We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Concept” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Planet Hat Yai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Planet Hat Yai
Ranked #2 of 85 Hotels in Hat Yai
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Unique Concept”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is the 1st time I've stayed in a Tune Hotel-partly out of curiosity and partly because it had very good ratings on Tripadvisor.
Its certainly different from all other hotels I've been to.
At check-in, I was given 2 towels, soaps and shampoo and the TV remote: to be returned upon checking-out.
The room was spartan and the floor had wooden panels but was rather dusty and a cobweb was hanging in one-corner of the room.
I chose the room at the back as it was quiet. The rooms in front were facing the noisy main street. This back room had a window but there was nothing to see as it faced a wall.
Breakfast was not provided as there was no restaurant-but you can buy a cup of nescafe at reception.
Would I stay at Tune Hotels again? Probably not if I have a choice as it reminds me of a hostel rather than a hotel.
However I wouldn't mind it if I have no other choices.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibnibatutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    255
    110
    33
    14
See reviews for
129
131
77
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is a harder one for me to write, as i like the Tune Hotel brand and concept, and have frequently recommended Tune to others.

Pros: the hotel itself is not too far from the Hat Yai rail station, and just a couple of blocks off of the Central Market / Lee Gardens ?Odean shopping area - and also close to the strip of clubs and bars, if that is a concern/priority.

I got a very good rate via Agoda - around 600 THB/night (including TV & internet!), which is what you would pay at an older small Chinese/Thai guesthouse for an aircon room. The aircon is excellent, ceiling fan strong but quiet, the shower more than hot enough & good pressure, the room clean, the bed comfort (pillows, bedding) up to Tune standards, and internet seems stable and fast enough. Good quality lighting throughout room. A full-length mirror close to the door, and another good mirror in bathroom. There is a samsung flat-screen tv. Key card required for elevator, solid door, and room safe - I felt very secure here, and would recc it to solo female travellers. And reception staff was very friendly and explained everything as if I was a first-time Tune stayer. :)

Cons: while looking really nice from the outside, this Tune just isn't up to the standard I am used to. There is a very small lobby area and a 'help desk' - but no small cafe or other places in the hotel proper. You need to go outside across the street to a small cafe (that I imagine Tune was a huge boon for). My room itself is pretty spartan - bare floors and walls; no splashes of color or the decals like you see in other properties. The bed was a queen, not a king, and the mattress not quite as soft/comfortable as other Tune properties I have stayed at. There is NO storage of any kind - just one bar with 4 hangers, but not even a shelf or drawer otherwise in the room. So you won't really be unpacking your bags, unless you put stuff on the floor. There is a mini 'control panel' next to the door for the AC (which I couldn't adjust the fan, only the temp), a DnDisturb button, and an alarm. A small table and matching stool (uncomfortable for sitting) - no proper chair. Although I was able to move it over under the TV (to hook my netbook into the Samsung TV), this was difficult, as you can't easily access the inputs on the back of the TV.There are only 3 outlets in the room - 1 in a corner by the tv, one by the bed, and one that is part of the hair-dryer on the wall. There is no outlet in the bathroom. No clock or phone in the room - if you have a question or request, you need to walk down to the desk. Although there was a good-sized window, there is a weird sort of privacy/shading/security mesh outside - you can't really see out, and although - from the outside of the building - it looks like you would have a balcony . . . you don't. And no window in the bathroom.

Speaking of which, the shower is only semi-enclosed; it looked like there were 2 doors at one point, but it either broke or was removed??? And no glass to hold a toothbrush, razor, comb, etc.

The bottom line is: it is a good enough place if you can get it at a discounted rate. You will get a good hot shower, a safe room, and a good night's sleep, close to the Central Hat Yai area.

But, in general? for the price? You would be MUCH better off booking BP All Suite Hotel (not the Tower, but the new Suite Hotel) right around the corner - close to same price, but much nicer room, balcony, use of gym & pool across the street at BP Tower, restaurant, coffee shop, etc.

Room Tip: like most of the Central HY area, the closer you are to the ground floor, the more lobby and street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlenJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

checked in for 3 nights in November 2013.Room is clean, spacious with daily housekeeping.
Receptionist is friendly, speaks English and knowledgeable. Tuks tuks, easily available outside hotel. Restaurants, malls, travel agents all just round the corner (10 mins walking distance).
There is a tour desk (private operator) where one can book day tours, tour to koh lipe, floating market and transfer service to malaysia located at the lobby.
Only complaint is the bathroom.... although spacious... water from the shower drains very slowly and the washing basin area is wet after a shower.
Overall stay is pleasant and will return if I get a good deal otherwise if you add up airconditioning, towels, etc it can costly.

Room Tip: do not choose a room near the elevator. It can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eve565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Tune good points and bad points

The Good

very modern and clean secure, no access to the floors without your key spacious room great air-conditioning good fans good showers very good WiFi good range of TV programs

The Bad
we were not allowed to check in before we paid 50 baht for car parking (this was a hidden cost) and seemed of paramount importance to the company much more so than customer service.

you have to carry your own towels and TV remote to the room and if you have a lot of luggage this just adds to your burden there is no drinking water in the room (I have never experienced this in Asia before) there is no fridge the worst aspect of the stay was that it was not explained either at reception or in the room that checkout was by 11:00 exactly(typically in Thailand it is noon) and the electricity cut off at exactly 11:00 I was in the shower when it happened and I was left in pitch darkness,other friends had yet to shower this was a key issue for us as we had a long journey planned that day.

In essence this place is controlled by computer perhaps Orwell got it slightly wrong 2014 not 1984, so far too Orwellian for me, any decision making is removed from the staff and therefore they cannot use any discretion. On balance I not would use Tune again, however for a woman travelling on her own for whom the bad points listed above are not important it may be a good safe option

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Its location is pretty good, if you arrive in Hat Yai by train. The room is pretty spacious, and it has a bare minimalistic approach. There are no fridge and wardrobe in the room, except for the bed, a chair and a table, a stool, and a television attached to the wall. There was a receptionist that was very polite and helpful with directions. However, in general, the hotel's services are quite quantifiable; every extra effort / service comes with a price. For e.g. leaving the bag in the help desk for a few hours after checking out requires extra charges.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLow87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nonthaburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

despite its location, i cant find anything good about this hotel.

i checked in with my untidy look; wrinkling t-shirt, a pair of faded blue jeans and fuzzy haired face, i believed one of their security guys tried squeezing in a pact elevator for some unknown reasons with me (???). that was kinda annoying for me.

i stayed in 9th floor and my room was in front of the elevator. i could hear people walking/talking in/out as well as the elevator bell for most of the time.

the bath room, the tub worked okay but the shower was broken. as i got back home from business meeting late, i didnt bother to call for a new room as i needed to get up early for an early meeting the next day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theboyd_th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is Absolute Minimalist Facility, be prepared to pay for whatever additional you expect other than your bed, 1 pc of towel & 1 tube of shower gel (if it’s available in the hotel inventory).
No dining outlet is available within the premise, even if you opt for breakfast to be included (additional charge) it will come in a pre-pack form. No need to worry about it because decent eateries just steps away from the Main Hotel Entrance.
As overall the facility is nice except the elevator (during my stay) which was a bit damage. Hotel is quite clean but the Room Service I would say was POOR. Do you expect that somebody will only come and do your room at 4.00 o’clock in the afternoon even if after you requested for it before you went out for breakfast at 8.00 in the morning and 3 more calls after you’re back from lunch at 1 o’clock in the afternoon.
Do not expect any additional facility e.g. mini fridge or complimentary drinking water in the room, kettle or 3 in 1 sachet for you. As I did mentioned, the in room facility is absolute minimalist even for the star rated hotel.
Anyway the in room facility is still in decent condition & the wifi coverage (make sure get it purchased earlier if you need it) was satisfactory but still long way to go from excellent.
I would say if you just required a place to sleep & get yourself fresh for the next day I would say it’s money well spend but if you expect nice venue for perfect holiday, I would not recommend it unless you’re prepared to bring your own things to pamper yourself inclusive of your F&B ;-)

Room Tip: As General Rooms is Good but do not expect any additional facilities. No Smoking Room option availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hat Yai hotels
0.2 mi away
Centara Hotel Hat Yai
Centara Hotel Hat Yai
#1 of 85 in Hat Yai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.9 mi away
Buri Sriphu Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
U Hatyai Hotel
U Hatyai Hotel
#5 of 85 in Hat Yai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
PB Grand
PB Grand
#9 of 85 in Hat Yai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lee Gardens Plaza
Lee Gardens Plaza
#20 of 85 in Hat Yai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lee Gardens Hotel
Lee Gardens Hotel
#28 of 85 in Hat Yai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Hat Yai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Hat Yai

Property: Red Planet Hat Yai
Address: 152-156 Niphat Uthit 2 Road, Hat Yai, Thailand (Formerly Tune Hotel Hat Yai)
Region: Thailand > Songkhla Province > Hat Yai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 85 Hotels in Hat Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Hat Yai 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly visible and right in down town Hat Yai, the Tune Hotel Hat Yai is in the perfect location in this busy southern Thailand city whether you are exploring its leisure activities or travelling for business and expecting a safe, clean stay that is also great value for money. Set in a safe and clean environment, Tune Hotel Hat Yai is home to 148 bedrooms with extremely comfortable queen-size or twin single beds with Tune Hotel’s famous duck down quilts and pillows, providing a homely night’s sleep at a value price point. Every room also contains a power shower, ceiling fan or air conditioning, large flat screen television, WiFi internet access, safe and a hair dryer.Inter-connecting and wheelchair access rooms are also available.The hotel is also home to the award-winning and newly opened Thai Odyssey Spa. The spa offers a full range of services from body scrubs, facials and local beauty programmes to an extensive range of traditional Thai and international massage techniques.There are also two fully-equipped meeting rooms in the Tune Hotel Hat Yai which can cater to meetings in various configurations, including 70 delegates theatre-style, 40 in a class-room format and 24 in a boardroom layout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Red Planet Hat Yai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing