We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Hua Hin (for afternoon meal)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chom Talay

Chom Talay
Ranked #329 of 605 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best in Hua Hin (for afternoon meal)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I've been to Chom Talay for more than 10 times, almost every time I visit Cha-am and Hua hin. Although I hate it when it is busy on Friday and Saturday night. I would say it is the best place to visit during 1 - 5 pm. It will be quite and good service. I can enjoy my foods and beers beside the sea as long as I want. Foods are ok, but every else is so enjoyable and relax.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ittipon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    29
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Seafood in Hua Hin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Living in Bangkok and when I go to Hua Hin I always look forward to going to Chom Talay. Its a little hard to find but once there its always enjoyable. The fish and squid are always fresh. I especially like the squid with salted egg. The atmosphere is also nice as right along the beach. I also like the grilled fish with Thai herbs inside. We can eat the same seafood in the BKK but its just not the same.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuu Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Thai food right next the the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Very good Thai food, with a good selection seafood. A very pleasant place to eat. Easy and plentiful parking.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GadgetB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam Roi Yot, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Seafood and sea breeze”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

It's not the best seafood Restaurant I've ever been but it is a very good Restaurant by Hua Hin standards. It has a very wide choice of dishes and the quality is pretty good.
The location is right on the seafront and the breeze at night is quite pleasant as you dine and enjoy the company of friends and family.
You can go there every day for a week and be able to order very different things each day so you don't get tired of eating the same things like you do in some other place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dario P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
228 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Best seaside dining experience in Hua Hin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Same as Chao Lay, we came to Chom Talay every time we stayed in Hua Hin. It's quite far away from Hua Hin centre. And not many locals know the location. But it's worth the trip as it has a great outdoor sitting area with a nice ocean view. We really enjoyed the steamed snapper, they deboned it before the served the fish! Will definitely eat here again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chom Talay also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Phetchaburi, Phetchaburi Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Chom Talay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing