We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awe Struck at the Asara, Hua Hin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Asara Villa & Suite
Ranked #17 of 144 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Still Awed by the Asara

Having been a guest at the Asara Resort and Spa previously I knew that I was going to enjoy this visit as much and was greatly looking forward to my stay.

The large and airy registration area is imposingly positioned on an elevated open-sided building where a cooling breeze provides relief from the high-summer heat. Large ceiling fans circulate the air aid the natural zephyr. This reception area overlooks a sweep of perfectly manicured gardens populated with trees and shrubs fringing a large pond that is criss-crossed with boarded walkways. A fountain spouts water meters into the air. The whole scene is instantly calming and welcoming.

The check-in experience is effortless as and quick as I arrived my bags were tagged with my villa number and the next you see of them is in the villa.

Then it was my turn to be whisked along the narrow pathways in an electric buggy that had gardeners diving for cover. I was impressed to discover a bowl of locally produced sweets and a plentiful tray of fresh fruit waiting for me. The spacious villas don’t have a ‘wow-factor’ they opt for a more homely feel.

There are of course the usual amenities, flat screen LCD TV, the choice of channels could have been greater but on a luxury holiday why would I watch TV? A well stocked minibar, i-Pod player with a marvellous sound system, Wi-Fi internet connections the lot.

Both the living room and bedroom share a common patio with a cool plunge pool. Shrubbery and architectural plants provide adequate protection from neighbours when I caught a few rays and then cooled off in the pool.

The first time I stayed at the Asara I was overwhelmed by the bathroom and this visit was not different. The bathroom is massive with a big sunken bath, with indoor and al fresco rain showers.

The ‘Library’ was one of my favourite places to sit and relax sipping a cup of tea while browsing the magazine and book selections or choosing a video to borrow.

Elsewhere the resort’s massive free form swimming pool is a magnet for swimmers and kids alike, with a child-friendly zone and minders always nearby. To relax here is easy as the Asara has thoughtfully provided large day beds with a difference. Large and comfortable they are suspended from doughty canopies; the bed gently swayed to and fro as I relaxed.
Like all Hua Hin resorts the Asara as a spa. It is approached through a large door I had the feeling of entering an almost spiritual space like a Spanish Moorish sanctuary. The expert hands of the masseuses soothed away the cares of the world it was a blissful almost existential experience that left me dozing quietly at the end of the session.

The Asara also has three superb restaurants that will satisfy the most fastidious of palates. The Siam Bistro offers light healthy food along with regional Thai favourites. The Kampu by Choice offers a choice of fare allowing you to tailor the dining experience by choosing the items you want to eat. And the Kampu by Design offers an all day eating experience with a themed buffet dinner at night. The offerings here lean more towards European tastes.
Visit the Asara for a near perfect get away from the hustle and bustle of the big city.

You will be transported to another place a world away from care suspended in a cocoon of luxury.

Room Tip: You might want to try the Presidential Villa if you want serious luxury for only the serious high ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suanphlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2011

I have stayed at the resort a few times and like the facilities,especially the pools. No surprises and consistent.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeinbangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed for 4 days and 3 nights over a weekend.

The good stuff:
The Asara property itself is beautiful - right next to the beach, great pool facilities and quite isolated from Hua Hin proper so it's pretty quiet.

Restaurant staff seemed quite on-the-ball and we were even able to get (much better) food from town and have them setup a table close to the beach for us. The complimentary breakfast was quite good.

We stayed in a 1BR "Deluxe" Pool Villa. The room itself was really nice. My only complaints were the lack of an iPod dock and the absolutely tiny TV that was provided.

The bad stuff:
The restaurant food is quite mediocre and very overpriced. Desserts are fine, appetizers and mains left a lot to be desired.

The service is really bad.

Such as:
* Front desk staff were generally unfriendly with requests. I speak fluent Thai so it's not a language barrier thing, they just have bad attitudes.
* While we were checking in, it was raining really hard and they left our bags IN THE RAIN until I repeatedly told the checkin staff to bring them indoors as we had electronics inside.
* They also have this weird policy where they want to keep copies of your passports and visa documentation on file. When I told them no and asked to talk to the manager suddenly they didn't have to.
* We'd often find housekeeping carts blocking the entrance to our villa throughout the day.
* They never cleaned the private plunge pool. Not once. Or the outdoor seating area. It was always covered with leaves.
* The outdoor rain shower was disgusting - moss growing on it, and leaves everywhere. Not once during our stay did they clean it.
* Bathroom amenities (shampoo, conditioner, bath salts) were never refilled unless we called housekeeping, then they would send someone out.
* We would have a random number of towels given to us every day. Sometimes we got 2 beach towels, sometimes we got none.
* When we ordered room service, they expected us to eat a 3 course meal on a tiny square coffee table. Or to eat outside in the rain. Only upon lots of insistence did they bring up a dining table and chairs.

In conclusion:
* Awesome, awesome location. Couldn't be better.
* The staff are retarded. Or just lazy. Or just incompetent. If you want things to happen, be prepared to do a lot of calling and insisting to guest services. Things will get done, but given how they position themselves as a luxury resort, lots of the small things should just happen by themselves.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 124 and our friends in 125. Both were midway to the restaurant and lobby and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aaronlynnme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Service was terrible. Staffs were unprofessional and inattentive. They let us wait at the lobby and restaurant without welcoming atmosphere. When we arrived at the room, plunge pool was very dirty and we have to call them to clean it again. For the price around 650 US per night, the overall experiences was unacceptable. I think that I made the wrong decision in choosing this hotel.....

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler171819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

The resort itself is difficult to fault - wonderful design, excellent villas and overall great feel to the place. However the service was distinctly mediocre bordering on the rude at times, which was very disappointing. Whilst the breakfast buffet was very good, the a la carte dinner was a bit of a let down, not cooked well and overpriced.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pyezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Large room type but poor design and facility.

Bath tub does not Jacuzzi pump. The Ipod dock for music is not available also. The shower temperature is out of control. The room rate price is for suites, but all facility and hotel ambiance is just deluxe.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sirichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Asara this past weekend. The decor and architecture of the lobby was impressive with yellow warm tones and natural flowers and dark wooden furniture. We stayed at a pool villa so we were given a ride to our room on a golf cart, through winding lush pathways which was a nice and relaxing way to introduce guests to the resort.

Our room was fantastic! It had its own gate and upon entering its own living area with a tv, sofa, mini bar etc. walk out into a private little backyard with a small dipping pool, sun loungers and a table and chairs to sit and chill in. The bedroom is also nice, but the best part about the room has to be their bathroom. It is spacious, with an open closet and a rectangle bath tub embedded into the floors, a toilet area, shower and also a door leading to an outdoor shower area.

We had lunch at Kampu, which serves European food and some Thai and had dinner at the other restaurant near the lobby that served Thai food. Both were alright but not spectacular, should've ventured into the city for cheaper and tastier choices.

There were 2 swimming pools, the one near the beach was large but was still crowded and the other one in the back was eerily quiet. We checked out the spa menus but they weren't that enticing or unique and was a bit on the pricey side.

The only complaint is that the staff forgot to turn down our room, but that could've been because there was a company conference there that night as well, so maybe the resort was understaffed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siamtraveler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
3 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#4 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,327 reviews
5 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
4.4 mi away
Cape Nidhra Hotel
Cape Nidhra Hotel
#8 of 144 in Hua Hin
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
6.2 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
1.1 mi away
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
#14 of 144 in Hua Hin
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asara Villa & Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asara Villa & Suite

Address: 53 Hua Hin Soi 5, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#14 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#18 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range: £122 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Asara Villa & Suite 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asara Villa & Suite is the first of its kind to feature beach-front only Pool Villas and Suite rooms. Only 7 minutes from Hua Hin downtown, this exclusive private beach is an ideal location that combines convenience and privacy with 52 Pool Villas and 44 Suites, reflecting timelessness of the nature beauty, intimacy and comfort. Awards The Global Winner: Luxury Suite Hotel" by the World Luxury Hotel Awards™ in recognition of unsurpassed facilities and services at the World Luxury Hotel Awards 2010. Asara Villa & Suite is proud to have received the highest honor of being listed among the "Gold Class Green Hotels of 2009". "Gold Nugget Award Winning for 2008, honor in Best Architectural Design and Land Use Planning for International Project." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Asara Villa & Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asara Villa And Suite
Asara Villa Hotel Hua Hin
Asara Hotel Hua Hin
Asara Hotel Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing