We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good and really cheap”
Review of Kai Young

Ranked #226 of 623 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really good and really cheap”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

This is the place to go for authentic north-eastern food in Hua Hin. They actually have the best grilled fish I've had in Thailand with the most reasonable price (120thb), other dishes are generally priced at around 45-60 baht. Highly recommended but buy water at 7-11 and take it with you if you don't luke warm water or dirty ice cubes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Konungr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
487 reviews
412 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Great Isaan food”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Eaten here many times, usually I order Tom sap kraduuk moo (spicy soup with pork ribs). But all food is nice there. Just look for the TMB bank near the evening market (few hundred meters north of Market Village)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
222 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Very good food, very cheap”
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Had a quick dinner here with my mother and brother one of the last days in Hua hin.
Just to say the name is Kai Yang.
Always full, not always open. We got a table after 10min waiting, sat down, got menus and after 30 sec the waitress( soupnazi "seinfeld") wanted to take our order, we needed more time. This place is famous for their chicken(kai) and papaya salads so we ordered 1 bbq chicken, 2 papaya salad, duck breast in spicy something and 1 small portion of bbq pork. We also ordered a spicy beef sald which never came. Chicken was very good, grill taste, juicy and chopped up. Papaya salad one of the best but not spicy. Duck breast good, and bbq pork quite good, a bit fatty( i like fat, but this one 70% fat maybe). Had 2 large beer and 1 water. 490 baht. Temptes to give full score but she forgot beer and one spicy beef plus a couple of dishes not quite up there.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank norvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Best Street stall food in Thailand”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

The other reviews for this place are accurate. The most amazing grilled chicken you will ever eat and the green papaya and green mango salads are perfect. The staff are friendly and the attention to cleanliness (always a worry with street stalls) is impeccable. Be prepared to queue, this place is really popular with locals. The food is Isaan, for the north so something a bit different.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo1365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed 27 October 2009

We were walking along the main road after having a cup of joe at the mall. This road stand, located right in front of a bank, started their charcoal up around five pm. Imagine, chicken, pork fat, perfect burned charcoal, truly matches made in heaven because they are perfectly seasoned and slowly cooked on top of flaming charcoal. Food was great. We had grilled 1/2 chicken and a fish. They also have pork ribs, intestines, short ribs, tom yum gong, and other tidbits. Moreover, the vendor has another table setup, with a gigantic mortar and pestle, to serve and a few types of fresh salads (Papaya Po Po and cucumber). Rice was fragrant.

It's not a place for the faint of heart; there will be mosquitoes, and there will be a few strayed dogs parked right next to you during the meal. They don't have table linens, and it is very rustic. Don't expect the vendor to converse you in English fluently, but they understand that not all foreigners can take wicked spicy hot like the locals.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redsoxnationfareast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kai Young also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Kai Young? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing