We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service and good fish dishes”
Review of The Fish Kitchen

The Fish Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 274 Restaurants in Hat Yai
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Please check our facebook site for events and holidays!! We offer authentic Thai and Isan cuisine at very reasonable prices. All dishes are prepared fresh, or as you may say " a la minute". We specialize in the preparation of snapper and sea bass. Our restaurant is a little bit away from the noisy down town of Hat Yai. You can order by phone as well, and pick up your food a little later. We are very happy, that our customers keep on coming back. They must have a reason to do so. If you come to buy your food "to go" bring - if you can - your own tupper ware just to avoid more waste.
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Have lunch with family members at The Fish Kitchen on 8th October 2017.
The restaurant is located in a village about 20 minutes drive by tuk-tuk from Hatyai town.
It was run by a few ladies, all very friendly.
Fried Fish with Herbs is the best we have tasted in Hatyai. Tilapia fish was sliced and deep-fried till golden, topped with lots of herbs, spices, cashew nuts. The sauce is tasty. There are more fish dishes that we did not try, but looks good too.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Y3Krecipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017

Last week I managed to have dinner with some of my friends at the Fish Kichen.

Surprise, surprise! We ate som tam, fresh snapper in lime sauce,and an omelette surprise, which came with fresh broccoli, shrimps and red peppers, the non spicy kind. We enjoyed the service, with chilled glasses for our beer, and a fan for our comfort. After having received the bill, we were again surprised, as the bill was more than reasonable compared to prices, you have to pay in downtown Hat Yai.I would like to thank the crew of the Fish Kitchen for having a decent dinner in a very friendly atmosphere. We will be coming back.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank wiparachati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

Came back again for lunch. Food very much improved.style of fish cooking changed .More taste and delicious. Will come back again when next visit to hatyai

Date of visit: March 2017
1  Thank hinolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

The lady boss is very very beautiful and friendly
FOOD delicious.steam Fish highly recommend for family with children
All staff here very helpful

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Teck Chee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016

you need to chart a tuttut for a return trip and ask the driver to call the restaurant ahead as the location is way out of town, the eatery is a few kilometres away, the route is quite bumpy, but the food is excellent: my personal rating-the best tomyam in Hatyai, with at least 4 types of chilli, not chilli paste, fresh fish prawn and squid and without stinging hot, other dishes are deep fried 'tilapia' fish and three flavoured fried fish, the only letdown is the local cooking of vegetables doesn't suite our Malaysian taste, the lady proprietor A Zhen is sweet, and she can speak fluent Mandarin (she has been in Taiwan)

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lianhuamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fish Kitchen also viewed

Hat Yai, Songkhla Province
Hat Yai, Songkhla Province
 
Hat Yai, Songkhla Province
Hat Yai, Songkhla Province
 

Been to The Fish Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.