We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap but NOT cheerful”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Cathay Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cathay Guest House
Ranked #27 of 68 Hat Yai B&B and Inns
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap but NOT cheerful”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Lots of dodgy people hanging around the reception. Very very grubby and run down throughout. The guy at the desk had minimal English and was barely any help. However he was not unfriendly. And the place was not outwardly dirty nor did it have insects that we could see. It felt like you were in a dilapidated prison. We stayed from10pm to 5am which was long enough. Oh and there was a pair of jocks hanging on our bathroom door.

Room Tip: All rooms have an insane asylum feel so good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curlysueDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    19
    32
    12
    15
See reviews for
1
19
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Recommended by a nearby tour company, we were happy to settle for a cheap room here during our transit. Upon arrival, the friendly staff repeatedly warned us that the rooms did not have air conditioning. This was the least of our worries. We hiked up the two floors of stairs and checked in. We were required to show our visas, passports etc. so have these at the ready. We nervously shuffled down the corridor and the stench of urine saturated our nostrils. We managed to locate our triple room in the maze of doors and corridors. The door was a flimsy excuse of a barrier, locked by a simple padlock. The room could only be described as a medium to large prison cell with basic amenities. The beds looked like beds but seemed to be reinforced with wood. Approximately 10-20 years of dust lay beneath them. The bedsheets were quite clean, well, white at least. There were a few dead insects and human hair found on them though. This may have been because the windows seem to be permanently open. The duvet was a large towel. I did not permit my bare feet to touch the floor, nor my face to touch the pillow. The pillow was also "rubber" and had fractured into many, many pieces. The fan did nothing more than turn around slowly and there was one, basic light. The bathroom consisted of a squat toilet, a partially blocked sink and a shower. However the shower was simply a cold tap on the wall, aimed at a bucket.


The location of the guest house was rather nice, and the price was almost unbeatable! We stayed in a triple room for ฿290. A single was ฿200 and a dorm was ฿140.

One of the most memorable moments of the stay was probably waking up at 1am to catch the cockroach that had been scurrying around the room all day.

Room Tip: Try and get a decent lock on the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hat Yai hotels

chiangmai
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I stayed here recently for 1 night & also 2 yrs ago for 1 night in transit. I found the guesthouse to be fantasic value for money & just what I aws looking for a bed with clean sheet & very helpful staff.

I booked over the phone & payed 240 Thai Baht for a double room. In all honesty the rooms could be improved with a lick of paint etc but I think for the price its very good.

In the morning we had breakfast again cheap & cheerful. Small Coffee was just 12b & a ham/cheese & Egg sandwich was just 39b.

The staff had also kindly explained where to get good street food & booked us a taxi to the airport for 300b ( very fair local price ) - when the taxi arrived it was a Honda CRV with great A/C & leather seats fantastic.

So Thank Yoy Cathey Guesthouse for making my brief staff in Hat Yai a cheap & pleasant one !!

Room Tip: If the window shutters are open - then shut them as it helps for a quitter nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funkymonkeyChiangmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I can't say this the good GH, but it is cheap and satisfied for me.
they provide transport such like taxi & van(of course need to pay) and also able to rent motorcycle, I believe is hard to get motorcycle rental in around HatYai. they have a small restaurant and such like mini market selling some local snack & drink.
by walk, it is close to town, train station, hypermarket, 7-11 etc....
reception staff was very friendly and helpful.
overall, it is very cheap hostel, if you are poor traveler and don't that is old building look. should be no issue.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlfredDeviruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

This place is real dirty dump! BUT it is cheap and in great location. Don't expect anything but a cesspool and you will not be disappointed. I would gladly pay 350 bt for a new paint job, clean toilet, a drain that drained, and a pillow with soft stuffing not hard mouldy material inside. Never again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

The place is pretty scary overall... big dark hallways and prison-style locks on doors. Lots of men with no shirts loitering in hallways made the whole experience a bit unsettling. The rooms were very very hot and the bathroom was pretty dirty.

That said, front desk staff was quite nice and for the price of a room, an unbeatable deal.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thGrassyKnoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night passing through to ferry in Pak Barra.
First off- you get ripped off if you book online. It's cheaper to book in person. Ie- I booked online at 280baht. But in person the price is listed at 200baht. They wouldn't give me the in person price and refused to let me cancel my online reservation for the saved difference.

The rooms: the rooms are locked with a storage lock and key. Inside the room it's just a crossover lock. I wouldn't leave valuables inside. I got a private room with shower. The bed is as stiff as can be. You get two pillows and an extra large towel as your blanket. 2 small towels for shower. The bathroom is disgusting. I actually went out of my way to the mall to use the bathroom. Shower is cold water only but good water pressure. Where my room was the bathroom windows had no blinds and couldn't be shut. Anyone outside and surrounding buildings could see in.
Staff isn't super friendly.
Recommended for a cheap cheap place to stay and for one night.
As I said- you get what you pay for.

Location- I was a little upset the place says its a 5 minute drive from the train station so I got a taxi. It's literally a 3 minute walk! Just walk out of train station straight it's the 3rd street on the right.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABstir6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hat Yai
0.0 mi away
Laem Thong Hotel
Laem Thong Hotel
#42 of 87 in Hat Yai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aloha Hotel
Aloha Hotel
#4 of 87 in Hat Yai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
BP Grand Tower Hotel
BP Grand Tower Hotel
#14 of 27 in Songkhla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lee Gardens Plaza
Lee Gardens Plaza
#20 of 87 in Hat Yai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sakura Hotel
Sakura Hotel
#66 of 87 in Hat Yai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hat Yai Youth Hostel
Hat Yai Youth Hostel
#1 of 68 in Hat Yai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathay Guest House

Property: Cathay Guest House
Address: 93/1 Niphat Uthit 2 Rd., Hat Yai 90110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Songkhla Province > Hat Yai
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Hat Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cathay Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathay Guesthouse The Backpacker Community in Hatyai Rooms with Fan Shower and Toilet Travel Information Services Taxi & Bus Ticket Food & Drinks Laundry Services Free WiFi Near : Train Station , Robinson Department store , Odean Department store , Central Department store , Lee Gardens Plaza , Santisook Market , Yongdee Market , Gimyong Market ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cathay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathay Guest House Hotel Hat Yai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing