We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of The Donkey's Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Donkey's Rest
Ranked #170 of 301 Hua Hin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Had a great time at the Donkeys Rest, I stayed there for just over 4 weeks. Doung and Andy really looked after me they are excellent hosts. The hotel is within walking distance of the town. Laundry service, motorbike rental also available and football nights Saturday and Sunday. They organise great days out if you so require. I stayed there alone but is a good family place also. Great swimming pool at the hotel. Will be staying there again when I go back within the next couple of months.................Washing machine.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julianwright2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for The Donkey's Rest
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Great holiday best place in Thailand .true friendship with owners excellent hosts will visit again all the amenities you need and the place very clean staff do a excellent job .
Stayed there for 17 days without a single problem enjoyed everyone's company

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Deano19631967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Donkey's Rest was just the perfect holiday break at tranquil Hua Hin.While all the action is within walking distance,the guest house is nicely situated on a quiet soi.7/11 is right next door and so are hosts of restaurants,bike rental stores and laundries.The train track runs right in front but it does not hamper the peaceful sleep that I got there.The beach is just 5 minutes walk.There are shopping malls and a food market nearby as well.
The room was spacious with loads of natural light and with a super comfy bed.Bathroom was spotlessly clean and the room was cleaned daily.Water bottle and complimentary coffee came with the room.Wifi was free and fast and the hot shower was just right.
The owner Andy was very helpful,although his wife's attitude could have been better.Great value for money,clean,comfortable guesthouse in Hua Hin.You can trust Andy to get honest taxi and tour deals(something rarely found).Highly recommended and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svetlanabaghawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Soi 94 in Hua Hin is definably more my speed, its close to the action but not in the action so you can happily sleep in quiet and walk around without being constantly hassled. Further the nearby amenities (restaurants, beach etc) are a step up from the centre of town and not priced for tourists coming out of the big hotels.

For the mid to budget end traveller this spot ticks all the boxes. Location, Quality, Cost and most of all the staff and guests make it stand out. Very friendly place with a nice communal area where you'll get to play pool, drink a beer and meet the other guests.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lap804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is probably my favourite hotel / guest house that I've ever stayed at in Thailand. It really is great value for money compared to other places I stayed in Hua Hin (before we checked in here I had previously paid more money to stay in a semi-clean room with paper thin walls which was about 1/4 the size across the road to a pub that blared music until well past 3am).

The owners Andy and Doung are just fantastic and really made our stay at Donkeys all the more enjoyable. They are both very knowledgeable about the city and have fantastic senses of humour. Their 2 kids (8 and 4) were playing with the other kids staying there and the families with children all seemed to be enjoying their stays too.

My room was extremely clean (and tidied daily), aircon and hot water worked great, fantastic pool and gymnasium and a short walk to the beach or a short taxi / scooter ride to the center of town and night market.

The other guests all seemed to be having a great time as well - in the 3 nights we were there we got to know most of them quite well - the bar there is a very sociable place.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone and will be certain to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bzylber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

On arrival you think you are away from everything until you get your bearings and find out it's five minutes walk from the beach, five minutes by Tuk Tuk to the night market and the bustling town centre. Andy and his wife were very helpful in whatever our needs were, great rooms and fantastic pool area, serving authentic great value for money food. Reccomend this Hotel and looking forward to re-visiting some day.

Room Tip: All rooms, and we had five, were very spacious,clean with air con, fridge and free bottled water.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Excellent value for money hotel. We had the family room which had plenty of space, included a table and chairs and fridge and kettle and a view of the pool. Well located on the ten baht bus route which connects the area to the town. Laundry facilities available.

The owners are very friendly and we really enjoyed our time there.

Thank you.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
4.2 mi away
Huahin Loft Hotel
Huahin Loft Hotel
#117 of 141 in Hua Hin
344 reviews
3.5 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 141 in Hua Hin
1,297 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pearl@Huahin
Pearl@Huahin
#33 of 301 in Hua Hin
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Laksasubha Hua Hin
Laksasubha Hua Hin
#1 of 231 in Hua Hin
502 reviews
4.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
0.8 mi away
Anantara Hua Hin Resort
Anantara Hua Hin Resort
#9 of 141 in Hua Hin
2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donkey's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donkey's Rest

Address: soi 94 Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 301 B&Bs / Inns in Hua Hin
Price Range: £14 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Donkey's Rest 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 Room hotel with a mini mart, Hair Salon and Laundry all in this complex. Also a large swimming pool and gym are on the grounds and Available for guest to use. Only 500 meters from the beach and a short walk to The Hua Hin Market Village Shopping centre. A 100 baht tuc tuc ride (5 minutes ) into the main part of town and also a short trip to the new floating market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Donkey's Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing