We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Hua Hin Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
Ranked #5 of 134 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hotel has it all with beautiful surroundings and situated on the beach! Initially there was an issue with our Premiere Room not having the requested twin beds and we had to wait 2 nights for this to be changed. My Mother & I were very amused when the Reception staff thought we were a honeymoon couple and found the room filled full of petals and a bottle of bubbly on ice awaiting! The dinning experience was very original with tables sunk into individual enclosures surrounded with water.The swimming pool is a fantastic size with very friendly staff especially Diamond who made us feel very welcome. The breakfast service was very well organised and all staff were very attentive. The chef was very understanding that I was wheat intolerant and was given the most beautiful potato pancakes with syrup and other gluten free delights!
We were very spoilt by all and even had the pleasure of the General Manager, Britta Kutz, assist with making our daily poolside Pina Coladas as she was doing a work swap day - don't know if Britta was able to find anyone to do her job though!
We took a taxi to the night market for 110 baht and then a tuk tuk home for 100 baht. Aslo did this to the Village Market shopping plaza which was a great shopping experience and there was also a local food and clothing market just outside which was a delight and the locals were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is situated within walking distance approx. 10 mins to the Cicada weekend market which was another great experience. We spent 2 weeks at the Intercontinnental and had a brilliant time thanks to all!

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to Premiere room as the location is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanLosada, Director of Guest Services at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Amanda D,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor,

It 's great to read you had such a great stay.I am delighted to see that our staff took excellent care of you during your stay despite of the initial misunderstanding with the room type request.

Every guest has different needs and we do work with a focus in adapting our services to those needs. I am happy to see that our chef took action to ensure your special nutrition needs were taken care of.We are also happy to see how much you liked the accommodation, facilities and location.

Please rest assured I will share your feedback with the team and I am sure that Patrick ( our Executive chef ),Britta ( our GM) and Diamond at the pool will be very happy to read your kind comments.

Hopefully we 'll not have to wait too long to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Very Best Regards

Juan Losada
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    188
    46
    17
    17
See reviews for
322
462
39
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at this resort for 1 week in 9/13, in an ocean view room. The room, the breakfasts, gym, gym staff and pool were all great. 15 minutes walk to the Village Market Plaza, 25 minutes walk to centre of town. Would recommend it to couples.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanLosada, Director of Guest Services at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Janes M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor,

I am delighted to read you had a great stay at the InterContinetal Hua Hin Resort and enjoy not only the facilities but also the locations and services.
Thank you also for recommending our resort to other guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards

Juan Losada
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

The drive from Bangkok airport was about 2.5 hrs. Entrance could be easy to miss, so look out for the signs. Parking was convenient and was free during the stay.

Hotel is located near the heart of Hua Hin, 5 mins drive to the closest night market and Market Village (a huge local mall). 12 mins drive to Hua Hin downtown and 20 mins to cha-am. Tourist spots are not always accurate on Google maps so take extra caution and confirm the location.

Reception acknowledged my elite status and brought me over to club lounge for check-in. Was served nice cold drink. Club lounge was nice and quiet environment, because it was empty every time I checked. Afternoon tea and breakfast are served there but choices are limited.

Was checked into a lagoon access (note: lagoon, not pool) room since the lagoon is not connected to the main pool, would have been much nicer if it did. But the sun bed on the spacious balcony with privacy/sun screen was a nice touch. Would be better if they gave more space to the room itself than the balcony, while the balcony was extremely spacious, the room was not. Bose systems accompanied the media station. My complain would be the lack of electric outlets and the lack of an actual work desk.

Rain shower was powerful, lack of dual basins for couples, tub was broken on first day but quickly fixed. Toilet has a weird scent throughout the stay. Weird incident, one night at 8pm with my DND light on, a "supervisor" knocked on my door and wanted to check the bathroom. I hesitated but he was persistent, he looked around the shower, tub and towels. Still have no idea what that was about.

Decent sized pool with cabanas and an extended jacuzzi pool near the fireplace, next to the beach. Beautiful view for sunrise and sunset. They clean the insects off the corridors in the morning at around 7am, so be careful if you tend to go out before that time.

Choices of buffet breakfast was average but egg station was good. Also had a noodle station on the first day (which was great) but sadly was gone afterwards.

Room Tip: If you're a pool access fan, you'll like the lagoon access rooms, or else any other rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanLosada, Director of Guest Services at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear mcwai,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review.

I am happy to see that overall you had a great holiday at our Resort. I am also delighted to read that you have been recognized on arrival as a loyal guest.One of our strongest commitments in IHG is to ensure our IHG Rewards and Ambassador members get the recognition and the benefits they deserve.Thank you for your loyalty.

Thank you also for your kind comments on our facilities and the service in general.

I also take very good note of comment son your recommendations which I will take forward in order to study and implement if possible.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Very Best Regards

Juan Losada
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

As a visitor to Hua Hin for longer than I care to mention (over 30 years), I have stayed in almost all of the large chain hotels, as well as many boutique resorts. Without a doubt the Intercontinental is my preference these days.

The service is top-notch, and the property (being less than 5 years old) still has a 'new' feel to it and is well laid out. The large swimming pool area has plenty of space and lounging areas - and at night is lit very attractively. Between the pool and the beach (incidently this section of beach is by far the best in Hua Hin) there is a firepit area to relax around after dark. The choice for breakfast was huge - something for everyone for sure.

The rooms are of a good size, with lovely decor and well laid out with all amenities one would expect in a hotel of this caliber. There is a large outdoor balcony with day bed - very comfortable for enjoying the sea breeze later in the day. Whilst the rooms are close to a road, the sound insulation is excellent and there was no noticeable noise from that direction at all. Also, the blackout curtains were fantastic - not a speck of light coming through to wake you up in the morning.

In all, we were taken care of very well. The staff were all courteous and efficient and made sure that our stay was as comfortable as possible. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanLosada, Director of Guest Services at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear 1North,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our resort here on TripAdvisor.

Being you a regular visitor to Hua Hin for thirty years makes us feel even more recognized.I truly appreciate your comments and I am delighted to know that you had such a great stay.

It's great to know you enjoyed the different facilities and services that the resort offers. All our rooms have a day bed in the balcony and we are very happy to see how much our guests like them.Breakfast is another area where guests show their appreciation very often , therefore I am very happy to read in your review that you mention both of them.

I look forward to welcoming soon.

Very Best Regards

Juan Losada
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

After the long meeting, this is the wonderful place to relax and chill out both inside your own room or the poolside. We've been there with family and friends. Sitting outside and enjoy cocktails, chit chat, listening the music from DJ, it was a great moment!! We did enjoy the happy hour before go back to the room. The interior in the room is wonderful, especially the bathtub in the middle.
What you can't miss is to walking along the beach which is the most beautiful part in Hua Hin.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KNBThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanLosada, Director of Guest Services at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear KNBThailand,

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor,

I am very happy to read that all your expectations , as a business person and as a pleasure traveler ,were both met.All guests have different needs and we are delighted to read that not only you had a great meeting but also a fantastic time with friends and family.

Thank you kindly for your comments in regards to the facilities and service in general, they are very much appreciated.

We all look forward to welcome you back,

Very Best Regards

Juan Losada
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stunning setting, clean beach, well maintained with quality & professional staff who are very attentive to the guests' needs. It's certainly not cheap, but quality costs and you will get a memorable experience. The only issue I had was with the lack of audio on some sports channels, but they attempted to fix it, but the problem was with the provider TrueVisions not the hotel. The duty manager made a personal apology when I checked out nonetheless.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HAINESY-BKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanLosada, Director of Guest Services at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear DHBKK,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback in regards to your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you found quality throughout the resort and that your expectations were met. Thank you also for recognizing the quality of service provided by our staff.

Unfortunately and due to inclement weather during your stay , the reception of few channels was not the best . Despite of the efforts of our engineering team ,it took a bit longer than expected to fix as it was an issues external to the hotel and that affected several location in Hua Hin. These situations are rare to happen.

Again, thank you for review and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Very Best Regards

Juan Losada
Director of Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

drove with own car from our house in Bangkok to Hua Hin, after the stress of getting out of Bangkok, we received a refreshinhg and nice welcome drink at checkin. unfortunately didn't had the time to drink it all out as the checkin process is very smooth and efficient, followed with a butler showing us around.
we liked the hotel, the architecture of the garden and pool area, leading up to the beach is excellent.
i will defintely return to this hotel for a short break escape when in Bangkok.

visited the wine yard and the old royal summer residence by private hoteltaxi. a day well spend and good value for money.

areas for improvement:
1)my skin is very sensitive to sunburn, i can only expose before 10 AM or after 16h. the pool area have little areas that are protected enough against direct sunlight. However the pool staff was extremely hlpfull moving us around, no effort too big for them and more over on their own initiative and with a smile.
Thank you Diamond !
2) food:
2a) Azure, fish restaurant. there is hardly any fish on the menu. from a sea side resport, i would look forward eating fresh fish, big lobsters (as in Pattaya for example). it was quite disappointing with nothing impressive on the menu.
2b) breakfast: is spread across different locations, a bit of a hassle to search for the combination of food you are looking for requiring multiple walks to and from your table.
2c) the Thai restaurant: being belgian, culinary experiences are part of my culture. when eating in Thailand, i look for an exotic journey of flavours and aromas throughout the menu in every dish i explore. Whilst the food is undoubtedly very good (we dined every day at the hotel) , missed the "wow" factor i find in European Michelin star rated restaurants.
Having said this, the overall standard is excellent and wil definitely return to this hotel;.

price wise, the food costs double of what i paid at Holiday Inn Pattaya. the price difference is not reflected in the "experience", But my benchmark standards are high.

Room Tip: talk to hotel concierge services for sightseeings in the area. Many things to do and well affordable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrickfouquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanLosada, Director of Guest Services at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear patrickfouquet,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review in regards to your recent stay with us.

I am glad to hear that you had a great stay and found the resort standards excellent.I also take very good note on your comments and suggestions , please rest assured I will share them with our food and beverage colleagues in order to revise menus . We are actually about to renovate all pool furniture soon and your comments in regards to the shadow areas by the pool are also very well received.

Again, Thank you very much for staying with us and for such a constructive and positive review.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Very Best Regards

Juan Losada
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
2.0 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#1 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#6 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
2.7 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
1.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
0.9 mi away
Hua Hin Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hua Hin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hua Hin Resort

Property: InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
Address: 33/33 Petchkasem Road | Prachuabkhirikhan, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#7 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hua Hin Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every guests who stay at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort will receive complimentary unlimited access to Vana Nava waterpark and True Arena Sport Club with shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Holiday Gems so you can book your InterContinental Hua Hin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing