We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreliable”
Review of Tong-Mee House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hua Hin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tong-Mee House
Ranked #26 of 289 Hua Hin B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Unreliable”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We made a reservation for a room in the morning, because we would arrive late and than it is nice if you have a place to stay already. We arrived there at 9 pm, exactly the time we told the lady and surprisingly she told us that there where no rooms left. She made absolutely no effort to offer us an alternative and lied about a phone call saying that our taxi driver had canceled our reservation 15 minutes ago, which was nonsense. Very disappointing.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wens19xx, Owner at Tong-Mee House, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear guest Angela J,

First of all we do apologize for not able to let you experience the stay in our house as the rooms were completely full due to the peak season of Christmas. I do admit that the language barrier could lead to the misunderstanding ,in this case,between the taxi driver ,us as the host and you as our guests. I was pretty certain that the misunderstanding point would be in that last 15 minutes because normally we would always keep the room for the guests who booked with us first .For that, many time as well we lost the room as no one show up when they said they would. for this experience, we have learnt to make sure the operator could understand completely the message that the guests send to us on the phone before making any decision.

Once again we do apologize for the inconvenient and hope to make it up to you the next time you come visit Hua Hin,

Best Regards,

Tong Mee House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    15
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
12
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Nice and cheap little guesthouse, close to the city center. You get an Air con room for 550 baths which is a bargain for Hua Hin. The house has a little terrace which is very pleasant. It's run by a family who is extremely friendly and welcoming. The grand mother even offered to give me a lift at 5:30 am so I could get my bus! Had a great time there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buzzlnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wens19xx, Owner at Tong-Mee House, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear our guest buzzlnj,

We are glad that our service has reached your expectation.Our Tong Mee house takes care of our guests like a part of family so we just want to make sure everyone is safe and happy during the stay with us

Anytime when you come back to Hua Hin, Please come visit and say hello to us :)

Best Regards,

Tong Mee House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

stayed here a few times over the years, not by the beach, but its a really good value and close to a really nice evening food market tht does the best banana smoothie.
i personally thought this place was great, and the top floor room with rooftop area is well worth paying the extra few quid for.

May not seem at first to be in the most picturesque part of hua hin town, but the town is so easy to get around, and the beach only 5 mins walk, shops n market around the corner and the owner is very friendly

Room Tip: ask for the rooftop room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dearskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wens19xx, Owner at Tong-Mee House, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear our valued guest dearskin,

You have given us a happy grin while reading your review! It is always nice when we give the best to our guests and they are happy with their stay!

Thank you for the review and the following us on the facebook page Mr. dearskin.

We really hope to welcome you back to our guest house very soon!

Best regards,

Tong Mee House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

+ Hostel is in a quiet side street, rooms are clean, a/c, owner even gave us a fan when we asked for it, small balcony, bathroom with more or less warm water, very friendly and helpful owner, all in all great value
- bed bug infestation, as soon as we turned the lights off an got into bed, the bugs crawled all over us and bit us wherever they could, no sleep possible, apart from the itchy bites you get, so at 10pm we had to go and look for another place to sleep, little plus - the owner returned us the money we'd already paid for two nights without the slightest fuss

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wens19xx, Owner at Tong-Mee House, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear our guest M M,

We are terribly sorry that your stayed got disturb from the unwanted bugs.we were awear of the situation We learnt that the bugs mostly came from the transportation by train.We were trying our best to fight with them at that moment as well until the mid 2012, we have found the product which would stop the eggs of the bugs from growing and until then we have no report of any bugs which we are very proud of our hard working on it.

We thank you for your time on writing the review for us.We would kindly accept the point that we could have done better for our guest house to be better for our future guests

Thank you once again,

Best regards,

Tong Mee House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Despite the amazingly friendly family who run the hotel, this does not compensate for the horrendous bed bug infestation that they have. Avoid if you want a rash and itch free holiday. Also very noisy and in close proximity to local waste management area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right are next to local waste management and noisy at night, or at least the night we s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truckstopblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wens19xx, Owner at Tong-Mee House, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Valued guest truckstopblues,
We thank you for your positive review on how friendly our family is during your stay with us yet, I have attract into 2 points as following

1. Bedbugs, It has been full one year we fought and tried so many ways to eliminate the bugs which we learnt they mostly have traveled from the train and has spread around Hua Hin area as well as down south of Thailand. Until the mid 2012, we have found the product which would stop the eggs of the bugs from growing and until then we have no report of any bugs which we are very proud of our hard working on it.

2. Local waste area, since August 2013 the local government has done the renovation on the road as well as the waste area to prevent the flood on the area,therefore,they are no longer waste area on the right hand side of the house ( which we are very blessed) and the road is up higher so that it is harder to flood

The 2 problems are now have been solved.We would like to welcome you back to experience the difference thus, our smile still the same :)

Thank you for your kind review and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon,

Best Regards,

Tong Mee House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.1 mi away
Dune Hua Hin
Dune Hua Hin
#42 of 136 in Hua Hin
81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Must Room Hua Hin 51
Must Room Hua Hin 51
#26 of 218 in Hua Hin
7 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
The Bocage
#48 of 218 in Hua Hin
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nantra Huahin
Nantra Huahin
#39 of 289 in Hua Hin
27 reviews
1.5 mi away
Feel@Home Huahin
Feel@Home Huahin
#95 of 218 in Hua Hin
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hua Hin Golf Villa
Hua Hin Golf Villa
#12 of 218 in Hua Hin
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tong-Mee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tong-Mee House

Property: Tong-Mee House
Address: 1 Soi Raumpown | Neabkehardt Rd., Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 289 B&Bs / Inns in Hua Hin
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run guest house in Hua Hin, providing safe ,clean, budget accommodation. Located in the centre of town with only a few minutes walk to the beach, and a wide variety of fantastic restaurants nearby, we provide an excellent base for your stay in Hua Hin. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing