We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vintage village market”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Plearn Wan

Plearn Wan
Ranked #22 of 94 things to do in Hua Hin
Attraction details
Level Contributor
184 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 560 helpful votes
“Vintage village market”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Only a few shops availble in this village. A handful of souvenir shop are available but not much chkice and design. Locals made snack or food are available but it just doesn't look fresh at all so i skip it. The only things u bought there is the fried potato local style and coconut at the bottom floor. Good place if you like to take some vintage background photo. There are quite many things which you can see from the 20th century from toys to vehicles. If you were going to santorini park than you might give it a quick stop at this village or else it is just a waste of yoir time to purposely come here.

Helpful?
6 Thank Sze H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    262
    289
    84
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“this place is unique”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is a unique place , although it is small but it houses small lots selling handicrafts and some food . If you are looking for some thing special and unique , this is the place , probably a flea market type of thing I would say

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide, australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Theme market place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We were the only westerners at this place in the 2 hours we were here.
Plenty of younger (under 30's) locals seemed to be enjoying themselves.
Designed to resemble a Thai shopping area from late 50s early 60s it included a sideshow alley type of entertainment area that included a dunking machine, shooting gallery and hoop throwing game that I remember from my childhood.
Plenty of food outlets and trinket stores that can be found all over Thailand, but in this setting they seemed to be not quiet as tacky.
Overall we enjoyed our visit here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dazAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place for shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

If you do not get a chance to shop around, this is a good place for you to shop however will be a bit pricey if compare to other places like night market. Not a "Must Visit Place" but good to take a look. One funny thing is, people are so relax in this little village. We visited many shops and normally there are no one looking after the shop. Only when we need assistant, they will come and service us from other shops. We have bought at least 5 T-shirts there. Average price is 100 bath per shirt.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank xiaolam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not my cup of tea”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

a sort of fake theme park retro kind of market - much better to go to a real market. OK if you lke that sort of thing

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichardCrookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plearn Wan also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Plearn Wan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing