We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jing's continues to provide, clean, quiet rooms!”
Review of Taphouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Taphouse
Ranked #19 of 290 Hua Hin B&B and Inns
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Jing's continues to provide, clean, quiet rooms!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

When ever we are Hau Hin we call Jing's Guesthouse and request the same room each time. This room has Dvd player in it so if you play videos you can purchase near the beach fo 80 baht each. English TV and movies are difficult to find in Thailand! We don,t do the bar scene but it is there if that's how you spend your vacation and yes Jing's is central to all including the tuk tuks to transport you around central Hau Hin to malls and the off the tourist track beaches and restaurants.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kruzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    25
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
19
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mandelieu-la-Napoule, France
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

What a great place. Friendly staff, well located, nice rooms. Of course where you stay in Hua Hin depends on what you want to do.
Jing's is perfect for the train station, the beach, the night market and the bar scene.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljstanley54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Well technectly Jing, Peters wife runs the guesthouse because under Thai law he is only the consultant. The reality is its one of the best run guesthouses in Thailand. Its tucked away from the noisy bar scene yet right in the middle of all the action. There isn't sports coverage because its not a sports bar, there are plenty nearby to cater for those needs. Instead there is a tiny low key bar for in house guests in the breakfast area. Excellent value for money with three price levels of accommodation to suit everyone, except for the 5 star holiday makers. Its an honest to goodness home style place which is safe to stay at without fear of theft etc from your rooms. Free wifi and a pool table set up under cover in the tree lined courtyard. I stayed for years at Birds Guesthouse which I loved but after finding this placed moved to Jings.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet as its tucked away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DirtyPierreOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Ok I read about this place and read reviews. I was skeptical about this place with it's location. It is in the middle of many bars etc. my wife was a bit concerned about this. Also the noise.
I got a room in the back and no noise and this was a newer room.
Ok it was not a great visit, was just to hot. Now Jing and Ping Pong were very kind, we will miss them and not forget them.
So we reccomend this place, noise no problem, you handle the bar girl's. I am old, they called me Pa Pa! Nice hosts, eat breakfast their, was good!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank skycop15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This is our second stay at Jings. We are a family of 4 and stayed in the courtyard room, with a large king size bed and bunk beds, the room has a courtyard at the rear for your use with just one other room. The kids loved their stay last time and have gone on at us for the last couple of years to return. When returning you can have the worry that its not as good as your remembered, however, it was a pleasant surprise that it was better than we remembered. They have done lots of updating, the room is spacious, clean and well maintained. The staff are friendly. We were there for Christmas and they laid on a free BBQ on Christmas day. Good WIFI and computer access, bar. The food is really good too.
The rooms are set back off the road, so you don't hear very much music or noise. Its right in the middle of all the action, close to the beach and nightmarket. Restaurants and bars all around, so very good location.
Amazing for the price, you will not find better!

Room Tip: Courtyard room if you can get it, especially as a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelstongh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The staff at Chef LeeZ .com visits Hau Hin Thailand nearly every month and we call Jing's guesthouse first for our room reservations. Jing's staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, and affordable and although it is nestled in amongst many bars it's layout keeps the noise to an acceptable minimum. No dogs barking all night at anything that moves nor are there roosters crowing early in the morning. A 5 minute walk puts you on the beach in front th The Hilton or 10 minute walk in the opposite direction puts you in the day /night market. Chef LeeZ .com recommends Jing's toast & egg coffee & juice breakfast and for lunch just before the market is a Thai cuisine restaurant . You will know you are at the correct restaurant by the large vinyl hillside vineyard signs providing shade. Our evening meal suggestion is on the way to the beach . It is on the corner near Factory Outlet and serves up real nice pizza and pasta dishes. Jing's, thank you for the many restfull stays. We look forward to many more.

Room Tip: If you take a balcony room you have a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kruzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

First it should be said that Jings is located in the red light district of Hua Hin so anyone considering booking a room here should be aware of that. Jings itself is NOT complicit with the sex trade it just so happens by accident or design that its located within the zone.
Rooms are reasonable and given its budget represent good value. The A/C in the rooms are very efficient and the temperature can be made very cool. Bathroom is a decent size with hot water, more than adequate supplies of toilet roll are left inside the rooms. TV is another standard feature with loads of cable channels to choose from. The rooms are situated off street and are quiet, I had no problems whatsover with noise from the surrounding area. Jings is probably the best place to stay in Hua Hin in its class, sure it has one or two minor flaws, such as the staffs very limited English, but we're talking a guesthouse here not the Intercontinental hotel.
I'd stay here again without giving it a second thought. The location does put it off limits for families but for the solo traveller or open minded couples it makes for an excellent choice.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Informatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.1 mi away
Thipurai City Hotel
Thipurai City Hotel
#40 of 136 in Hua Hin
233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,273 reviews
1.1 mi away
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
#12 of 136 in Hua Hin
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Hua Hin Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
0.1 mi away
Victor Guesthouse
Victor Guesthouse
#5 of 290 in Hua Hin
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taphouse

Property: Taphouse
Address: 75/2 Soi Selakam, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand (Formerly Jing's Guesthouse)
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 290 B&Bs / Inns in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have clean,well equipped rooms all with A/C to accommodate all budgets. A bright airy Bar with a professional Pool Table. Friendly staff and comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Taphouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jing`s Guesthouse Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing