We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite hotel!”
Review of The Donkey's Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Donkey's Rest
Ranked #171 of 300 Hua Hin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is probably my favourite hotel / guest house that I've ever stayed at in Thailand. It really is great value for money compared to other places I stayed in Hua Hin (before we checked in here I had previously paid more money to stay in a semi-clean room with paper thin walls which was about 1/4 the size across the road to a pub that blared music until well past 3am).

The owners Andy and Doung are just fantastic and really made our stay at Donkeys all the more enjoyable. They are both very knowledgeable about the city and have fantastic senses of humour. Their 2 kids (8 and 4) were playing with the other kids staying there and the families with children all seemed to be enjoying their stays too.

My room was extremely clean (and tidied daily), aircon and hot water worked great, fantastic pool and gymnasium and a short walk to the beach or a short taxi / scooter ride to the center of town and night market.

The other guests all seemed to be having a great time as well - in the 3 nights we were there we got to know most of them quite well - the bar there is a very sociable place.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone and will be certain to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bzylber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for The Donkey's Rest
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

On arrival you think you are away from everything until you get your bearings and find out it's five minutes walk from the beach, five minutes by Tuk Tuk to the night market and the bustling town centre. Andy and his wife were very helpful in whatever our needs were, great rooms and fantastic pool area, serving authentic great value for money food. Reccomend this Hotel and looking forward to re-visiting some day.

Room Tip: All rooms, and we had five, were very spacious,clean with air con, fridge and free bottled water.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Excellent value for money hotel. We had the family room which had plenty of space, included a table and chairs and fridge and kettle and a view of the pool. Well located on the ten baht bus route which connects the area to the town. Laundry facilities available.

The owners are very friendly and we really enjoyed our time there.

Thank you.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The owners are relax and ready to help if you ask. Very big rooms, very clean, one of the cheapest and most convenient place we founded in Hua Hin to sleep for families. As a comparison, we paid double the price in Ayutthaya, for similar guesthouse. If you're easy going, this place will definitely feets you. In the other side, beaches have nothing special at all, very nice things to do around. A true paradise for golfers (which have nothing to do with the guesthouse...)

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Antoine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in the Donkey's Rest in Hua Hin after we came from Chiang Mai. Andy, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. If you have any questions he'll br happy to answer them. The place is clean and has free wifi on all the floors. There's a swimming pool nearby and the stunning beach is on 10 minutes walking distance. The place is a short tuk tuk ride away from the city center. It's good value for money for travellers that want a clean, decent place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonnieFlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The owners at this hotel were super friendly and helpful.
Swimming pool just 30 seconds walk from the back of the hotel, with great opening hours.
Many local restaurants within 10 minutes walk, for example thai, indian, pizza etc
Super-reasonable prices at the in-room mini-bar and bar onsite
Comfortable beds
Yes did hear trains occasionally but did not normally wake us
In fact the small road the hotel is located on has very little traffic noise
Convenient ride 5 minutes to the station with a tuk tuk transfer
Just 10 minutes walk from the beach with very straightforward way of getting there

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I was very satisfied with my previous stays at Donkeys Rest that i returned there a few weeks ago.Again the owners made me and my girlfriend welcome and as always were very helpful.Andy took me fishing which ive not done before and i really enjoyed. Doung took my girlfriend to show her the markets.Since staying in Donkeys Rest i have met some very friendly and interesting people that also return to stay every time they come to Hua Hin. As always the rooms were clean and the hotel has everything you need which i included in my previous review.I would recommend the hotel for everyone, from single travellers to families with children. As it is only a small hotel, it is family run and has a homely, friendly atmosphere. Im planning on returning there in a couple of months.

Room Tip: Book as soon as you can as the rooms tend to sell very quick.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephenlloyd1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
4.2 mi away
Huahin Loft Hotel
Huahin Loft Hotel
#117 of 141 in Hua Hin
344 reviews
3.5 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 141 in Hua Hin
1,295 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pearl@Huahin
Pearl@Huahin
#33 of 300 in Hua Hin
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Laksasubha Hua Hin
Laksasubha Hua Hin
#1 of 229 in Hua Hin
500 reviews
4.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
0.8 mi away
Anantara Hua Hin Resort
Anantara Hua Hin Resort
#9 of 141 in Hua Hin
2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donkey's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donkey's Rest

Address: soi 94 Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 300 B&Bs / Inns in Hua Hin
Price Range: £14 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Donkey's Rest 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 Room hotel with a mini mart, Hair Salon and Laundry all in this complex. Also a large swimming pool and gym are on the grounds and Available for guest to use. Only 500 meters from the beach and a short walk to The Hua Hin Market Village Shopping centre. A 100 baht tuc tuc ride (5 minutes ) into the main part of town and also a short trip to the new floating market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Donkey's Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing