We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Art”

Baan Sillapin Artists Village
Book In Advance
More Info
US$93.49*
and up
Baan Sillapin Artists Village and 3D Museum in Hua Hin
Ranked #12 of 94 things to do in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chonburi, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Real Art”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Also known as Hua Hin Artists Village, I saw the site on my way to Black Mountain GC one day and decided to come back with my wife. We have been going to HH for many years but had never heard of it. Actually, it was quite a treat to have quite a few local artists showing (and working) in one place. There is even one small "shop" featuring paintings by children. It is worthwhile to get away from the shops in town that sell all that terrible "art".

There is food and drink and there are also lessons given at certain times and days. There is no charge but you may want to make a small donation to the organization.

HHAV needs more promotion to get the word out that it is there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    73
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love this place. Cosy and inspiring!!”
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Perfect place to relax enjoying the arts, seeing ancient collections and even doing a paint of your own.

Staff here are very nice and friendly. You definitely can enjoy the arts with no one following you.

Also if you come with kids, they will love this place. Just leave them with teacher Nang, she has many choices of small arts jobs for your kids in her workshop. The cost will calculate according to the materials and times you spent there.

I love it and all my friends love it!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyAngkana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Real Art all in one location”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I stumbled across this village on the way out of Hua Hin. It is made up of quirky rooms and studios where different artists show their art in different settings. A few artists have turned their area into studios where they producing their art. It was wonderful wondering in and out of the different sections. Also cooling from the heat of the sun since most of the area is covered with trees. I have been back twice since that first time and I have not come away without a great find. Well worth a trip if you are looking at doing something different from hitting the beaches.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Doesn't look like much until you get in, the village is a small sprawl (doesn't make much sense I know - you'll get what I mean if you go) with a whole range of different artists studios where you can view an array of different styles and mediums. A real pleasure to wander around and as I'm no art critic or fan that's saying something.

For those with young kids in tow there are art classes that can keep them occupied painting and making dolls.

Great little place.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wotchit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Authentic artwork in lovely setting”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

After all the souvenir junk one sees around Hua Hin, it was really refreshing to go to the Artist Village and see true art. The village is a lovely spot, shaded by trees, and a labyrinth of one artist shop after another. Lots of paintings, some sculpture, clothing and jewelry, masks, and some antiques for sale sprinkled here and there. Many of the artists were at work while we were there - so lovely to see them create their work. Huge price range - from a few baht for a post-card size water color to thousands for big pieces. There is a nice workshop for kids too. They also have a little cafe (we didn't stop to eat so can't comment on food). A quick drive from Hua Hin town.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ymiabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baan Sillapin Artists Village also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Baan Sillapin Artists Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing