We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dhevan Dara Resort & Spa Hotel
Ranked #49 of 141 Hotels in Hua Hin
Reviewed 26 March 2010

The villa was well worth it, we came here to get away from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok.
We had our own private pool secluded within the garden walls, an outdoor bath, indoor shower and lots of space.

The whole villa & pool was really clean and service was excellent, so good it was hard to leave and go to the beach.

Staff were friendly and there was a free shuttle bus into town as the resort is a bit further away than others, but worth it regardless.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lonely_Plankton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
There are newer reviews for Dhevan Dara Resort & Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2010

I am not surprised the reviews for this property are so mixed both on this forum and others.

Although there were only two of us we booked a two bedroom deluxe pool villa (so we could spread out and maybe have a larger pool) via Hotels.com -approx £1200 for 8 nights including breakfast.

On arrival midweek the welcome was appalling. There was one receptionist, who persisted in answering the phone before attending to us -no apology. He then proceeded to have discussions with other residents while attending to us. It gave the impression of being a busy resort whereas in reality other than Sat night the occupancy was maybe 10% ?

Had we not paid the full amount in advance we would probably have left as we have holidayed in Hua Hin a few times before and are aware of excellent properties -Evason Hideaway and AKA although these are pricier.

We were shown to our villa just a few steps away from Reception and were really happy with it. Good size rooms/good independent a/c in the rooms/nice touches to furnishings/comfy beds/good pool
The only drawbacks were :-
privacy could be improved by filling in the holes in the walls where greenery has not yet grown sufficiently
Day Bed Sala was dirty -in fact it was not cleaned the whole time we were there
Outside Bath dirty and by the time sufficient water had run into the bath you had forgotten you wanted one
Shortage of towels -bath towel had to double up as pool towel
Although there is a kitchen there are no pans/plates/cutlery -what is the point

The main problem was the service in the resort.There appeared to be a lack of pride and probably a poor Management.:as no checks carried out eg pool not cleaned the whole time we were there-it was pretty murky at the end mainly because of the thatch blowing off the roof. The filtration was not even turned on until the last day

Although there were few staff who could understand English, I would not criticise this -after all my Thai is not too clever. What I would criticise is the lack of a smile to help with communication. This is the first visit to Thailand where we have encountered an unsmiling housekeeper

Room Cleaning not consistent although did come immediately on telephone request -we ate breakfast in the restaurant whilst room refreshed
(Because of the shortage of guests buffet breakfast only operated on a couple of days. Waiting Staff poor even on days there were only two of us there)

Room Service used for lunch on first two days but orders incorrect (and not put right) so we vowed then not to spend another Baht in resort.. We took the free shuttle to town each evening and bought lunch for the next day -even a cheap pan to cook rice in

VERDICT
Whilst we had an enjoyable relaxing stay in our villa -probably decent value for the discounted rate paid, the Owners of the property need to get a grip on the service standards. They have a good base product

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GAB007.5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

My partner and I stayed in a villa with a pool last June for 10 days. We combined it with a break in Bangkok where it was very fast paced so when we arrived at the hotel we were looking to relax.
The Dhevan Dara is about 15 minutes outside of Hua Hin so we relied on the free shuttle to take us in and out. You could pay for a taxi if the shuttle timetable didn't suit but we were quite happy to take the early evening one in and stay in town till the return at about 9.30pm. There's 2 night markets in Hua Hun, the tourist one and the local (which is GREAT for local food) up by the hospital so we were always kept busy.
We also took the shuttle to the beach one day but found it not to be the best beach in the area so didn't go back. We were also the only 2 people on the beach and so got harassed a lot by people selling T-shirts and horse rides.
The hotel restaurant is quite pricey compared with prices in Hua Hin, also no one other than us ever seemed to eat in there! We ate there for dinner once and lunch once but found the food only ok. We also ordered room service one night but found you had to wait quite a while. There is such a great choice of food in Hua Hin in the markets and various restaurants that it's worth even taking a taxi considering the amount of money you will save and the difference in quality.
The villa's are all enclosed behind walls with a large gate so we enjoyed the privacy and mainly stayed by our own pool. Whenever my partner wanted to use the 2 computers and check his email I'd combine it with a swim in the main pool. There are a few loungers by the pool and the pool itself is lovely. When we were there it was also always deserted! The pools included with the villas are very small and not good for swimming lengths so if I went again I probably would book the Jasmine villa's and just lounge by the main pool. We only used our pool to cool off when we had sat out in our garden area for too long!
You can book excursions through the hotel to various temples and parks in the area. We found we could also book the tours in Hua Hin and saved a little bit of money. Sometimes we were charged extra for drop off and pick up being out of the centre but it still always seemed to be cheaper than the hotel tours. As you're not too far from Bangkok you can also do some of the tours to the River Kwai and Tiger Temple if you like long days! We did the floating market tour and two other tours to different temples. All three were really enjoyable and it was nice to get away from the hotel.
Although we wanted to relax after Bangkok after a couple of days it does feel quite isolated! A lot of the villas are owned or rented by locals who only visit at weekends so during the week it's very empty and quiet.
The interior of the villa was beautifully decorated with a comfy bed that caused me to sleep in a lot as it was so nice! The bathroom had a waterfall that you could turn on and a rainforest type shower. There was also an outdoor bath but we didn't use that due to the bugs that wanted to join me. There is also a small selection of English channels to choose from on the TV with a movie on at 10pm.
The only thing I wasn't so keen on was the housekeeping service. They always did an excellent job but the time they came varied from day to day. We wanted to chill out by our villa but we were always on edge that the gate would open and there they'd be ready to kick us out and clean! We tried to time it so that we'd go and check emails/swim in the main pool during this time but as the time changed day to day it was very hard!
Overall I would recommend staying here if you like your privacy (except for the 30 mins when you're villa is cleaned) and want to truly relax. We got a great deal on price through flight centre where we paid for 5 nights and got 5 free so I would only book if you can find a similar deal.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McNoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 7 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 6 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 6 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 18 December 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
2.2 mi away
The Lapa Hua Hin Hotel
The Lapa Hua Hin Hotel
#41 of 141 in Hua Hin
142 reviews
3.3 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#10 of 141 in Hua Hin
1,272 reviews
2.2 mi away
Escape Hua Hin Hotel
Escape Hua Hin Hotel
#31 of 141 in Hua Hin
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
0.6 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 141 in Hua Hin
1,295 reviews
1.6 mi away
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
#11 of 141 in Hua Hin
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhevan Dara Resort & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhevan Dara Resort & Spa Hotel

Address: 451 Hua Hin-huaymongkol Road | Hin Lek Fai, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#25 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range: £49 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dhevan Dara Resort & Spa Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dhevan Dara Resort & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dhevan Dara Resort And Spa Hotel
Dhevan Dara Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing