We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Residence Hua Hin
Ranked #41 of 308 Hua Hin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This is the cheapest pool villa in the area. Like others have mentioned, the smallest villa has 2 bedroom with one living area and kitchen. The resort was quiet even during the New Year. The main pool is nice but not enough towels and beds. The private pool is lovely but it needs daily cleaning. The staffs are friendly. Overall, it's good for a big family.

The resort was in the back of Stamford university. So, if you drive there, just follow the Stamford sign and drive through the school, exit the blue gate and turn left.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DarlingMayMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

A great palce to chill with your lover.the resort is far from the beach in middle of a farm.

Things i liked -

1. Away from the main city but connect to the main market through a shuttle service.
2.The Villas are huge and we were in a 2 bedroom villa - the ac in 1 bedroom dint seem to cool too well.
3.each villa has its own plunge pool with is great fun.
4.the kitchenette was well equipped and had a induction system.
The staff is very friendly specially the chef
5.the main pool is simply great and clean.

Thinks i dint like -
1.Poor Housekeeping
2.Poor quality of toiletries - please carry your own
3.Torn worn out towels
4.very bad breakfast - no variety of fruits, juices , etc
5.No telephone in rooms to call reception or housekeeping
6. No mosquito machines
7. the main guy at the reception - has an attitude and keeps smoking infact he asked us to buy him redbull from the 7/11.

Room Tip: all villas seemed the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sbhatnagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

My friends were looking for a high quality massage somewhere between the top priced hotel spas and the cheapies on the beach and on crowded streets.
We booked this spa online. The Residence sent a shuttle van to pick us up. I had a traditional Thai massage, no oils and boy did this girl know her stuff! Not for wimps! My friends both had deep tissue massages and were very impressed. We also booked manicures and pedicures. The rooms were private, the service good. Definitely recommend. When we finished we wandered over to the bar for cocktails before being driven home again.
This place is a keeper for massage. middle of the road prices, (don't forget to tip the girls) and don't be afraid to ask them to massage more softly if you feel uncomfortable!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Catherine48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Not the typical hotels that are aplenty lining parallel to the shoreline of Cha-Am and Hua Hin, but more like a twenty over units of two and three bedroom villas cuddled up in the middle of scorched farmlands within the vicinity of a few also scorched hills. Getting there requires some intuitive navigation skills and some phone calls to the resort as cows passed by your car on the local roads that you will be lost.

The Residence Hua Hin, is located next to Stamford University. However, unlike the university that could afford a large piece of land thus the strategic entrance from the main Phet Kasem road, entry to The Residence Hua Hin is from Hua Hin Soi 6, pass a railway track and through many villages inland that requires some driving. The villas are single storey bungalows toned orange brown enclosed by bamboo fence that's too low for any privacy comfort. So one could not skinny dip into the small Jacuzzi so inviting out front of the every villa on a hot day's night. The villas are all very spacious, a few of which have three bedrooms with the rest made up of two bedrooms units. In fact it is so spacious that if your friends brings along their own sleeping bags, you could sleep well over ten just in the living room. However, the air conditioners have aged and took a long time to cool the room down. So for the first half of the night, your slumber will be an episode between waking up to scratch unknown number of mosquitoes bites and peaceful hibernation before one can finally snuggle fully into the so thick comforter shielding one from the abundant pest.

The Kings sized bed, is actually made up of two rather hard mattress. You gotta roll over the hard ridge in your sleep on the bed I think intended for people with back problems. It's too rigid for my preference and I truly did not enjoy my sleep at all, waking up a dozen time looking at the clock hoping morning will come soon. Breakfast, I wished they could have done better for the price that one has to pay. Limited in selection and equivalent to two star motel quality which I frequent on my upcountry work trips. Dinner, again a disappointment on my end. Fish & Chips - Cod coated in delicious batter served with French Fires and salad the menu stated. And so I ordered with high expectations on the taste of a true English Fish & Chips reminiscence of my childhood which I had so many. Now the batter was good, but the Cod is not a Cod. It was some fishy tasting thin slab of local shallow water fish. So, don't ever ever ever ever order the Fish & Chips here. It ain't chip either.

Showering in the villas expect some surprises. Well there's a huge bathtub one could onzen in the bathroom and that's a plus point. Water pleasantly heated will be available and the flow is strong so no minus points on that too. Draining the tub, my bathroom was flooded from the water oozing out from the other drainage hole driving up scores of black scum accompanied by an appalling smell which infiltrated into the bedroom. No more onzen for me after my first try. Maintenance on the clogged drainage had been neglected in the villas and I wonder if they knew. Big minus point.

If it is a quite place one is looking for to be with a number of friends to get away from Bangkok, then The Residence Hua Hin is one good idea. Since it is spacious and large, taking on a three bedroom unit will allows for six or more guest. Chilling out to wine and snacks chattering the night away. Holding that cold beer in the Jacuzzi amongst laughter of friends soaking. Away from the packed beach pubs and noisy hotels lining the shoreline, this will be the place for you. However, if you come along with great expectation on the F&B, the quality of sleep matching the price, then one will truly be disappointed. Impression neutral I have, but nevertheless over these New Year holidays, rested my mind somehow I had.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kings L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We arrived with my husband on Hua Hin residence after being picked up in Bangok AIrport by the Hua Hin residence pick up service.The vehicle that they sent was in perfect condition and the driver expremely polite and spoke perfect english.The drive was very smooth and pleasant and since it was out first time going to Hua Hin for us the drive was very enjoyable.

The Hua Hin Residence is in a quiet spot close to some beautiful hills and the amazing Palm hills golf course. The place is serene and peacefull full of green and vegetation. We rented one of the two bedroum villas which was vary spacious with two huge on suite bedrooms. The living com kichen area was also very spacious and nicely decorated with wide screen tv and dvd equipment.

Our outdoor yard with the plunge pool was also amazing ,not to mention the common huge swimming pool with three palm trees inside.

The staff were very friendly and always smiling.The villa was cleaned daily for us.

Dont miss trying the amazing small estaurant at the residence and try especially the home made spring rolls,chicken and cashew nuts and the burger!!!

Dont leave before you try the spa and the 2hr massage treatment from heaven.

The residence also offers free shuttle to Hua Hin center (less than 10min drive)several times a day plus you can have free bikes to go for a ride around the countryside.

Room Tip: All villas had privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Safari21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Stayed here from Sep11th- 13th'11. We booked 2 villas with 2 bedrooms through Golf of Siam package. The villas were tastefully decorated size of approximately 120 sq m, sufficient amenities, a simple kitchenette with dining and comfortable living area. Rooms had split unit air conditioning unit, dining area had a 2hp air conditioning unit, therefore the whole villa was kept cool. Had a nice little jacuzzi in each villa, housekeeping staff kept the villa well maintained. Beds were comfortable, only setback was the pillows were too high and soft (synthetic filled). Tropical countries are always prone to mosquitoes, best way is having scented oil fragrant like lemongrass or eucalyptus applied on tissues in room or toilets preventing mosquitoes in the evening. Windows should be kept closed during dusk.
Swimming pool was well landscaped, lots of palm trees to keep swimmers in shade. A nice and small restaurant with simple menu to whet our appetite after a tiring day. Breakfast was a la carte, basic but sufficient to fill our stomachs as most guests here will tee off early morning.
The staff of The Residence were all friendly and helpful, especially the kitchen staff were very accommodating, assisting us to heat up our food bought from a Muslim stall in town.
Location of The Residence is off the town area, arrangement with front desk for shuttle van can easily be arranged for send off & pick up from town which is about 20 minutes away.
We had always preferred staying in resorts away from crowd. However accessibility of courtesy transport available will not pose any difficulties. This place is very suitable for a quiet & peaceful holiday, yet you can stroll Hua Hin town by courtesy shuttle van.
Hua Hin has some real good and reputable golf courses, it was certainly an experience for golfers to enjoy their tee off the beautiful green carpet grass, an expression they can only feel.
Tip for Muslim travelers - inside Chat Chai market there's a simple and basic stall Muslim food stall opened from morning till 4 pm. Lynn and Arif served the tastiest seafood fried rice that I had tried. You may buy seafood ( clams, prawns, fish ) from the market and they will cook for you for a nominal fee. It is best to take-away and enjoy the meal at the comfy villa. Try the Mango and sticky rice is available in this wet market, it's really tasty and addictive.
The ever helpful staff and friendliness shown, will keep us returning here @The Residence Hua Hin.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaLoi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Organised by a good friend of mine as he is a regular visitor to this property.

Location
A bit far from the town centre and the beach. A 18 hole golf course, a university campus next to the property.

Room
Spacious, Clean and the bed is good. Make sure all windows are closed when sleeping. Mosquito is a problem here. My brother and I had more than 10 bites in 1 night!

Each villa has its own spa - very relaxing.

Internet
The wireless did not work during the 2 night stay. No staff has a clue on how to make it work.

Breakfast
Choice of Western or Thai. A buffet breakfast is served if more guests staying in the property.

Amenities
Gym equipment looks new (didn't try). Cycling nearby is a treat. The villa can lend you a bike for free but I don't think they have many.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
3.7 mi away
Huahin Loft Hotel
Huahin Loft Hotel
#113 of 144 in Hua Hin
346 reviews
6.2 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,333 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Hua Hin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
M & A Guesthouse
M & A Guesthouse
#100 of 308 in Hua Hin
24 reviews
2.9 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#4 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,317 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hua Hin Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Hua Hin

Address: Bor Fai, Soi 6, Hua Hin 76120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Hua Hin
Price Range: £41 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Residence Hua Hin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Hua Hin offers luxury two and three bedroom villas with private gardens and jacuzzi pools. The resort also offers a main swimming pool, restaurant, pub and pool bar, fitness suite and spa. Just a short distance to the beach or town, there is a regular shuttle bus service. Golf rounds can be arranged at neighbouring Palm Hills Country Club or any of the other popular golf courses in Hua Hin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Residence Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing