We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guest house”
Review of Tong-Mee House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hua Hin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tong-Mee House
Ranked #34 of 301 Hua Hin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I stay here for two night and we enjoy our stay very much. The family that runs these place is very kind and helpful. They don't speak very good English but we manage to understand. The rooms are nice and clean. The hotel is very good located. We will definitely come back.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Vianey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wens19xx, Owner at Tong-Mee House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Vianey G,

We are smiling reading your review!Thank you so much for the compliment. As we are a family that runs the guest house by ourselves,we would like our guests to feel like they are at home and we are happy that you feel at ease staying with us at Tong Mee House!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Tong Mee House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Tong-Mee House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

First of all, I had to say, the people of Hua Hin are one of the nicest people I've seen. I stayed here last week on my birthday when I came to Thailand. The place is run by a very nice family, who were very accommodating to whatever inquiry I had regarding Hua Hin.

The room I had was in the 4th floor, a bit of a climb, but that's ok. The rooms are of decent size, but as I was traveling solo, that wasn't a problem. It was cleaned everyday, they put new towels and tissue, and complimentary water everyday. If I'm not mistaken, each room has a balcony. Unfortunately though, there's a construction in front of the house, I think they're fixing the sewage so sometimes it gets noisy at some times of the day, but if you're out and about, I don't think that would be a problem. Plus I was on the fourth floor so the sound isn't as big as in the first floor.

They don't offer food during my stay, but that wasn't a problem as there are a lot of choices in the area. 7-11 is just a minute away. In the afternoon, there's a food court beside 7-11 where I found one of the best tasting fried chicken. At night, the street beside 7-11 has a lot of food stalls where you can eat.

A 5-minute walk to Dechanuchit road and you'll see a lot of nice restaurants that offer different kinds of food. Cross Phetkasem road and you'll see the famous night market of Hua Hin where you can buy cheap goods and good food as well.

If you're on a budget, this place is definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ariel_dapito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wens19xx, Owner at Tong-Mee House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear our valued guest ariel_dapito,

I personally think it was our blessedness to have an opportunity to welcoming a nice guest like you to our guest house! we thank you for your positive aspect during your stay with us yet we would like to apologize on the noise due to the community's construction to build up the new sewage and drain system to prevent the flood into the community

the construction has finished on August2013 and now we got a new beautiful road in front of the guest house! We would like to welcome you back again to see how nice our road is now :)

We hope you see you again in the near future Mr. ariel_dapito.

Best Regards,

Tong Mee House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Tong Mee Guest House and were most pleased with our stay.
The owner, a delightful lady( we called her Mama ) was really delightful and a very nice person to know. Nothing seemed too much trouble for her.
The rooms were cleaned out every day, bed was made and fresh towels, again, every day.
Facilities were good, coffee/tea making, room air conditioned and TV. No charge to use the PC
but it did take a little time to "warm up " not a big issue really.
When we left,Mama,drove us to the station.
We stayed at Tong Mee when we left Bangkok and again for the last 8 days of our stay in Thailand - we were that impressed.
Definately we would recommend Tong Mee - very good value and most welcoming venue
PS:- It is within easy walking distance of the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROWAN55548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wens19xx, Owner at Tong-Mee House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear our valued guest ROWAN55548,

Your kind recommendation has given us an energy to keep up our hard work to ensure all of our guests enjoy their stay with us and willing to come back to visit us just like you Mr. Rowan .As we do believe the word of mouth is the best way to let everyone know about our guest house and come to experience it by their own-selves

Mama is very happy hearing her service has made your day :)

We hope to see you very soon again when you come back to Thailand please come visit us !

Best Regards,

Tong Mee house

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

This is the second time at Tong Mee House...it was great to be back. Much quieter than other guest houses located on the busy streets. Always clean and friendly, not alway the best english but they understand ok.

Room Tip: If you can afford it or you are traveling as a couple go for the room top room, its more expensive t...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lostinasia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wens19xx, Owner at Tong-Mee House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

It is nice to have you back once again,our guest Lostinasia123!

We have a cheerful feeling when seeing repeated guests still enjoy coming back to our hospitality. It reflects our hard work has reached your satisfaction!

Mama has now improved in her English skill ! In case you come back ,you would see her progress!

Thank you for your trust in staying with us

We hope to be at your service again in the near future Mr. Lostinasia123,

Best Regards,

Tong Mee House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We made a reservation for a room in the morning, because we would arrive late and than it is nice if you have a place to stay already. We arrived there at 9 pm, exactly the time we told the lady and surprisingly she told us that there where no rooms left. She made absolutely no effort to offer us an alternative and lied about a phone call saying that our taxi driver had canceled our reservation 15 minutes ago, which was nonsense. Very disappointing.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wens19xx, Owner at Tong-Mee House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear guest Angela J,

First of all we do apologize for not able to let you experience the stay in our house as the rooms were completely full due to the peak season of Christmas. I do admit that the language barrier could lead to the misunderstanding ,in this case,between the taxi driver ,us as the host and you as our guests. I was pretty certain that the misunderstanding point would be in that last 15 minutes because normally we would always keep the room for the guests who booked with us first .For that, many time as well we lost the room as no one show up when they said they would. for this experience, we have learnt to make sure the operator could understand completely the message that the guests send to us on the phone before making any decision.

Once again we do apologize for the inconvenient and hope to make it up to you the next time you come visit Hua Hin,

Best Regards,

Tong Mee House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Nice and cheap little guesthouse, close to the city center. You get an Air con room for 550 baths which is a bargain for Hua Hin. The house has a little terrace which is very pleasant. It's run by a family who is extremely friendly and welcoming. The grand mother even offered to give me a lift at 5:30 am so I could get my bus! Had a great time there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buzzlnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wens19xx, Owner at Tong-Mee House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear our guest buzzlnj,

We are glad that our service has reached your expectation.Our Tong Mee house takes care of our guests like a part of family so we just want to make sure everyone is safe and happy during the stay with us

Anytime when you come back to Hua Hin, Please come visit and say hello to us :)

Best Regards,

Tong Mee House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

stayed here a few times over the years, not by the beach, but its a really good value and close to a really nice evening food market tht does the best banana smoothie.
i personally thought this place was great, and the top floor room with rooftop area is well worth paying the extra few quid for.

May not seem at first to be in the most picturesque part of hua hin town, but the town is so easy to get around, and the beach only 5 mins walk, shops n market around the corner and the owner is very friendly

Room Tip: ask for the rooftop room
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dearskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wens19xx, Owner at Tong-Mee House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear our valued guest dearskin,

You have given us a happy grin while reading your review! It is always nice when we give the best to our guests and they are happy with their stay!

Thank you for the review and the following us on the facebook page Mr. dearskin.

We really hope to welcome you back to our guest house very soon!

Best regards,

Tong Mee House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.1 mi away
Dune Hua Hin
Dune Hua Hin
#52 of 141 in Hua Hin
83 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nantra Huahin
Nantra Huahin
#30 of 301 in Hua Hin
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hua Hin Golf Villa
Hua Hin Golf Villa
#12 of 231 in Hua Hin
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
The Bocage
#69 of 231 in Hua Hin
2 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baan Da Laar Boutique Hua Hin
1.1 mi away
Art De Sea Hua Hin
Art De Sea Hua Hin
#7 of 301 in Hua Hin
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tong-Mee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tong-Mee House

Address: 1 Soi Raumpown | Neabkehardt Rd., Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 301 B&Bs / Inns in Hua Hin
Price Range: £15 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run guest house in Hua Hin, providing safe ,clean, budget accommodation. Located in the centre of town with only a few minutes walk to the beach, and a wide variety of fantastic restaurants nearby, we provide an excellent base for your stay in Hua Hin. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing