We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Retreat”
Review of Baan Talay Chine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baan Talay Chine
Ranked #56 of 141 Hotels in Hua Hin
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in Baan Talay Chine over Songkran. We stayed in Bamboo, one of the newer rooms. What I really liked about it was that you were close enough to town, especially on our hired scooter, with lots of options on the Neb (something!) road to town, becoming really trendy, but you were miles away from the lunacy of Songkran when you did not want it. Service was great, attentive when you needed it and so helpful. Room was beautiful, so tasteful. A wonderful base to relax away from things, with it all just there when you needed it.

Room Tip: Email directly all your requests, so helpful.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heibeicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for Baan Talay Chine
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2010

We stayed in one of the studio's as we didn't want to pay a high price but we were a little surprised that it didn't quite match up to the claims in the brochure. It wasn't 50 sq m - more like 35 sq m - and the so called 'private deck' was actually shared with the next studio. Happily there wasn't anyone in that room when we were there but it's not an accurate description. The room was nicely furnished in Chinese style but a little dark inside. One other thing, the hotel claims to be set in lush gardens - this is true, but they belong to the neighbouring properties!! (No access). The hotel is very small - more of an over-developed guest house - not really a resort, but the service is fine and the location is good for excellent restaurants nearby en route to the town. Tuk-tuks are not readily available so be prepared for a walk to town and this will be a hot walk in summer as there isn't much shade on that road. Maybe the host will call for a taxi for you. The pool rooms look better than the one we had but frankly, for the money, you'd probably be much happier at The Hen, a similar guest house right on the beach just a few hundred metres away, and nearer to town. We called in to have a look and it is very classy. There are others like that too, along that road. Sorry, Baan Talay Chine, we won't be coming back but thanks for the service anyway.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sculthorpe-Pike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpitcher, Owner at Baan Talay Chine, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2010

Whilst some criticisms of this review may have some validity and action currently is being taken to ensure more precise representation of the offering on the hotel's website. To recommend another hotel as being much better when the cost of the comparable room is twice the cost of that paid by the reviewer is not really fair or valid criticism. Nor is it fair to cite a lack of transportation when the offer of such was refused from the staff by the reviewer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

We stayed a couple of nights at this place and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The rooms are very unique in the way they are decorated. We had the largest villa which has two bedrooms and a living room - plus the private pool. It was great to be able to stay together with family in such private surroundings. The staff are very helpful and are happy to do anything to please. We ordered pots of tea quite regularly (being British and all that!) and they were only too happy to brew up for us. The manager is also very friendly.

The location is good in that you are near enough in to the town centre to make visits, but far enough away to get away from it all. It would be best however to have your own means of transport to do so. Had we not had a car i think we would have felt a bit isolated. The location also has the draw-back of not being near a beach - it's close to the sea but not in an area where you could, or indeed would want, to swim. With the private pool however that didn't bother us. Oh, and yes, regarding the pool, they aren't heated - or as far as we could tell anyway - which does mean even when the weather is hot, the water is a little bracing when you get in. Once you are in though it's fine - refreshing actually.

There didn't seem to be many guests when we were there - really hope custom picks up for them as they deserve to be successful.

Highly recommended in short.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TongueThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

Althought a gorgeous guesthouse, with private pool, 2 bathrooms, kitchen, tv, dvd player, the location isn't brilliant. It is far from the town centre and the nearest beach isn't very nice. Although there is a local market nearby, which comes alive at night selling alsorts of wierd and wonderful things. Some money and some clothes were not to be found when we packed to leave. Which was a shame as all other aspects of the guesthouse were great. The kitchen table was set in the morning for a delicious breakfast, the private pool was gorgeous, and the manager was very helpful. There are a few resturants in the area though no resturant at the guesthouse. They can, however, have food delivered from local resturants. Free bottles of water and fresh fruit juice are provided daily. The manager can call for a taxi or tuk-tuk to pick you up.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank f_dewhirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

The Baan Talay Chine Hotel is a lovely place to stay. It was a 20 minute casual stroll to the city centre or a 100 baht taxi / tuk tuk ride. It is located in a very quiet part of town which means you can get away from the hustle and bustle of the town if you want to. The hotel was lovely and clean, really nice furniture and good facilities. We had the Happiness room which had its own pool and a large deck area which was beautiful. The hotel staff were fantastic, so helpful and friendly. We had a problem with our shower and they fixed it immediately. Breakfast was yummy and promptly delivered within 15 minutes of us asking. We highly recommend staying in Hua Hin as it is so friendly and laid back. The locals are very peaceful and welcoming. You can choose a quiet relaxing holiday or enjoy the buzz of the pubs, restaurants and markets. We are so glad we came to Hua Hin instead of Phuket as it is a more traditional Thai place rather than the tourist attraction of Phuket.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AussieTraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

Nice quiet boutique hotel, away from the center. Good for those who do not mind the walk to center. But tuk-tuks are available anytime. Tasteful Chinese-themed decor, nice room with jacuzzi tub. The only downside was cats on roof running about in the night.
Very nice Coco51 restaurant nearby, serves sumptuous Thai & Western cuisine & seafood.
The staff were friendly and polite. Breakfast was served in the room, or right outside the room on the balcony. We stayed for 4 nights, so having the same breakfast every morning can be a bore.
We were there during Christmas, the manager gave us each a little present. It was a really thoughtful gesture by the hotel.
If you're looking for a beachfront hotel, this is not it, but we did enjoy the quiet time away from the noise.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank misty12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2008

I was lucky enough to stay at this delightful boutique property for 5 nights. A good friend and I booked a two bedroom villa with our very own private pool.

The location is at the top of the town a decent walk or short tuk tuk ride from the main part of town.

The room was gorgeous, the pool lovely and refreshing and the staff charming.

I would definitely recommend this property for anyone fortunate enough to be able to get to Hua Hin for a short break or relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.8 mi away
Hisea HuaHin Hotel
Hisea HuaHin Hotel
#29 of 141 in Hua Hin
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Verona Hua Hin
The Verona Hua Hin
#43 of 141 in Hua Hin
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dune Hua Hin
Dune Hua Hin
#51 of 141 in Hua Hin
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Loligo Resort Hua Hin
Loligo Resort Hua Hin
#12 of 141 in Hua Hin
112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hua Hin Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
The Lapa Hua Hin Hotel
The Lapa Hua Hin Hotel
#41 of 141 in Hua Hin
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Talay Chine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Talay Chine

Address: 2/53-54 Naebkehart Rd, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 141 Hotels in Hua Hin
Price Range: £34 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baan Talay Chine 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BTC Hua Hin is an uniquely designed boutique resort located close by the Hua Hin downtown beach. BTC or ‘Baan Talay Chine’ means ‘China Beach House in Thai and reflects the Chinese origins and style of many of the furnishings and decorations of the resort. Offering private pool villas situated in tranquil tropical gardens, studios and two bedroom suites with decks, some with sea views. Designed in an oriental style and decorated with antique Chinese windows, doors and furniture within tropical gardens and stylish pools. This creates a unique blend of oriental taste combined with modern practicality and contemporary function. Boutique in every sense of the word, this resort comprises only eight suites and offers truly personalized service. Our professional staff are ready and keen to make your stay a truly relaxing and enjoyable one. Located in the downtown on Neabkehart Road, adjoining the ‘Klai Kang Won’ “Far from Worries” Royal Palace, His Majesty, The King of Thailand’s official residence, BTC Hua Hin is a short walking distance (2~3 minutes) from the beach. Located nearby are some of the town’s finest dining establishments, situated along the nearby sea front, as well as being close to many entertainment and shopping facilities. All the famous sites and tourist hot-spots are on your doorstep, within easy access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Sawasdee so you can book your Baan Talay Chine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing