We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky Pick”
Review of Rod Fai

Rod Fai
Ranked #154 of 647 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Price range: US$8 - US$18
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating
Description: Rod Fai is a traditional Thai and Seafood restaurant with great food and very friendly staff. Very affordable and unique location in the middle of Hua Hin's busy night market. The restaurant is decorated like the old Hua Hin's Railway Station.
Vista, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Lucky Pick”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

There are a lot of similar places with similar menus in the night market. My Thai wife picked this place and it turned out to be a winner. We arrived when they had plenty of tables even though within 30 minutes every table was taken so we lucked out and got a prime table facing the street and under a fan in view of the kitchen but far enough away so that we were out of the cooking heat. All the dishs came prepared nicely with a good taste. Price was good also for the fresh seafood. We sat in what looked to be the orginal restaurant and business was so good it looked like they took over the space next door. It was much nicer sitting in a real restaurant instead of at one of the places with tables on the street and that is one reason my wife picked the place along with how the displayed seafood looked. Would go back next time in Hue Hin.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PopTopBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    36
    18
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited this place as it was one of the busier eateries on the night market, and we've eaten there every night since. Excellent food at excellent value and excellent (if boozy!) cocktails. Friendly, if busy, staff. Highly recommend are the fried mixed seafood which is ridiculously cheap, or if you want something a bit more upmarket the fresh shellfish by the kilo is delicious.
We'll probably be there tomorrow night too.

Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good in price, food, wine and everytging”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We tried it last night when we after visited night market, it is located inside the night market, actually there are many similar seafood restaurant there,the price are alnist the same, but we picked this one because it has bar. The staffs are friendly, and enjoy in their work. We ordered barbecued tiger prawns, steak, spicy fried rice, scallops, actually we wanted crab too, but it is sold out. The taste of the rice and tiger prawns are great! And also we drank alot corktail there , it is really cheap to drink in Thailan! Have a wonderful night .

Helpful?
Thank Tiffko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Probably the Best restaurant In Hua Hin”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We spent two weeks in Hua Hin and ate out every night. Firstly - if you want the best good , head to the Night Market. And in the Night Market, head or ROD KAI. We tried the restaurants on both sides of Rod Kai - on a number of occasions, but we decided that ten food in Rod Kai was the best. Their starter of scallops was done in beautiful nutty, buttery sauce. Their lobster was superb. The fried rice with shrimps is reason enough to go there. And when we asked for fresh sliced mango as desert, they immediately complied even though it was not on the menu.
Beer is served cold in ice buckets. And they do have Leo!!
The only slight criticism is common to all restaurants in Hua Hin and that is that the German patrons , for some reason, feel they can smoke in restaurants.
Most highly recommended restaurant in Hua Hin - from experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa Heads, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“great BBQ seafood”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We decided to give Rod Fai a try while wandering through the night markets in Hua Hin....
we finished up eating there 2 more times during that week!

great BBQ lobsters and huge prawns, but best of all the scallops on the shell bathed in garlic butter and quickly cooked over the coals.... awesome stuff, good value and Phad Thai was pretty good too. ice cold Singha and good Mojito's.....

give it a try, service can be a bit shambolic but hey it's a night market restaurant.
The important part is the great BBQ'd seafood.

steve&sancha

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sancha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rod Fai also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Rod Fai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing