We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option in Hua Hin”
Review of Tong-Mee House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hua Hin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tong-Mee House
Ranked #27 of 293 Hua Hin B&B and Inns
Hamburg
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good option in Hua Hin”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Comfortable rooms with AC and hot water shower for 550 THB. It felt more like a hotel than a hostel/guesthouse. Actually there is nothing special to tell, but if you are searching a cheap and nice place to stay, this is it. But be aware of the reception trying to sell you bustickets or seats in a minivan. If you organize it on your own, you probably do not pay for extra luggage seats if the bus is not full or pay a lot of commission. They escorted us to the bus and had a strange discussion with the driver about the price for us etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wens19xx, Manager at Tong-Mee House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear kellz123,
We are delight to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at our Tong Mee House.Thus, we do apologize for the misunderstanding at the end of your trip When you would like to continue your journey to Kanjana Buri.First of all,the Tong Mee House team, do not get any commission from the minivan company which the station is at the Market Village. As you were our valued guests,we delightly offered helping calling and booking the 2 seats for you( 220B./person goes directly to the minivan company).The public van normally leaves when there are fully completed passengers(11 seats) Due to your huge backpacks,the company need to charge you extra one seat.We kindly informed you they would charge you for one extra seat and the total price.You were agree,therefor the minivan came with 3 empty spaces for you and the extra luggages.The bus driver would like to charge you more that was why we discussed in front of you as we didnot want you to pay more.We are sorry that our kind hospitality didnot meet your satisfaction.We only did our best to help our guest to feel happy during the stay so that the guests will come back to our house again.

We do appreciate your precious time for your review on our guest house and we hope to be welcoming you back to Hua Hin in the near future.

Best Regards,

Tong Mee House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    15
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
12
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seville, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We spent 3 nights in this hotel in our way from Koh Tao to Bangkok and enjoyed it very much. The price is really accurate, the rooms are very clean and look renovated, beds are very comfortable and have AC. The 2 women that run the hotel are really friendly and helpful. AC in this city is very recommended as it is really hot! Rooms are cleaned everyday and towels changed.
Just one thing: when we were there we understood that they do not have any room with double bed (just 2 single beds in ecah of them) but double check it!
Regarding the city, we just use it to visit Kuriburi Park as the beach is not very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wens19xx, Manager at Tong-Mee House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear kellz123
We hope you enjoyed your stay with us in Hua Hin and we do apologize for the misunderstanding at the end due to bus tickets to your Kanjana Buri trip.First of all we do not get any commission from the bus company which the station is at Market Village and the public bus normally leaves when the bus filled up with completed passengers(11 seats). We offered helping you calling and booking,as you were our guests for your convenient,so that the bus leaves exact space for you.(220B./person goes directly to bus company)Due to your huge backpacks,the company needed to charge you extra 1seat for your luggages.We also informed you that they would charge you extra seat for your luggages,therefore,you found 3 emthy seats for you.The driver even wanted to charge more that was why we had a discussion in front of you before you leave. We are sorry that our kind service dind't make you satisfy as we were only trying to help.
We thank you for your precious time on your review and we hope you to welcome you back to our guest house again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Tong Mee House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zottegem, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Tong Mee was our first night in Thailand. We are a family with two children. We arrived in Bankok int airport en took a bus straight to Hua Hin. We had booked the terrace room on the fifth floor which is very nice because of the terrace. The room was comfortable for two, a bit too small for four people, but it was manageable. We did not regret our choice. Tong Mee is situated in the old Soi's of the fishing village Huan Hin once was. The family that runs the guest House are very friendly en helpfull people. Very nice experience, we stayed two nights before moving on to Ko Tao.

Room Tip: If a couple, do take the terrace top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wens19xx, Owner at Tong-Mee House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Peter S,

We are delighted to receive your kind comments. Due to the limitation of the land,our 7 rooms of Tong Mee House would perfectly fit for 2 persons yet, we would still offer you the service of extra mattress in case of family traveling together to keep your satisfaction going smoothly throughout your stay with us

We really hope to see you and the 2 lovely sons again soon in Hua Hin!
Best Regards,

Tong mee House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stay here for two night and we enjoy our stay very much. The family that runs these place is very kind and helpful. They don't speak very good English but we manage to understand. The rooms are nice and clean. The hotel is very good located. We will definitely come back.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Vianey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wens19xx, Owner at Tong-Mee House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Vianey G,

We are smiling reading your review!Thank you so much for the compliment. As we are a family that runs the guest house by ourselves,we would like our guests to feel like they are at home and we are happy that you feel at ease staying with us at Tong Mee House!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Tong Mee House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

First of all, I had to say, the people of Hua Hin are one of the nicest people I've seen. I stayed here last week on my birthday when I came to Thailand. The place is run by a very nice family, who were very accommodating to whatever inquiry I had regarding Hua Hin.

The room I had was in the 4th floor, a bit of a climb, but that's ok. The rooms are of decent size, but as I was traveling solo, that wasn't a problem. It was cleaned everyday, they put new towels and tissue, and complimentary water everyday. If I'm not mistaken, each room has a balcony. Unfortunately though, there's a construction in front of the house, I think they're fixing the sewage so sometimes it gets noisy at some times of the day, but if you're out and about, I don't think that would be a problem. Plus I was on the fourth floor so the sound isn't as big as in the first floor.

They don't offer food during my stay, but that wasn't a problem as there are a lot of choices in the area. 7-11 is just a minute away. In the afternoon, there's a food court beside 7-11 where I found one of the best tasting fried chicken. At night, the street beside 7-11 has a lot of food stalls where you can eat.

A 5-minute walk to Dechanuchit road and you'll see a lot of nice restaurants that offer different kinds of food. Cross Phetkasem road and you'll see the famous night market of Hua Hin where you can buy cheap goods and good food as well.

If you're on a budget, this place is definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ariel_dapito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wens19xx, Owner at Tong-Mee House, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear our valued guest ariel_dapito,

I personally think it was our blessedness to have an opportunity to welcoming a nice guest like you to our guest house! we thank you for your positive aspect during your stay with us yet we would like to apologize on the noise due to the community's construction to build up the new sewage and drain system to prevent the flood into the community

the construction has finished on August2013 and now we got a new beautiful road in front of the guest house! We would like to welcome you back again to see how nice our road is now :)

We hope you see you again in the near future Mr. ariel_dapito.

Best Regards,

Tong Mee House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Tong Mee Guest House and were most pleased with our stay.
The owner, a delightful lady( we called her Mama ) was really delightful and a very nice person to know. Nothing seemed too much trouble for her.
The rooms were cleaned out every day, bed was made and fresh towels, again, every day.
Facilities were good, coffee/tea making, room air conditioned and TV. No charge to use the PC
but it did take a little time to "warm up " not a big issue really.
When we left,Mama,drove us to the station.
We stayed at Tong Mee when we left Bangkok and again for the last 8 days of our stay in Thailand - we were that impressed.
Definately we would recommend Tong Mee - very good value and most welcoming venue
PS:- It is within easy walking distance of the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROWAN55548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wens19xx, Owner at Tong-Mee House, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear our valued guest ROWAN55548,

Your kind recommendation has given us an energy to keep up our hard work to ensure all of our guests enjoy their stay with us and willing to come back to visit us just like you Mr. Rowan .As we do believe the word of mouth is the best way to let everyone know about our guest house and come to experience it by their own-selves

Mama is very happy hearing her service has made your day :)

We hope to see you very soon again when you come back to Thailand please come visit us !

Best Regards,

Tong Mee house
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

This is the second time at Tong Mee House...it was great to be back. Much quieter than other guest houses located on the busy streets. Always clean and friendly, not alway the best english but they understand ok.

Room Tip: If you can afford it or you are traveling as a couple go for the room top room, its more expensive t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lostinasia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wens19xx, Owner at Tong-Mee House, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
It is nice to have you back once again,our guest Lostinasia123!

We have a cheerful feeling when seeing repeated guests still enjoy coming back to our hospitality. It reflects our hard work has reached your satisfaction!

Mama has now improved in her English skill ! In case you come back ,you would see her progress!

Thank you for your trust in staying with us

We hope to be at your service again in the near future Mr. Lostinasia123,

Best Regards,

Tong Mee House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.1 mi away
Dune Hua Hin
Dune Hua Hin
#54 of 136 in Hua Hin
81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nantra Huahin
Nantra Huahin
#25 of 293 in Hua Hin
29 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
The Bocage
#54 of 218 in Hua Hin
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bedtime Hua Hin
Bedtime Hua Hin
#49 of 218 in Hua Hin
1 reviews
1.5 mi away
Feel@Home Huahin
Feel@Home Huahin
#96 of 218 in Hua Hin
2 reviews
0.4 mi away
Must Room Hua Hin 51
Must Room Hua Hin 51
#26 of 218 in Hua Hin
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tong-Mee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tong-Mee House

Property: Tong-Mee House
Address: 1 Soi Raumpown | Neabkehardt Rd., Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 293 B&Bs / Inns in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run guest house in Hua Hin, providing safe ,clean, budget accommodation. Located in the centre of town with only a few minutes walk to the beach, and a wide variety of fantastic restaurants nearby, we provide an excellent base for your stay in Hua Hin. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing