We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money and excellent workout”
Review of Palapon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hua Hin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palapon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

As a couple who needed to improve our fitness, we decided to challenge ourselves by spending a week at Camp Palapon since we read so many good reviews on TA.
We booked the intensive program - which clearly lives up to its name! The hardest part of the program for us was the early morning, when we had to run (or walk for me as I'm not able to run) through the lovely village of Takiab (in Hua Hin) to climb impressive stairs leading to a temple, and going back running or walking to the camp. Really exhausting but what a way to start the day! Would never have done it on our own... Then during the rest of the day, Klaus got us to do tailored circuit training & abdominal training, and at the end of day came the much dreaded and loved Muay Thai boxing with lovely Thai trainers. All in all, it was pretty tiring but not as exhausting as it sounds since we got plenty of rest to recover. Our third day was the worst - as it had been for everyone in the camp apparently - as our muscles were so sore we thought we could not train anymore. The program is well balanced to give you a (slightly) less hard day when your body feels exhausted and the next day, you can definitely feel your muscles being stronger. What a thrill!
The experience was overall very good and now - one week later - we can definitely feel that our health got better and that our muscles grew stronger. And more importantly, we have more energy!
Truth is, while leaving the camp, we regretted not to have booked a second week to keep on enjoying the positive effects of the camp...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gteix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

8 weeks at Palapon fitness and Muay Thai transformed how I looked, felt and how I moved. Being 52 carrying too much weight, not exercising enough I felt weak and unhappy. When I started the first two weeks were hard, but Klaus is a very good trainer, he keeps you honest with yourself and as the days went by I found very quickly strength and fitness returning. I cannot quite describe how grateful I am to the Palapon team and how glad I am that I made the decision to book into this wonderful fitness camp. The Thai trainers are professional, friendly and awesome fighters, Klaus is very knowledgeable on training and eating for weight loss and fitness, the food is an amazing mix of Thai and Western, lots of healthy protein and vegetables. On weekends the members of the camp went out for dinner, local markets, Thai fight nights, we even got to Songkran, ie we had fun. The camp is like an adult holiday camp, so basic, but comfortable, reminded me of school camps. There are people of all ages, all nationality the common factor everyone is supportive. I have been home now for three weeks, joined a gym that has Crossfit, kickboxing and running so I am continuing, something I could only have imagined 3 months ago. The thing is I came back feeling so fantastic, looking so great it was impossible not to continue in my life. My advice.. Just do it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisy418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I had decided last year that I would take some time off to get myself fit and loose the excess kgs that I have carried for too long. I started researching boot camps, weight loss retreats and the like in Aus, the US and europe and was a bit disappointed at the cost of the programs and what was offered. I finally looked in asia and found the palapon website, the program that was outlined sounded like it was what I was looking for and the price was reasonable.
I booked for 12 weeks starting in feb and flew into thailand ready to make the changes that were needed. Klaus set a realistic starting point and then scheduled increases to keep the improvements going. It allowed me to progress and not feel like I was going backwards. All of the people who were staying there while I was at the camp were focused on their goals and also had fun with it which made it fun for me as well.
I lost 26kgs of fat and gained 5+kgs of muscle. It was a great result that has me returning for another month to keep up my fitness.
Anyone who is looking for a real fitness and weight loss program that is something you can put into action when you return home this is the place

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Matt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I had put on a bit of excess weight over the last five years and decided it was time to do something about it. I began researching weight loss camps and was surprised by the extortionate prices and particularly in Thailand, the emphasis on juicing practices rather than fitness and clean eating. When I came across Palapon it was a huge relief as it provided excellent value for money as well as supported training regimes targeted to your fitness level. It sounded almost to good to be true when compared to other weight loss camps so I booked it straight away for 6 weeks.
I arrived at Palapon slightly apprehensive as to what to expect but was immediately made to feel welcome by Valerie and Klaus and not to mention the rest of the camp. The environment is very unique as you can really switch off from life's distractions and focus on yourself 100%. Everyone during my stay was very approachable and friendly and when you are absorbed in a world of fitness for 6 weeks, it helps to have people around you with the same goal that can encourage and keep you going!
I was very happy with the accommodation as it was clean and cleaned regularly and the shared toilet and shower did not bother me. It is basic but then again when you look at the price, I was far happier for the money to be spent in areas that were going to make a real difference to me moving forwards like the meals and the fitness itself which I felt it definitely was.
The fitness regime was something I was slightly worried about as I had not done any exercise for a good couple of years but I need not have worried! Klaus assesses your individual fitness and then prepares a personalised programme based on that so you are always pushed but in a realistic way! It was really exciting to see yourself getting stronger over the weeks and notice a visible difference and Klaus was always on hand to offer support and motivation and most importantly, the classes are fun! The Muay Thai boxing was fantastic! Having never done any martial arts before, I was really impressed with the trainers and again, how fun they made it! It is a great way to stay in shape and I am already looking for Muay Thai classes in London to keep things going at home.

My time at Palapon has been a significant milestone for me and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to get out of a rut or just improve there fitness. I ended up loosing a stone and a half (around 10 kilos) at camp and have since gone on to loose more weight showing that the methods you learn at Palapon really can be applied at home! More importantly, I feel happier, more confident and excited about the future and what I can achieve and that to me is priceless! Thank you klaus, Valerie and the rest of the team! I can't wait to return to the Palapon family in the coming weeks to continue on my weight loss journey!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Dingers84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

There were 2 reason I chose Palapon. First was the cost, second was the program. Cost: one whole month, plus airfare from California to Thailand, for less than a week at a spa in the USA. The program: Basic, daily exercise, designed for you to start at your fitness level, but cranked up to keep you challenged, and then good healthy food. I did a lot of research, I did not want group therapy, or any popular juice diet. I needed basic training. I was a fat, lazy, 65 year old man, and I drank too much beer. I certainly got what I needed at Palapon.

You can read all the other good reviews about the camp, and what Klaus and Valerie are doing. The staff are great, it is all very supportive, and even fun. I do not need to add anything to that. What I will tell you is that this program works, it really works. To state the obvious, you will only get out of it what you put into it, but this is the real deal. If you do what Klaus sets out for you, then you will improve your overall fitness, increase your flexibility, and lose weight; period. I lost 10 kilos, 23 pounds, in one month. But that is not the important thing. I am fitter, healthier, more flexible, more energetic. I also learned everything I need to do to keep it going, and I do not need to buy any expensive equipment to achieve that.

This is the real deal. There is no magic bullet. There is no secret. This works. I cannot thank Palapon enough for what I was able to achieve, but like Klaus said when I was leaving, it was me who did the work. If you have the determination, this is what you need. I can not say enough about Camp Palapon, they will help you get where you want to be.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Klaus and Valerie have tailored an amazing, healthy program for diet and exercise. The food was nutritious, with realistic amounts of what we needed to be eating. With Klaus's training exercises, he could assess the individual's needs and cater to each person accordingly. When I arrived, I was massively overweight, with a poor diet and had poor fitness levels. After 6 weeks, I had lost 10 kilos of fat, I could walk 7 kilometres a day, do 1 and a half hours of aerobic exercises and half an hour of Thai Boxing. I've had a weight problem for a long time, but my stay at Camp Palapon was the first time I have genuinely lost a decent amount of weight and gained aerobic fitness.

For anyone out there who wants to lose weight and gain fitness and confidence, I would seriously recommend Camp Palapon, where there is a no thrills attitude to health and fitness. A BIG thank you to Valerie and Klaus for helping restore my confidence and self esteem. If you are thinking about doing something likes this, do yourself a huge favour and book a trip to Camp Palapon, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I researched so many camps and had high expectations from Camp Palapon after reading the previous reviews. And I wasn't disappointed! Everything about the camp exceeded my expectations. Klaus and Valerie have created a very special environment in which to get fit and lose weight in a simple and honest way - eat well and exercise. Ee-am ensures your bungalow is clean and Da, Noi and Joo provide superb massages to ease your aches and pains. The food is of a high quality and the support from other camp members really inspires you. I loved the daily hike and the Muy Thai sessions and both the trainers Koh and Meaw are fantastic. I am keeping up with Muy Thai! Each camp member is encouraged to be the best they can be and to strive to improve. I was a little nervous on my own at first but the camp has such a close bond that it is impossible to not feel part of "the family". I love all that Klaus and Valerie represent - inspirational fitness level and intelligent conversation. Don't be worried about the Thai shower and lack of en suite - the simplicity works perfectly!
I almost want to eat cake so I have a reason to return!! Seriously, I would definitely return to maintain fitness in such a friendly environment that considers not only your physical health but spiritual and emotional too. Thank you Klaus and Valerie for your kindness when I was ill and for sharing with me a glimpse of how life can be.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.3 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#5 of 144 in Hua Hin
2,236 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Hua Hin
ibis Hua Hin
#23 of 144 in Hua Hin
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Long Beach Inn
Long Beach Inn
#24 of 144 in Hua Hin
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nice Residence Hotel Huahin
Nice Residence Hotel Huahin
#77 of 144 in Hua Hin
30 reviews
2.2 mi away
Laksasubha Hua Hin
Laksasubha Hua Hin
#1 of 232 in Hua Hin
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palapon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palapon

Address: 155/27 Soi moo Bann Nong Kae, Khao Takiab | Hua Don, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 232 Speciality Lodging in Hua Hin
Price Range: £2 - £2 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a superb setting between the famous Thai resorts of Hua Hin and the fabulous Takiab Beach. A natural landscape provide the perfect setting for a motivational and challenging Weight Loss/Holistic Fitness Retreat for you to relish and test every mental and physical goal. The camp has a range of single and twin tropical bungalows set amongst coconut palms. A central social area has been designed with relaxation in mind after you day training. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing