We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Cape Nidhra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Nidhra Hotel
Ranked #8 of 144 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We've just returned from a wonderful 10 night stay in a deluxe sky pool suite. The hotel is beautifully finished and they certainly haven't scrimped on the details or the costs!
The rooms are huge and have enormous bathrooms with the best rain shower I've ever seen.
Breakfast is delicious with an extensive choice and even a dedicated fruit bar where you can pick and choose exactly what you want, all of which was fresh and delicious.
Room service and the restaurant were equally good although there was a disappointing lack of Thai food on the evening menu for some unknown reason - this was a great shame.
The Spa is also well worth visiting and not too expensive compared to other hotels in the area,
The weekly barbeque was fantastic and one evening each week they show a Hollywood Classic (Roman Holiday in our case) on a big screen by the pool which we watched from inflatable armchairs while floating around the pool eating popcorn and drinking cocktails - what a novel idea and great fun.
The only real complaint was the selfish practice of some of our European cousins who insist on raiding the pool at goodness knows what hour of the early morning in order to bag their sunbeds before duly disappearing for several hours. Grrrrrrrrr!!!!
Unfortunately with the hotel being built on an east/west plot none of the rooms that I saw actually get any direct sunshine during the day which is a shame if you just want to laze around by your own pool for a day.
Great for couples who are looking for total peace and relaxation in a beautiful hotel where you'll be looked after by lovely, friendly staff.
Throughly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rikontour2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Nidhra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

The Cape Nidhra Hotel, Hua Hin, is pleased that, after your 10 day stay with us, you thoroughly recommend a stay with us. Your positive informative feedback should be useful to other readers planning a stay in Hua Hin. Your appreciative mention of our lovely and friendly staff has been noted for on passing to them. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed four nights as part of a large family group. The first thing that strikes you is a modern, innovative, distinctive design. As the hotel is on a very long thin site leading to the beach it has no sea views but compensates with stunning rooms and small pools on the balconies. Our room was very spacious, with a huge, comfortable bed. It was a little shady as it looked out on to the next property but tranquil and interesting. If anything the designer has got carried away and at times the design overwhelmed the practicality (hanging space, clothes hooks, lighting). The hotel is conveniently right in the centre of Hua Hin, although you would never know if you didn't venture as far as the street. So bustle and tranquility are side by side.
The public area is the joy of this place. A beautiful, sunny, airy restaurant and bar area faces the sun and the beach. Breakfast and dinner were long and lingering. The breakfast buffet was extensive, enticing and without fault while the dinner menu was more standard and wouldn't bear too many visits. The pool, garden and beach areas are paradise.
Service was top notch and nothing too much to ask. Our family wedding celebration was somewhat spoilt by totally unexpected rain (in the dry season!) but the whole hotel rallied to move everything inside and start again, very successfully. They even upgraded the bride and groom to the best suite for two days and this was jaw-droppingly luxurious.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Nidhra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

The Cape Nidhra Hotel, Hua Hin, thanks you for sharing your review, with us and our readers, of your wedding party’s stay with us. Your informative review should be helpful to other readers planning an unforgettable wedding in Hua Hin. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This hotel is probebly the best hotel I ever had. The rooms are big with a kingsize bed, rainshower,a great bathtub and a private pool on your balcony or garden. Breakfast is fantastic and also dinner à la carte is awsome. In the garden there is a nice pool with sunbeds and its only a stair (5 steps) away from the beach.
Location is also great. Nearby shoppingmalls, nightmarkets and delicious restaurants. You can do it all by foot.
Staff is enormous friendly and help you were they can.
It was the second time we went here but not the last time!

Room Tip: The moonlight suite has a extra place for sunbathing or watching the stars on the rooftop
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MellaertsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Nidhra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

The Cape Nidhra Hotel, Hua Hin, is pleased to know that your 2nd stay with us met your expectations and you will be staying with us again in the future. Your appreciative mention of our enormously attentive, friendly, and helpful staff has been noted and shared with them, while your snapshot review should be useful to other readers planning a stay in Hua Hin. Thank you for your positive endorsement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have just returned from Thailand and a stay at Cape Nidhra. We chose this hotel because we liked the idea of having our own pool rather than using the main hotel pool. Unfortunately, the water was so cold that I didn't make it in past my ankles, so it was a waste of money. Also, the garden room we were in was in shade for most of the day, so there was little opportunity to sunbathe. The only "upside" is that these factors probably kept away noisy neighbours - one day we could hear children outside making enough noise to waken the dead, not something I go on holiday to listen to. I agree with the previous reviewer that the "garden" area needed improvement, it was just a patch of earth with some bushes. We also had a drain close to the day bed which seemed to be a home for mosquitoes.

Apart from this, my other thoughts are as follows:-

The reception area was minimalist in the extreme. While I don't necessarily go in for chandeliers, marble floors and acres of velvet curtains, I do like a bit of a wow factor and this was lacking in the entrance / reception area to the hotel.

The room was large, as was the bathroom which had a double sink, separate shower with rain shower and hand-held shower, which I like. However, I did not like the lack of a toilet door, an odd feature. The room was comfortable but somewhat bland, with large expanses of white wall. There were two wardrobes but not enough shelf / drawer storage for me. The lighting was a complete mystery to us, we were constantly trying switches to work out what they turned on / off (mildly irritating).

Breakfast was very good and the hot selection was changed each day. There was a good fresh fruit station outside and some of the fruit was cut "to order" - even though the hotel was quite busy, we never had to wait more than a couple of minutes. The pastries were absolutely delicious and were responsible for several pounds being added to our waistlines! Service at breakfast was patchy: some mornings you would finish eating and the dish would be whipped away immediately, other mornings we were piling up a collection of dirty dishes. We were generally offered a second cup of coffee but they never remembered to bring more milk.

The mosquitoes were a real pain and, whilst they are obviously outside the hotel's control, I thought the hotel could have done more to cope. One plug-in repellent for a room and bathroom of that size was totally inadequate so we went out and bought spray, coils, spray-on repellent for legs and arms and (my favourite) a tennis racquet shaped zapper which gives out small electric shocks and kills the little blighters. This had to be used before sitting on the day bed, due to the drain previously mentioned.

I am not sure whether I liked the location of the hotel as it was more or less equidistant between the centre of the town (which for us was in the vicinity of the Hilton) and the new shopping mall (Market Village) so you had a walk either way, although only 5 to 10 mins maximum. The main road in front of the hotel was a nightmare to cross and could do with some pedestrian lights to halt the almost continuous stream of cars and bikes. There was a 7-11 and a wine shop immediately opposite and a bigger supermarket just along from them which we found quite handy.

The main pool area was very busy while we were there, probably because guests wanted to get a bit of sun and be able to use a pool with water at a more pleasant temperature! The loungers were a bit too crammed in for my liking and were generally occupied (or at least had a towel on them) quite early - I doubt we would have got any by the time we had finished breakfast. I am not a beach fan but my husband went there on several occasions to get a bit of sun and said it was nice and clean.

We stayed at the Centara a couple of years ago in a pool room and, whilst the room was considerably smaller, we should in hindsight have gone back there (but we like to try new places rather than always choose the same location). I can see why people rave about Cape Nidhra but it just wasn't for me. The things that irritated or didn't meet my expectations may on the whole be small but, added up, they meant a less-than-satisfactory stay. The acid test is, would I return to the hotel and the answer would be a resounding no.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller, Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Nidhra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

The Cape Nidhra Hotel, Hua Hin, thanks you for your detailed observations which have been shared with our team in our continuing effort to provide enjoyable, pleasant, and satisfactory stays for our guests. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations in certain areas but we were pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and fresh bakery items. We appreciate your feedback, thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

As part of our trip to Thailand we had 8 nights at the cape nidhra. Beautiful hotel, amazing pool side area. our room spacious clean, lovely little pool on the terrace and a roof top sun deck, and an amazing bathroom. We ate at the restaurant a few times, good range of food for breakfast, good lunch and evening meal selection. All staff from the security guards to the manager courteous and friendly. Simply perfect!! If we were to return to hua hin, the this would be our only choice of hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Russ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Nidhra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

The Cape Nidhra Hotel, Hua Hin, appreciates your sharing your review, after your 8 night stay, with us and our readers. Our courteous and friendly staff has been informed of your written appreciation. Your choice of our hotel as the ‘perfect’ place to stay when in Hua Hin should be helpful to other readers planning a trip to the area. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We went to Cape Nidhra the last week of October 2013. We booked their hotel car to come pick us up in Bangkok (which is a 3 hr. drive) back to Hua Hin. The driver was courteous, had bottled water waiting for us and we had wi-fi capabilities back to the resort. I would highly recommend that you book their car instead of taking a taxi or the train. The cost is approximately $125.00 and worth it.

The staff was gracious and attentive. While we were there, we had a really bad rain storm during the night. The next morning while we were leaving our room, the ceiling started to leak from the storm. We told the front desk on our way out. When returned that afternoon, everything was taken care of and clean. We stayed for 10 days and had one of the best vacations of our life. I would highly recommend staying here.

Just a couple of tips:

Laundry services - up the street is a laundry service. We had all of our laundry done about day 6 of our trip for the two of us for around $20.00. It took 24 hrs and it was folded nice and clean.

Take the resort car from the Bangkok airport.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montanacoffeelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Nidhra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

The Cape Nidhra Hotel, Hua Hin, thanks you for your informative review and positive endorsement of your recent 10 day stay with us. Our attentive and gracious staff has been informed of your appreciation. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another excellent stay with us. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Very nice little hotel. The staff were excellent and so was the food. Large modern comfortable rooms and a quite pool area. Away from the built up area but still very close to ameneties.
...Rob & Suz (U.K.)

Room Tip: The plunge pools face north and perhaps would benefit from heating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Nidhra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

The Cape Nidhra Hotel, Hua Hin, thanks you for your brief review and looks forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
1.7 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#3 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,354 reviews
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#6 of 144 in Hua Hin
2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
4.1 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
1.6 mi away
Hua Hin Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Nidhra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Nidhra Hotel

Address: 97/2 Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#8 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range: £143 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Nidhra Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Nidhra offers its guests the best accommodation in this sought after location. Characterized by its impeccable service and its elegant accommodation, the hotel has been described as “one of the most distinctive in Hua Hin”. Perched on the shores of Hua Hin’s breathtaking beach, the hotel offers easy access to the seaside town’s wonderful street markets, shopping centres, restaurants, pubs and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cape Nidhra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Nidhra, Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing