We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of La Mer

La Mer
Ranked #258 of 624 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Fermoy, Ireland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We Were expecting big things for our visit to La Mer from reports we had read and heard. The place is big but the tables leave a lot to be desired with plastic chairs as seating. The staff were very busy trying to look after all the people waiting to be served as well as serving those who had already been served. They were not very friendly or helpful but then they were trying to look after a lot of people. The people behind the counter were no help to them and in fact we saw one young girl being verbally abused at one stage which we found to be upsetting. We had ordered our choice of dishes at that stage otherwise we would have left the restaurant. The fish is sold by weight but is still great value for money. The servings are large and very tasty and we all agreed it was some of the best fish we had tasted while in Thailand. The atmosphere was not enjoyable we thought and for this reason we would not go back to La Mer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    38
    19
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Terrible service, poor quality food, dusty and full of begging cats.”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We were served tough chicken, a gin and tonic with no ice and tonic that was so flat I reckon it was days old. We had cats fighting under our table. We had two sets of hawkers come to our table which was strange in such an isolated spot. We saw our waitress being horribly shouted at by someone behind the bar for asking for ice for my drink. The decor is very dated and dusty which made the whole place feel unclean. The view is lovely but it is wasted on this dive of a place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Monsoon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Over rated-overview, overpriced”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Third visit in four years and my last! Third time lucky - not here. Ever the optimist one more try, still bad service indifferent quality and dishes arriving in random manner, if you are lucky they may be the ones you ordered! As an annual visitor to Hua Hin I have found that restaurants this poor are not there next season!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubeck, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai Resataurant”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Had a fabulous dinner there. Place is very big, mainly frequented by locals and thai tourists. If you don't mind plastic chairs and just OK service but crave good seafood, this is the right place for a good dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“THIS IS A GREAT RESTAURANT!”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This was a wonderful experience. The food was very good and the location is something special being right on the water.

Very few Ex-pats visit this restaurant because they simply don't know about it.Most people eating here were Thai's so it's a popular place to eat for locals.

Prices are great and food quality is excellent. Give it a go, it's well worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Celebrate2Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Mer also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to La Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing