We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and peaceful”
Review of Baan Talay Chine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baan Talay Chine
Ranked #65 of 136 Hotels in Hua Hin
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcoming and peaceful”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband, daughter and I recently had the pleasure of staying at this lovely boutique villa hotel over the Christmas holiday. Starting from our first communication with the owners, they could not have been more helpful, and the staff working on site are lovely. The manager Napit is so friendly and so organized. Anything we needed assistance with - arranging transport, renting scooters, suggestions for itinerary etc - was handled efficiently and with a smile.

Our villa was tidy and well appointed with lovely furniture, a very nice blend of local style with Chinese antiques. Breakfast was a choice of either Western style (eggs, bacon, toast) or Asian (which might be seafood fried rice, or boiled chicken with rice, etc); we had a few different things over the course of our stay and it was all very tasty. There is an iexpensive little local food place just a stone's throw from the front door if you want to order in - the menu is in the room and you can just let the young woman at the front desk know what you would like. If you want to go out, there are are a number of sweet little restaurants overlooking the beach a short walk away.

We really liked the location of Baan Talay Chine. It is located at the very north end of the beach strip, bordering on the Klaikangwon Palace grounds, tucked in at the end of the road where it turns into a footpath into a local residential neighborhood. This means it is fairly quiet (but not dead - it's a proper neighborhood, there are people out and about living life) and quite relaxing; however it is no more than a 15 minute casual stroll - or a 3 minute scooter ride - right down into the heart of downtown Hua Hin, with all of its markets, shops, food stalls, bars and restaurants. There are a few neat little cafes and a handful of other small boutique hotels right around, and best of all, a few steps away you will find Home Beach - a public beach that feels very much like a private one; a quiet corner of sand edging up to the palace land which is great for shell-hunting and dips in the sea.

We stayed also at the InterContinental in Hua Hina after leaving Baan Talay Chine and although that was also wonderful, it was a completely different experience, and I'm really glad we got a chance to see the town from both perspectives. I would be very happy to stay again at this hotel and am very happy to recommend it! If I have any negative criticism, it would be that the pillows on our bed were too big, so I felt my head was a bit at an odd angle when sleeping, but that is being really nitpicky! Other than that, I wouldn't have changed a thing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    13
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We wanted a few days undisturbed rest before moving on, our 'Happiness' villa ticked those boxes. Nice Chinese influences with teak furniture and window shutters, a bit smaller than expected but not cramped, perhaps a little dark inside due to small windows and a blind which was not functioning.
The service was faultless, with the manager speaking excellent English and most helpful answering any questions we had. We were given several choices in either Asian or Continental breakfast which was served beside our private pool, the service was very discreet and great effort made not to disturb.
If you want a beach holiday this is not the place, but if you want somewhere to relax, walking distance to night market, restaurants and with your own private pool this is it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank embax92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is the kind of place I personally enjoy staying at, pleasant and attentive staff, no crowed and relaxing.

The room as a bit small, but tastefully done in all details, they are exceptional clean and tidy! It is a place to enjoy privacy and quiet living. What also is nice about the location is it is close to the Kings Palace so noise are allowed.

If you like to walk the location allows just a refreshing walk to the down town, and long enough for a meal to settle. The hotel also offers cycles for rent. Parking is in front of the hotel and there is plenty of space and a guard ensuring the car is safe.

It is not a five star place, it is a fine place to find peace and ease out after the normal stressed living in Bangkok. Hua Hin also wins over most other places as it have retained a big of small town feel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IT-Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2012

I was there for 2 nights for a pool villa called "Happiness" The size of the room was good comparing to other places in Hua Hin. There is a private pools in our room which is great. The living room is not air-conditioned but over all was fine because of the ceiling fan. The bedroom and bath room are very clean. Choice of American or Thai style complimentary breakfast. Friendly staffs. Security guard at night time. Great location. Free Wifi. No bar and restaurant. Parking on the street.

Room Tip: Pool Villa are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissBowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We've stayed at a lot of different hotels in Thailand, Baan Talay Chine is the best we've experienced. The room design is modern with a ancient Chinese theme. The service is excellent with superb English and very helpful arranging excursions. Rooms are very clean and smell wonderful. Some rooms have private pools which the hotel lets you use when those rooms aren't occupied. Breakfast is served in your room, which is a real treat.
About 100 baht tuk tuk from the rail station, very close to the beach. It's far enough from town to have a very peaceful stay while close enough to zip out for dinner.
We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanwmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thailand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in August 2010 during the Buddhist holidays. We chose a resort because we knew all the bars would be closed and we could have a drink in a resort
However we were very dissapointed when we arrived and to call this place a resort is very misleading. Also I think you can get much nicer accomodation for the same price. The breakfast was also very poor quality and not enough to go around.
I will say that the staff are very nice and there is fast internet and you are not that far from the town centre,about 1 km or 100 baht in a tuk tuk
Overall I would not stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kursk43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in Baan Talay Chine over Songkran. We stayed in Bamboo, one of the newer rooms. What I really liked about it was that you were close enough to town, especially on our hired scooter, with lots of options on the Neb (something!) road to town, becoming really trendy, but you were miles away from the lunacy of Songkran when you did not want it. Service was great, attentive when you needed it and so helpful. Room was beautiful, so tasteful. A wonderful base to relax away from things, with it all just there when you needed it.

Room Tip: Email directly all your requests, so helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heibeicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.8 mi away
Hisea HuaHin Hotel
Hisea HuaHin Hotel
#30 of 136 in Hua Hin
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dune Hua Hin
Dune Hua Hin
#54 of 136 in Hua Hin
81 reviews
3.9 mi away
Loligo Resort Hua Hin
Loligo Resort Hua Hin
#13 of 136 in Hua Hin
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Verona Hua Hin
The Verona Hua Hin
#45 of 136 in Hua Hin
47 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn
2.5 mi away
Prinz Garden Villa
Prinz Garden Villa
#24 of 136 in Hua Hin
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Talay Chine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Talay Chine

Property: Baan Talay Chine
Address: 2/53-54 Naebkehart Rd, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 136 Hotels in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Baan Talay Chine 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BTC Hua Hin is an uniquely designed boutique resort located close by the Hua Hin downtown beach. BTC or ‘Baan Talay Chine’ means ‘China Beach House in Thai and reflects the Chinese origins and style of many of the furnishings and decorations of the resort. Offering private pool villas situated in tranquil tropical gardens, studios and two bedroom suites with decks, some with sea views. Designed in an oriental style and decorated with antique Chinese windows, doors and furniture within tropical gardens and stylish pools. This creates a unique blend of oriental taste combined with modern practicality and contemporary function. Boutique in every sense of the word, this resort comprises only eight suites and offers truly personalized service. Our professional staff are ready and keen to make your stay a truly relaxing and enjoyable one. Located in the downtown on Neabkehart Road, adjoining the ‘Klai Kang Won’ “Far from Worries” Royal Palace, His Majesty, The King of Thailand’s official residence, BTC Hua Hin is a short walking distance (2~3 minutes) from the beach. Located nearby are some of the town’s finest dining establishments, situated along the nearby sea front, as well as being close to many entertainment and shopping facilities. All the famous sites and tourist hot-spots are on your doorstep, within easy access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Sawasdee and Priceline so you can book your Baan Talay Chine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing