We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An old but classy hotel for less than AUD $50 per couple per night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hansa JB Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hansa JB Hotel
Ranked #57 of 85 Hotels in Hat Yai
merimbula
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“An old but classy hotel for less than AUD $50 per couple per night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Our family reserved five rooms at this hotel, early January 2012, for our grandson's wedding to a local girl. Both the wedding ceremony and the large reception were held at the hotel. The decorations at the ceremony and reception were so colourful with beautiful posters and blown up photographs of the bride and groom. The food was the best Chinese, plentiful and delicious. The music and entertainment was enjoyed by all.
Now as for the accommodation, we had five superior rooms on the eighth floor. We all agreed that while the furnishings were showing signs of ageing, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the bathrooms quite acceptable. This has been a class hotel in its time, with a luxurious looking reception and bar/entertaiment area where we enjoyed great service with a smile from all the staff. There was a pianist and singer performing in this area each evening after 7pm.
The swimming pool is large and clean although the lounges and tables on the surrounds are in need of upgrading. There was an adequate supply of clean towels at the adjoining gym and sauna area.
The tuk tuks, which serve all of the main town and markets, cost three Australian dollars(100 Bahts) for any trip around the city, including from the main railway station.
At breakfast the chef would cook fresh scrambled egg or omelettes to your requirements.. The fried eggs were being kept warm on a tray(we didn't fancy them). They had a tray of sausages and chicken-bacon. Asian food was available. It was the best bargain in meals anywhere we have stayed, at five dollars( 150 bahts) all you could eat per person.
A very good stay enjoyed by all.

Room Tip: Our superior rooms on eighth floor were quite accepable to all. They were quiet and overlooked the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brettMerimbula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    22
    36
    12
    10
See reviews for
24
16
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

The hotel was OK at best. The rooms are quite old. I would recommend bringing your own soap and shampoo as that provided by the hotel is pretty poor quality. The location was fine and it was easy to get a tuk-tuk into town. There was a fun (but deafening loud) boom-boom club in the basement (forgot the name). Go out the front and turn left - go down the ramp and at the car park, there is an entrance on the left. It was fun. We were the only non-Thai people but nobody cared. Fun music, no real place to dance except around your table, far too loud, but fun.
Major complaint - I had ants in my room and you could see them coming down the corner of the wall. The rug, bed and bath looked spotless though. However, I left my backpack (small one) on the ground and the front pocket became filled with 100+ mini ants after 2 days on the floor. I did not have food in my bag either so I'm not sure why so many climbed in. It was gross! Otherwise, the hotel was a normal, old, SE Asian, non-touristy hotel.
Staff were helpful so that was a plus. The breakfast was horrible (at least what I ate as a friend said theirs was OK). I got breaky across the street the next day with my friend and it was much better and both of us ate for less than 1 at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TokyoSalaryMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

The hotel is quite OK. The staffs are also friendly, but the breakfast is not must choice. If you like silent, this hotel is right for you. For me, just feel it's not suitable, because it is located out of the town. The surrounding is not happening and go to the town by tut tut only.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Hansa JB Hotel Hat Yai – room 1010 and be surprised! We booked via booking.com a superior room incl. breakfast (RM170 PER NIGHT) and wanted to be upgraded (paying an extra RM80) to executive room in the executive wing. Although the initial check-in was fast, the trouble started when we wanted to go to our executive room. We were told that the room rate for the executive room/wing was the same as the superior room = RM170. Arriving in the executive wing and room (room 930) we were stunned! Old, badly maintained, greasy, dirty old sofa, old TV in older cupboard, repulsive stinking bathroom, virtually no cupboard space, no coat hangers, questionable refrigerator, no coffee/tea facilities, no executive lounge etc. etc. Totally unacceptable! We were then given superior room 1010. Flat screen TV, proper cupboards with coat hangers, biggish refrigerator, writing desk, two chairs + side table, proper bathroom although the grouting was iffy! Beds firm, firm pillows, clean sheets and bath towels + bath mat, toiletries probably on ration. Clean bath with shower and toilet with excellent flush and good seat! Breakfast Asian as well as European. Be wise and don’t take the readymade fried eggs but ask the Chef to prepare for you poached eggs. Restaurant staff very helpful, restaurant clean and I would like to stress that the hotel kitchen is absolutely spotless! Food is excellent at the HANSA JB Hotel with a lunch buffet which put many hotels to shame. It is so good that at lunch time the restaurant is packed. There are two dinner menus, one European and one Chinese. In the evening there is music although the singer might seek some help in the higher notes. The hotel has a lounge with a pianist who plays acceptable. Hotel has a second restaurant called “Dynasty”, which is Chinese. We have not seen many visitors going in there.
The HANSA JB Hotel has free parking facilities for guests. The hotel is not wheelchair friendly. A definite plus is that this hotel, just outside the city centre, is quiet! No slamming doors, screaming, screeching kids, no outside noise! Tuktuk rides cost 30 Baht per person. We stayed 4 nights and we would definitely go back!
A tip, "buy" your hotel room at the Malaysian/Thai border. You'll save RM50 per night!

Room Tip: Whatever you do DO NOT GO ANYWHERE NEAR THE EXECUTIVE WING or EXECUTIVE ROOMS! Do yourself a favour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank overseaswriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taoyuan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed here only one night and left the next early morning. This hotel was busy with big tour group from Malaysia. Our room is very old and very small also it doesn't get much light in during the day so it can be depressing. Everything in the room is old and smell old! I ordered Thai pork salad in the restaurant but after an hour later I had a very bad stomach and it lasted for days. Never go back! Some of the front desk staff are friendly but some of them are not honest. We will never go back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ezperiae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hat Yai hotels

Phuket
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Very old hotel. Price too expensive
Just only good location

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jakrapop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

The hotel is old and located a bit far from tourist area. Staff was friendly. My room was musty and smelly. The breakfast was okay. There were both local Thai and some western food. Hope the hotel getting renovated soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Songpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hat Yai hotels
1.2 mi away
Buri Sriphu Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Centara Hotel Hat Yai
Centara Hotel Hat Yai
#1 of 85 in Hat Yai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hatyai Paradise Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hi-Season Hotel
Hi-Season Hotel
#16 of 85 in Hat Yai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.6 mi away
PB Grand
PB Grand
#8 of 85 in Hat Yai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diamond Plaza Hotel
Diamond Plaza Hotel
#59 of 85 in Hat Yai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hansa JB Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansa JB Hotel

Property: Hansa JB Hotel
Address: 99 Jootee-Anusorn Road, Hat Yai 90110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Songkhla Province > Hat Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 85 Hotels in Hat Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hansa JB Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hat Yai's Most Distinguished Landmark, the HANSA JB Hotel offers guests unrivalled service and standards. Hat Yai is the gateway to the South and the commercial capital of Southern Thailand. Our 430 rooms and suites are tastefully decorated with local design and fabrics which blend in with the hotel's architectural design. Our exclusive Club J.B. floors offer the very best standards available for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hansa JB Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing