We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Second stay as good as the first”
other travellers have booked this property
View on Entering the villa to Garden and Bar/dinning to on the right side
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View on Entering the villa to Garden and Bar/dinning to on the right side
View from Cottage one Pool, Gazebo and Bar/ Dinning Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
View on Entering the villa to Garden and Bar/dinning to on the right side
View from Cottage one
Pool, Gazebo and Bar/ Dinning Area
Tropical Garden
Cocktail Bar and Dining
Thai Kitchen leading to Bar and Outside Dinning
Wok Burners and BBQ ideal for Thai cooking lessons
Outside Kitchen
Bar/Dinning
Cottage 1 and 2
Cottage 3 and 4
View from Garden to Villa
View From Bedroom 4 to Cocktail Bar and Dining
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Twin Cottage Bedroom
Massage Area
Veiw from Massage Area to Bar and Stage
Veiw from Bar to Massage Area / Stage/ Childrens Play Area
Veiw from Bar to Cottage 1 and 2
Veiw from Stage to Main Villa
Garden by Night
Main Villa at Night
North Beach Khao Kalok
View Along South Beach to Khao Kalok
Thai Fishing Boats At Khao Kalok
Childrens day at Khao Kalok
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 19
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Phil C
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Second stay as good as the first”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

After visiting Mountain Beach Retreat last year, we couldn't wait to go back. So we booked again for this year.
It was just as good as last year, so peaceful and relaxing. Ian and Teresa have added a Thai kitchen which is fantastic. Although we only cooked one time. We tended to eat at Whon's shack just five minutes walk away. Her Thai green curry is worth the travel alone. I had it 7 days out of 11. Where else can you get one for 80 pence.
The pool is perfect, nice depth and size complete with under water seating to sit and relax on.
We hire scooters from Mr woo and explored the local area and coast which was good fun. The roads are empty so no danger.
I would recommend MBR to anyone who wants a peaceful holiday. if you want disco's etc this is not the place for you.
Will we go again? absolutely, just need to figure out when.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France-Ch...
Beijing
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An outstanding place for a large group”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of 3 families with children and this place could not have been better. There was a lot of space for all and it felt like being in our own private resort, with its own bar, dance floor, and disco lights!
One of the highlights has to be the kitchen and how wonderfully well equipped it was. The pool is massive, but there is also a fair bit of garden space and a lovely covered patio area.
It must be said that having a car is a must as it is pretty remote and quite a distance from the beach. Another downside was that we felt that the chlorine level in the pool was off as it was turning our hair green.
The owners were very helpful as well. I can recommend this property wholeheartedly.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The set up makes ideal for large groups
Liked least: The fact you must have a car+ Chlorine levels in the pool
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pictures don't do it justice!”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

As a large family party of 10 adults and five children this certainly ticks all boxes for its facilities, value and space. Set in a real Thai village with golf buggies ( available for rental) to take the wee short journey to beach ( a must for the small children) and the excellent restaurants and bars. Your local
Tesco store is only a short drive away or like us taxi there and back ( if not hiring vehicle) . It provides all away from home facilities so no having to drag the iron, hairdryer or music system with you. Washing machine and dryer plus dishwashers make for an easy time so to enjoy your relaxation a lot more. The BBQ is ideal for a large group and the bar area provides a great setting to enjoy your day around the pool ( if you choose). This is a real treasure find and nothing is a problem for owners Ian and Theresa who will assist you if needed throughout your stay. We certainly enjoyed every moment of our stay ( 2 weeks) and the ambiance of this place is like a breath of fresh air.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaAllso...
Andover, Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memories are made of this!!”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The clue really is in the name of this beautiful rental. Retreat, and boy was it. We rented in a group of 6 adults and 4 children and there was ample room both as a group and if you needed a little space as well.

Fully air conditioned which is a must, with everything you will need to make your holiday perfect.. you name it the villa has it. The rental is spotlessly clean and well maintained including the pool and gardens which were tended 3 times over our 2 week stay. We made full use of the washer and dryer, so you really don't need to take hoards of clothes and ample towels for both around the pool and for showering.

The bar area for us was the highlight... containing a huge fridge with chilled glasses, a water butt and the all important aussie style BBQ it really was the central point for socialising, eating and watching the kids enjoy the pool. With C.D player and connection for your ipod/ipad it became our holiday hub!!

The owners Ian and Teresa are what really sets this rental apart though. They welcome you as friends and they are always at the end of the phone solving any problems you may have, offering advice on where to eat, taxi's, temples to visit and arranging masseuse to come in - you name it they can sort. When we had an issue with a lock on one of the doors, Ian was round sorting it within 1/2 hour. Thank-you guys for making us all so welcome.

This rental is not for you if you want the bright city lights. you are very much in a rural area, about 10 mins from the beautiful Khao Kalok beach and 30 mins taxi ride from Hua Hin. It is untouched by avert tourism and i loved it! i feel like i got to see the real thailand, shopped in food markets where your average thai buys there veg and meat and really sampled the true essence of what Thailand has to offer.

We went to Hua Hin quite a few times and ate in there fantastic resturants and visited night market. It is 30 mins away but will only cost roughly £15 to get there and back. The taxi service Ian and Theresa recommend is great and they will either wait for you or come back at a pre arranged time. Wanlop the driver was friendly, helpful and spoke excellent english.

We were also able to visit the local temple which was beautiful, take a boat trip to Monkey Island, ride Elephants at Safari Park (overpriced in my opinion) which the kids loved, golf trips, waterpark which was ridiculously cheap and our absolute favourite Cable kite surfing which is an absolute must.

You have the option to hire a golf buggy which i recommend you take advantage of. We went out most days in it and you are within buggy distance of the beach, a small tesco and local produce market. The massive Tesco is just a short 10 minute journey away in Taxi. At this point i will recommend Wan Stop as we named her. She has a very small shop/shack around the corner which you can get icecreams, drinks from but she does the most amazing and dirt cheap food, some of the best we had... all cooked fresh and delivered to the door. A huge meal for 10 cost just £13 and was fantastic. Her husband will also taxi you to and from the big Tesco should you need to go.

I really cannot recommend this place enough... You will have a fantastic holiday and make some amazing memories of this slice of unspoilt Thailand.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: can't narrow it down to one thing... loved everything
Liked least: having to go home
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil C
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place and location to stay.”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Mountain Beach Retreat is in a quiet location in a Thai Village. There is a wonderful aura about the place, noticable from the moment you arrive.
Ian and Teresa have thought of everything, when you arrive there are tea/ coffeemaking facilities in every room (including the tea, coffee and powder milk) so you can have a hot drink while unpacking.
The rooms are spacious with a choice of double or single beds. All have onsuit shower and toilets. The beds are comfortable (they are firm but thats how we like them) Each room has a ceiling fan and air conditioning.
The outside area is superb, there is a lovely pool with 6 seats in it so you can sit and read or have a snack & drink. The rest of the outside area has a bar area, gas BBQ and plenty of tables and chairs to sit at. There are also 4 ceiling fans to keep you cool. I have to say we never used the inside lounge, we sat outside all the time. But the lounge is well furnished will TV etc and of course air con.
Eating wise there is a small shop 150mtrs away. Wone sells most things you will want. Beer, food, icecream etc. She also cooks wonderful Thai food. Her Thai Green Curry is to die for and only 40 Bhat (0.80p) She will cook most things you want and will get things in for you. She even sells the fuel for your scooter if you hire one.
Location wise, if you are after disco's etc, this is not the place for you. If you want to chill out and get about either in a car or on a scooter then you will not find better. You can watch the cows walking past each morning and evening. You are a 10 minute scooter ride to the beach road, with a selection of bars, restaurants and massage shops. All are reasonably priced in comparison to Hua Hin, there they cater for the tourists and charge accordingly.
Ian and Teresa are two wonderful people, they will do anything for you to make sure you have an enjoyable time. If there are any hic ups they are dealt with immediately. They will help you with hiring cars, scooters or organise taxi's or anything else you want. We cannot speak highly enough of them. There is also free wifi, so you can keep in touch with back home and the news if you want.
Would I recommend Mountain Beach Retreat to a friend, absolutely.
Would I go back again, absolutely, we are trying to working out when we can go back already.
All I can say is, book it, you really will not regret it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enjoyed20...
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Brilliant Time”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I would absolutely recommend staying at The Mountain Beach Retreat. The relaxed atmosphere ,affordability and luxury of the villa is second to none . I am certainly better for having experienced this holiday. You are surrounded by fishing villages local. restaurants and the freshest seafood around especially squid thousands. The town is situated about 35 min to busy Hua Hin but Mr Lyn gets you there in style for a very reasonable price and can even wait for very little extra.
I recommend a motorbike hire with Mr Moo . Good service and reliable bikes no rip off.
Wan has a great local bar up the road that comes to life at night with a great bunch of blokes and ladies and Wan cooks great homemade foods right then and there . Thanks Wan very tasty Pak A Pow.
Best seafood restaurant really without a doubt is Udom . Wow what can I say Fresh and delicious cooked how you want it Thai and large selection of seafood with ocean front view.
Saving the best bit for last. Thank you Ian and Theresa for allowing us to have such a fantastic holiday . For all the guidance and help such as organising our motorbikes and villa massages really your help was invaluable . Thanks Ian really I had such great conversation with you and really genuine laughs also , it was really a pleasure getting to spend time together and especially that day at your place.
Anyway if you want a relaxing break away from heaps of tourists and experience some tranquility with the ones you love Look No Further it's all waiting. Stayed 27 Feb unti 14 March 2014
Robert and Bualai Perth WA

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Ians place in December last year. Had a really good stay.

Having booked via e-mail, Ian was happy to answer any questions that I had before my stay. He also arranged a transfer for me from Bangkok at a reasonable rate.

Upon arrival I was overwhelmed how nice the place was. It was huge and well equipped with everything you could need on your stay. Ian and his wife came over to tell us about the local area, they were extremely friendly and were always on hand (by telephone) if we had any problems or if we needed help booking taxis etc.

We hired out mopeds for our stay and explored the local area and restaurants. Would recommend doing this, I found it to be very safe (just watch out for the sleeping dogs in the road!).

We also visited the nearby waterfall, again would recommend doing this also. Very good day out.

The only downfall (or advantage) is its a bit far out from the center of Hua Hin. We travelled into the town every day by taxi, it took around 30 minutes but the taxi was relatively cheap and the driver was happy to wait for us.

Overall, a great stay at a great place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The outdoor garden / pool area.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing