We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, good service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Asara Villa & Suite
Ranked #19 of 136 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great hotel, good service and location”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

It takes a while to get to Asara Villa & Suite from Bangkok, which can be tiring after a long flight but the journey is not particulalry unpleasant. On arrival we were warmly greeted and were upgraded, which was a lovely surprise.

Our room was excellent - two big beds, cool outdoor bed, nice lounge area and a lovely bathroom, with oudoor and indoor showers. Our room was always clean and tidy and the towels were replaced regularly.

The outdoor areas are very well done and it's nice that the hotel is not a high-rise, like many of its local competitors. Two big pool areas, good loungers and gardens are maybe let down a bit by tired beach towels.

The staff were always very friendly, though there was varying English-language ability, with any confusion met with good humour (which should be considered in the context of our derisory attempts at Thai...).

Hua Hin itself is nothing to write home about. It's a bit "trippy", with standard holiday-suited restaurants, which generally lacked imagination and/or class. The beach and the coast are nice, but it's not snorkelling or diving territory, which is a shame - we took a 300km trip to Koh Thalu to see some good fish action.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnRPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    162
    54
    16
    19
See reviews for
140
232
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed with my three children in a pool villa. Pool water was not clear and grout on pool floor stained the bottom of our feet took days to get off. Breakfast was very good and staff very helpful.
We go to Hua Hin for the beach so was a little disappointed that there was not much of a beach at this location we ended up driving to the south end of Hua Hin. Bring mosquito repellent as the villa was swarming with them. Villa was not cheap and expected better. If you don't drive a fancy car don't expect a car park space close to reception as security tell you to park further down. Not good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

A wonderful hotel which feels like paradise once inside the complex. It is a longish journey from Bangkok airport but do not let this put you off, I don't travel well, but it was well worth it. Despite the hotel being on a main road (like most Hua Hin hotels) once you are on the complex you are in paradise. We were initially in a standard room which was lovely, outside shower etc but we could hear local building works. After speaking to guest relations we were upgraded free of charge to a pool villa which was wonderful and we could not hear anything except for nature. I would recommend booking this room type.

The staff were great, so helpful and kind. Breakfast was great, as was all of the food, but food in general is a bit expensive. We ate out every night and got lunch most of the time from the Macro over the road from the complex.

Hua Hin itself is fab, a big town/city feel 10minutes from the hotel (free shuttle bus or £4 taxi/tuk tuk). We wondered around the night market and town most nights finding wonderful food and great bars. Don't miss the Thai massage either (£5 for an hour, and cheaper than a cocktail or two!) we really liked the Pink Lotus just down from the clock tower.

We will definitely be back! We loved Hua Hin and the Asara. We spent our last two days in Bangkok, don't bother, enjoy paradise before going home rather than a busy, polluted city.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank iloveholidays2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uga, Spain
Level Contributor
503 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This place made me feel very special. From the expensive price per room to the exclusiveness of the venue you can be assured that its very different from many other options. Staff here are excellent and speak good enough English to cater to any needs you might have.

I would stay here again at a lower price. Not willing to pay over $250 per night again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitepointer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

If you expect a lovely 2 hour drive from Bangkok, through undulating scenery, be warned. It took us 5 gruelling hours from the airport , through built up areas the whole way.
This is not Asara's fault.Neither is the fact that there is a 6 lane highway behind the resort and beach which only appears at low tide. These issues affect all Hua Hin resorts.However, Travellors should be warned about this.
Asara is beautifully designed, has great, spacious rooms , good food and, as with most Thai resorts, friendly,obliging staff. The landscaping is amazing but we couldn't ignore the surroundings, no matter how hard we tried.
We checked out early and headed south, away from the overdevelopment of Hua Hin.

Room Tip: We would suggest a room rather than a pool villa. The rooms are beautifully spacious and zen and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in a pool villa for 2 nights, unfortunately the water in the pool was very cold , we have never used it... Waste of money... Spa prices are expensive and not worth.. The villa was specious clean... Good location.. Friendly staff

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
439 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Conveniently set at the north end of Hua Hin, it can be easily reached when traveling from Bangkok. With high expectations, we liked the generously sized suites, but were slightly disappointed with the food offerings and the service. As it was a bit too cold to swim due to the seasonal winds, it was apparent that the lack of alternative recreational offerings at the resort make it a bit dull. The Spa offers the usual menu of treatments at current luxury resort prices. The massage was ok, but I felt that the masseuse was a bit inexperienced. Overall we enjoyed a few days away from busy Bangkok, but Asara certainly got the work cut out for themselves to justify the price level vis-à-vis the creative and abundant competition in Hua Hin!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
3.0 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,259 reviews
5.0 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
7.6 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
#13 of 136 in Hua Hin
446 reviews
6.2 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,190 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#4 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asara Villa & Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asara Villa & Suite

Property: Asara Villa & Suite
Address: 53 Hua Hin Soi 5, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#16 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#19 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Asara Villa & Suite 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asara Villa & Suite is the first of its kind to feature beach-front only Pool Villas and Suite rooms. Only 7 minutes from Hua Hin downtown, this exclusive private beach is an ideal location that combines convenience and privacy with 52 Pool Villas and 44 Suites, reflecting timelessness of the nature beauty, intimacy and comfort. Awards The Global Winner: Luxury Suite Hotel" by the World Luxury Hotel Awards™ in recognition of unsurpassed facilities and services at the World Luxury Hotel Awards 2010. Asara Villa & Suite is proud to have received the highest honor of being listed among the "Gold Class Green Hotels of 2009". "Gold Nugget Award Winning for 2008, honor in Best Architectural Design and Land Use Planning for International Project." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Asara Villa & Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asara Villa And Suite
Asara Villa Hotel Hua Hin
Asara Hotel Hua Hin
Asara Hotel Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing