to a 4 stars rating aloha hotel

Room Tip: ask for a room with a window, you have to pay a little bit more
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PhilipChia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    4
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
3
13
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
147 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed here 1 night on our way to Malaysia. The place is well located and that is the only good thing about the hotel. Rooms are old and smell like ashtray . The beds are very hard and quite short, if you're over 1m80 the bed will be to short. Bathrooms are very basic although they have 'newer' rooms with nicer bathrooms. The carpet on the floor was very fillty so you don't want to take your shoes off! One night was the maximum I would ever stay in this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thibaut T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hat Yai hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

Im not a bad reviewer, you should understand that we took the cheapest room at 650bht and for that we get an aircon,tv,shower and double bed and fridge.

Room is dirty and old. The kind of old that just smells, no matter how well you clean it. Pillows are pretty hard. Reception are friendly.

Dont expect much, its cheap and functional.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vaughan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I stumbled onto King's Hotel in passing and ventured in for a single night. The location is within walking distance to 7-11's, malls, and many restaurants as well as crowds of night vendors.

The windowless room is equipped with AC, wifi, a mini fridge, a television, and a good sized bed as well as a closet to hang your belongings in. There are elevators on each floor (if I recall correctly) so large amounts of luggage shouldn't be a problem.
A group across the hall (and a few doors down) was quite rowdy and you could easily hear them from such a distance. The entire place smelt of cigarettes but after visiting some of Hat Yai's other hotels, this one is on the cleaner side (for those who aren't faint of heart). So, not spotless but clean enough that you can bare a night's sleep.

The wifi was a bit faulty and disconnected for an entire evening, into the later morning so I ended up having to leave the hotel to find internet access and accidentally left my passport when I did. My passport was returned at reception but all the money I kept inside of it had been taken out and was not returned.

I didn't take the time to try the restaurant or the massage that they offered but both places seemed to be full, so I assume the service was alright. :-)

This place get's a 50/50 in everything: "Not entirely clean but..." "Has wifi but..." "Offers this but..."

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yuuya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed for one night in september 2012 on our way to Malaysia. We paid 600thb, for twin room with a/c, private bathroom and tv ,in the old wing of the building.
This was our third timestaying at the kings hotel in the last five years, and it will the last. We had booked a room for two nights, over the phone but when we arrived we were told by a very rude receptionist that we would have to move to a 1200thb room for the second night, and we had to pay now. We were not keen on this plan. We looked at the 600thb room, and said we would stay one night only!!!.
The rooms are barely acceptable, dirty. Smelly and dated. The bathroom could do with a good bleaching, from top to bottom and at 600thb well overpriced. In any other thailand town this hotel would have closed down, but being so close to the border they have they have a steady market and no incentive to improve.
During the night our air conditioning stopped working, and the guy from reception came to look at it. We were told that we had it on too low at 20degrees!!! ,and to leave it at 25 degrees. Finally after a sweaty and sleepless hour he grudgingly bought.a Mobile a/c from reception, and we managed to get some sleep .so not a great stay and in future we will be staying at the tune hotel, when we do visa runs.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pmmh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We checked several budget places near the station - they're all a bit seedy and this was the cleanest of the lot. Though it could do with a hygiene check and general make over.

The room was double, ensuite + TV. Clean enough but aged and in need of improvement.

There was Wi-Fi which is a bonus and allowed me to find a great Full English nearby (The Swan) the next morning. (http://www.2fortheroad.co.uk/index.php/2012/01/09/malaysia-truly-asia/)

It's on close reach of the train station - which, if you're here, you probably are looking for. It's about a half hour walk from the bus terminal.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2fortheroad-co-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We have used this hotel since the 1980. The hotel has the oldest lift in hatyai town. We last stayed here in May 2012. There is no added facilities except that the hotel provides very basic amenities. A very friendly inhouse massage palace. From the room, you can phone for the massage service and the massage lady will appear at the door within minutes. If you want a good size double bed, friendly staff and quiet location then this is a good choice. If you want a safety stay, King hotel is far away from the recent trouble areas where the expensive hotels are situated.

Room Tip: rooms facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank PhilipChia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hat Yai hotels
0.2 mi away
Asian Hotel Hatyai
Asian Hotel Hatyai
#22 of 90 in Hat Yai
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sakura Hotel
Sakura Hotel
#69 of 90 in Hat Yai
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kosit Hotel
Kosit Hotel
#42 of 90 in Hat Yai
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mayflower Grande Hotel - Hat Yai
0.1 mi away
Red Planet Hat Yai
Red Planet Hat Yai
#2 of 90 in Hat Yai
612 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Train Hotel Hatyai
The Train Hotel Hatyai
#13 of 74 in Hat Yai
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Hotel

Property: King's Hotel
Address: 126 Niphat Uthit 1 Rd., Hat Yai 90110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Songkhla Province > Hat Yai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 90 Hotels in Hat Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King’s Hotel prides itself for its long years of providing the best in terms of luxury and comfort to customers both local and foreign with its friendly and reliable service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing