We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably best seafood tasted in Thailand so far!”
Review of ChaoLay Seafood

ChaoLay Seafood
Ranked #76 of 818 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: There are a number of good restaurants along the wharf area. Saeng Thai is a very good option. We tried Chaolay Seafood as it was recommended by one of the local residents of Hua Hin. It was an excellent recommendation. Before climbing the steps into the main restaurant you pass a large selection of fresh fish. Once on the pier, there is an army of staff to seat and serve you. My colleague and I ordered a scallop appetizer, a whole fish main course and a large fried rice side dish. The food was very good and the pricing reasonable, less than $30 for all of the food and 4 beers. Chaolay is worth a visit.
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Service could have been bit better but food was yum! Best seafood we have tasted and for the huge portions it was amazing value! Would highly recommend. Would say it is by far the busiest restaurant on the pier which is a good indicator!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank ghostmktg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 162 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2016

We had a table at the end of the pier and were hoping for good things from this widely recommended restaurant. It proved worse than all of the other local seafood restaurants. Service was appalling; we were asked no less than 5 times to confirm our order. The food itself was extremely average and the lobster overcooked and, therefore, ruined. First and last visit.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank D6091UMrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Chao Lay is attractive to look at - it has a huge deck/jetty out over the edge of the sea so it comes with a nice view.
And downstairs, there is a big well staffed kitchen and some big tanks which show that their seafood is all fresh because they have it all live on the premises.
There is an extensive seafood menu - most of it translated into German and English so they are clearly catering for tourists.
We were not impressed. We had a fried squid as a starter whilst having drinks and it was lovely. It went downhill after that - the prawn cakes stuffed with pork were ordinary. I think the fellow forgot the seasoning. Veggies were fine but the baked fish in tamarind sauce was disappointing. Nicely cooked fish but little taste and we are still looking for the tamarind taste!
Bit on the expensive side. - garlic bread twice the cost of elsewhere and their corkage for wine at Bht300 is more than most other places in Hua Hin.
And the staff are very indifferent - not a smile or a welcome in sight.
We classed this as our very poor Hua Hin eating experience.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BenYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

My wife and I went to this restaurant several years back when staying in HuaHin, this time we stayed at the Evason around 35minutes away and decided to get a taxi over for the afternoon.
We made our way to the restaurant hoping it was as good as we remember.
We ordered pineapple rice (it's a must) a plate of morning glory (watch out for the hidden chilli) and a fried pomfret fish.
Well the rice was as we remembered, to die for, the fish was also yummy.
The outside skin was crispy and the flesh white and tasty, just like it should be( my mouth is watering just writing the review) and the morning glory was nice and spicy. The restaurant is a little more expensive as you are on the pier and the location is good but it's worth the extra.
Some things in life you shouldn't go back to as in never meets your expectations, all I can say about this one is, I'm glad we went back.
The restaurant is worth the flight from the UK just for the rice alone.
Go on give it a try.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We had Tom Yam Goong and Pad Thai. The Tom Yam was served in a hot pot, tasted good but was nothing special. The Pad Thai was also average. A large Chan was served without one of those devices that keep it cool.
I guess it gets good ratings mainly because of the location above the water and the nice atmosphere in the evening. So if you are willing to pay extra for a sea breeze go to the ChaoLay, otherwise pick one of the great restaurants in the vicinity.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed ChaoLay Seafood also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to ChaoLay Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.