We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hansa JB Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hansa JB Hotel
Ranked #56 of 85 Hotels in Hat Yai
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Terrible Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

It was one of my worst experience ever. We booked 2 rooms - 1 Superior and 1 Club JB. Upon checking in, experienced the rudeness of the staff, dirty room with a foul smell. Requested House keeping to clean the room and a guy arrives after 1 hour. Cleaning takes place and the room still has the foul smell. Order room service and all the food and a sour and foul smell and not value for money. Internet super slow and breakfast doesn't have a basic dish like omelette. Whatever is available is not edible. To me, I would recommend fellow travelers NEVER to book this hotel.

Room Tip: Just Don't stay in this hotel ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    22
    36
    12
    10
See reviews for
24
16
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel twice . It has enough rooms for very grand events like 3 Nation Charity Ride for hundreds of participants . Grand banquet hall with delicious table dinner. Excellent covered carpark above ground . Warm and helpful staff. Breakfast spread is good . Location is not central but a TUK Tuk can bring us to the town centre. Comfortable stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feledoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
497 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife and I were on our way to Krabi for the 3 Nation Charity Motorbike event and this hotel was one picked as a stopover hotel as it had massive car park space for over 1000 motorcycles that used the town of Hatyai, Thailand as a springboard to Krabi.
If you must stay at this hotel insist on getting the Main Tower...the rooms here are decent enough. The rooms at the Executive Tower isn't even fit to be branded any star status. Average-ly clean. The washroom is filthy. The taps don't work. The leak from the above washroom is evident. We thought it was only our room but when we checked with other motorcycle enthusiasts they complained about their rooms too. We decided to get out and asked for another room and was put into the Main Tower, which was not part of the package, so we paid the extra and got a pretty decent room.
Checking in was pleasant enough...the staff were pretty good. Breakfast spread was adequate. This establishment is in dire need of a major makeover. I would skip this hotel without hesitation!

Room Tip: If you must stay here....ask for rooms in the Main Tower. Avoid the Executive Tower at all costs...u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hat Yai hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

This is an expensive hotel. The entrance and public areas give the impression of grandeur. But when you get to your room, it looks more like an old motel!
In the large basket in the bathroom (which may have at one point offered several complimentary soaps, shower gels and conditioners) sat just one tube of shampoo and shower gel.
The toilet reminded me of home in that I had to pump it at least twice in quick succession to get it to flush. After a few uses it started to leak. Just as well the bathroom had a drain.
I didn't use the bath/shower, but it looked as though it had seen better days.
Between the bed and the TV, some bright spark had attempted to iron their shirt on the floor, as there was a very clear iron burn in the now rather faded and dirty carpet.
There were no facilities for making tea or coffee.
The bed was comfy though! Not too hard.
An overpriced option for Hadyai (which is why we didn't have breakfast there), but not my choice at the time.
Would recommend if you're going there for a function or a private party - but not to stay if you're looking for luxury.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveladdict42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

We were there for a wedding, otherwise we would have never gone to Hat Yai. Anyhow, if you are going to Hat Yai, you already know it's not a tourist city. With that said, the hotel is old and run down. The rooms are decent size but everything in it look as if it's from the 80's. The bathroom is moldy and smelly. There are stains on the bedsheets which makes you wondering if they are new sheets or the same as the last guest. The walls are really then, we were on the 10th floor and could still here the bass from the hotel club.

highlight- Hotel club, live band was pretty good

Food:
buffet lunch-not bad but not great
buffet breakfast- YUCK! only thing I enjoyed was toast.
room service- pad thai-decent
pad si ew-tasty

staff- nice but not much interaction to judge

side note- fellow wedding party guests complained of being ignored when requesting for toilet paper and other things.

overall- not the best but with the limited options, it's bearable for a night or two if you have no other options

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ninenine99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

There are two buildings of the hotel. I stayed in the old one (main wing) which I think the new one (executive wing) supposes to be much more better. The superior room that I have stayed in Aug 2012 is very old and smelly with poor condition of sanitary ware.

Anyway, the service mind of all staffs there is brilliant!! And for those who are Muslim, the breakfast there is halal and yummy!!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Aeksaran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

I am from America and my wife is from Hat Yai. We stayed at the JB for 5 nights in August, 2012. We also had the evening reception for our wedding in their ballroom. I have stayed in other hotels in Hat Yai before (Lee Garden -- which I would give one star; the place is kind of a dump), and a few other hotels. After my experience @ Lee Garden, I wasn't expecting much from the JB. I was very pleasantly surprised by the level of service, professionalism of the staff, and the quality of the facilities. This is a great hotel! It may not be a 5-Star, but I can tell you that as far as Hat Yai goes, this is the place to stay.

Everything from the moment we checked in until we checked out was perfect. Because we had our wedding reception here, they comped a suite to us one night (we were already paying to stay in the same suite). After our wedding day, they gave us a bottle of champaign, and made a beautiful arrangement using flower pedals on our bed.

If you've been married, you know that wedding planning and execution can be a nightmare. The staff the the JB, and especially Look Pla made our wedding planning and the event itself completely worry free. The JB catered to our 470+ guests with no effort, and provided a wonderful experience for all of our guests, and for our wedding day. Look Pla, as the wedding planner, consistently went above and beyond what was required and exceeded all of our expectations.

As an American, I'm used to American quality standards, which are very high. I am happy to report to you the the Hansa JB is a great hotel, with great staff, and great facilities. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough!

I can't give it 5 stars just because there are some attributes missing that would warrant a 5 star review. It's not a 5 star hotel. They don't claim to be a 5-star, or even want to. Hat Yai is not a market that would support the 5-Star prices that would go with a 5-Star hotel. The value for the money you'll spend, though, is something that I would give 5 stars to! Great place to stay. If you're in Hat Yai, this is where you want to stay if you're looking for a hotel experience that is similar to what you would get in America.

Thank you Hansa JB Hotel!

Room Tip: If you want a hotel that is on par with Western standards, the Hansa JB is the place for you to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flagstaff928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hat Yai hotels
1.2 mi away
Buri Sriphu Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Centara Hotel Hat Yai
Centara Hotel Hat Yai
#1 of 85 in Hat Yai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hatyai Paradise Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hi-Season Hotel
Hi-Season Hotel
#16 of 85 in Hat Yai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.6 mi away
PB Grand
PB Grand
#9 of 85 in Hat Yai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diamond Plaza Hotel
Diamond Plaza Hotel
#58 of 85 in Hat Yai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hansa JB Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansa JB Hotel

Property: Hansa JB Hotel
Address: 99 Jootee-Anusorn Road, Hat Yai 90110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Songkhla Province > Hat Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 85 Hotels in Hat Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hansa JB Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hat Yai's Most Distinguished Landmark, the HANSA JB Hotel offers guests unrivalled service and standards. Hat Yai is the gateway to the South and the commercial capital of Southern Thailand. Our 430 rooms and suites are tastefully decorated with local design and fabrics which blend in with the hotel's architectural design. Our exclusive Club J.B. floors offer the very best standards available for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hansa JB Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing