We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thai me Down Sport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hive bar & restaurant

Hive bar & restaurant
Ranked #97 of 160 Restaurants in Hat Yai
Price range: US$1 - US$5
Cuisines: Bar, Thai, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Hive Bar & Restaurant is located in down town Hat Yai just a 2 minute walk from the center of town or the railway station. We are a small bar/restaurant. We offer western and thai food with breakfast been served on Saturday and Sunday also. Hive offers a friendly atmosphere for travelers, expats and locals alike.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Thai me Down Sport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Friendly atmosphere from Vaughn and Matt the Aussie staff and their Thai wives, excellent food and a good place to meet the local expats and their friends. TV where you can catch up on UK programs like Top Gear as well as football and Formula One racing. Super clean toilets. Good place to meet Thai locals, farang teachers, oilrig workers and those who like to play golf. Often there are special events such as parties where food is free. Catch up on the local gossip on things to do and places to go.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hat Yai, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hard to find-But worth the effort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Hive is just down the road from Cathay Guesthouse. The staff were friendly and efficient. It is a local watering hole for Ex-Pats and Western friendly Thais. The beer is cold and the food is very good.
The owners, a young Aus/Thai couple and an Ausie friend make you feel welcome.
The food is typical pub grub. The portions are BIG and the taste is very good.
I ordered a bowl of fries at 70 baht. There were enough fries for 4 of us to snack on.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Stiffy6996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place, amazing food, good offers on drinks.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

The place has a great atmosphere and is the best place to meet travellers or ex pats, to have a party or to eat delicious food. The food is really good especially if you crave weston food, they use real ingredients. The staff are all so welcoming and friendly. If you are travelling through Hat yai, it is a perfect stop off!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Mel635Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Average pricey food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

The place looks like a garage with tiles on the walls. Typical thai eatery vibe that serves suer priced average tasting western food. It caters to foreigners who don't mind paying more just to be surrounded by other foreigners. Not a bad place after all

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Off to a good start . . .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Hive is a a small hole-in-the-wall place that seems to have potential in the HY expat 7 traveler circle. It may not be 'the bee's knees' yet, but seems to be moving in that direction.

It is located close to the central market area, not far from Odean shopping complex - if you can get to the Cathay Guest House, stay on that side of the street, and walk towards the Tune Hotel, with the Cathay behind you. It's just a couple of blocks down, and you will see a couple of outdoor tables and some blue killer bee graffiti.

Inside, there is a simple bar with stools, a couple of extra tables, a small stereo system hooked into a laptop, and a decent-sized CD panel (that was showing PotC: Dead man's Chest while I was there). The 2 female bartenders were cute, but very little/limited English; there was also a Thai guy who I think also worked there (or was a regular), as he changed the music from time to time.

Prices very fair, and a diverse crowd, including a younger thai couple with a baby in tow. I didn't stay too late, a I'd already done a fair bit of hopping on the night - but i'd go back again.

The place still looks like they are unpacking/settling in - there is a dart board not yet hung, etc. 2 other notes: 1) there was a kitchen, which looked clean and well organized, but i didn't see/ask for a food menu at any point, or see others eating, and 2) the bathroom fixtures were all nice, new, clean, and western-styled (nice sink, toilet w/ bidet hose, urinal) - and it was clean and well-maintained, so bonus points there.

Compared to some other bars I visited, i'd definitely go back here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlenJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hive bar & restaurant also viewed

Hat Yai, Songkhla Province
Hat Yai, Songkhla Province
 
Hat Yai, Songkhla Province
Hat Yai, Songkhla Province
 

Been to Hive bar & restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing