We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sleep at Tune”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Planet Hat Yai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Planet Hat Yai
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Hat Yai
Lasko, Slovenia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great sleep at Tune”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I stayed at Tune Hat Yai for two nights before proceeding my way to Malaysia. I was already in Hat Yai before and I stayed at some guesthouse which was decent. I saw that Tune has some cool promotion so I decided to stay here and to try it for the first time. Price was good, I selected early check in as I came early by train from Chumphon. I selected as an option 24 hours A/C, toiletries and 24 internet access. Check in was swift and welcoming. Staff had a good command of English so I did not have any troubles at all. As I booked early check in it was officially stated that check in is is possible after 11am. But as it was only 8.30am reception was so nice to let me in the room already at that time. We were tired after long ride with train and that was accepted very good by us. 24 hour A/C is enough for 2 days as you can distribute usage between the days. If you are walking around Hat Yai you certainly not need to run so you have enough time. Internet is activated after first log in and it is valid for 24 hours. But also no trouble there as I did not need it so much and first day I used computer placed in the lobby area.
So about the place. Hotel is positioned very conveniently as it is only app 10 minutes slow walking from train station. Hotel is clean and well maintained. We also did not have any difficulty with the noise and we had an excellent sleep. Bed mattress is of superb quality and was among the best on my travel and also overall. I would give it 5* for sure here. Hat Yai is very busy during the weekends and Malaysian holidays so book ahead if you want to stay at these times. I came in the middle of the week and the hotel was more or less very quiet.

You also have a safe box provided in the room. But my recommendation would be that hotel should screw this box to the wall or furniture as some people might not feel safe enough with safe just placed in the room.

There is no dining room in the hotel but there are lots of options if you go for breakfast outside. Just exit hotel turn left and proceed along the street and you will find some cool breakfast providing Asian and western style breakfast for cheap price. Anyway Tune was providing exactly these what we payed for for very good price. Certainly I can say that sleep quality was of five stars and price as for staying at some guest house. I would highly recommend this place and will stay here again if occasion brings me to Hat Yai again.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are with windows but there are also some rooms that are windowless. I would avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    276
    117
    36
    14
See reviews for
144
142
79
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

1. Stay here for 3 nights.
2. Clean and Tidy.
3. Big room. (Bigger than expected)
4. Within walking distance to ODEON shopping mall, Lee Garden Plaza.
5. Basic amenities such as TV, Hot water shower, Hair Dryer and Towel.
6. Recommended to stay, Worth for the price.
7. "Tut Tut" is available in front of hotel at anytime. Good when traveling to Market/Pasar.
8. Foods and restaurant found nearby.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor (8th Floor), bigger room. More quiet than lower floor as further from the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken Sheng W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edlesborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

If you are passing through Hat Yai this is good value, very clean and central. No character or restaurant but a great stop over. Wasn't impressed with Hat Yai so one night was enough. Would stay at Tune hotels again when I just want to sleep and not appreciate scenic surroundings!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Hotel is spacious, compared to other Tune Hotels I've stayed in.

The only obvious flaw: We could hear literally everything that is going on outside. Children screaming, adults chit-chatting, etc. Not a very good way to wake up in the morning.

Location: Excellent, within walking distance to the town/city centre/malls.
Room comfort: Good, Pillows could be changed to something more comfortable though, it's too flat.
Cleanliness: Good.
Reception: Very friendly, full of smiles.

Don't have to worry about finding a tour company outside the hotel for your trip. Just engage a conversation with the uncle who are situated in the hotel lobby (pic attached). He's very honest and he'll tell you where to go, what to do, etc. Nice guy.

Overall, a good stay. We'll definitely stay in this hotel again if we return to Hat Yai.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGlobTrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

You do not get a lot in this hotel. But it is a best place for those who seek no thrills and like to pay the minimum for central Hat Yai location. The rooms are very clean and the beds are very good to sleep on. There is a TV.. and there is a hair dryer. And that's about it. Reception checking in takes 5 minutes. They give you towels and soap to bring to your room. And than you are on your own. About 30 US a Night. 5 minutes away from the Lee Garden Plaza shopping mall where all the action is. And 5 minutes walk from the railway station where we had to catch a train to Kuala Lumpur.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

- very efficient and fast check in and check out procedure
- very clean room and bathroom. Room is wide and comfortable.
- WiFi is average, very slow at certain times
- TV channels are very limited, wish there's more English language channels. Even National Geographic is subbed and translated into Thai language huhu
- I really really wish a 7-Eleven or any mini mart being build anywhere around the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at higher floor has better WiFi connection... my friend told me
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nohano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

arrived in Hat Yai around 9pm and the airport shuttle van gave direct transfer to the hotel. The location is good and room itself is clean. Y'd find lots of travel booths outside. BUT BE AWARE that they charge you somewhere between 350-400b for a seat in van to Trang or Krabi, for which you only pay 160-250b if you go to bus station to grab a ticket. We hired a private car going to Songhka which costs 800b. The driver had tried hard to sell various show tickets and elephant riding.

Room Tip: ask for rooms with mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sihao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hat Yai hotels
0.2 mi away
Centara Hotel Hat Yai
Centara Hotel Hat Yai
#1 of 87 in Hat Yai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.6 mi away
U Hatyai Hotel
U Hatyai Hotel
#5 of 87 in Hat Yai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.9 mi away
Buri Sriphu Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
PB Grand
PB Grand
#10 of 87 in Hat Yai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lee Gardens Plaza
Lee Gardens Plaza
#20 of 87 in Hat Yai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lee Gardens Hotel
Lee Gardens Hotel
#21 of 87 in Hat Yai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Hat Yai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Hat Yai

Property: Red Planet Hat Yai
Address: 152-156 Niphat Uthit 2 Road, Hat Yai, Thailand (Formerly Tune Hotel Hat Yai)
Region: Thailand > Songkhla Province > Hat Yai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Hat Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Hat Yai 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly visible and right in down town Hat Yai, the Tune Hotel Hat Yai is in the perfect location in this busy southern Thailand city whether you are exploring its leisure activities or travelling for business and expecting a safe, clean stay that is also great value for money. Set in a safe and clean environment, Tune Hotel Hat Yai is home to 148 bedrooms with extremely comfortable queen-size or twin single beds with Tune Hotel’s famous duck down quilts and pillows, providing a homely night’s sleep at a value price point. Every room also contains a power shower, ceiling fan or air conditioning, large flat screen television, WiFi internet access, safe and a hair dryer.Inter-connecting and wheelchair access rooms are also available.The hotel is also home to the award-winning and newly opened Thai Odyssey Spa. The spa offers a full range of services from body scrubs, facials and local beauty programmes to an extensive range of traditional Thai and international massage techniques.There are also two fully-equipped meeting rooms in the Tune Hotel Hat Yai which can cater to meetings in various configurations, including 70 delegates theatre-style, 40 in a class-room format and 24 in a boardroom layout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Planet Hat Yai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing