We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Enjoyed our two meals here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hagi

Hagi
Ranked #24 of 601 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$100
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hagi Japanese Restaurant located on one of Hua Hin's busiest street corners affords nice views of the bustling Hua Hin nightlife. Established since more than 10 years in town, we welcome you to discover our traditional and modern Japanese cuisine! Join us to experience the art of Teppan-Yaki - live cooking and our wide selection of sushi & sashimi, every day from 5.00 P.M. To 11 p.m. and also now available every Saturday and Sunday for lunch from 12 noon onward. Our lounge is also perfect for a nice aperitif or some exquisite cocktails after dinner.
Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our two meals here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had two meals here and we enjoyed them both. It was also less expensive than Japanese restaurants in Australia. We particularly enjoyed the sashimi and the grilled mushrooms. Staff were very friendly and welcoming.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank oliverAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara Hua Hin H, Manager at Hagi, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear OliverAustralia,

Thank you for your comments regarding our Hagi, Japanese restaurant!
We do appreciate that you have enjoyed our food, especially our sashimi and grilled mushrooms.

Be ensured that your very kind comments are much appreciated and will be relayed to our team members.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

With our reiterated thanks and looking forward to be again of service to you in the future, we remain,

Sincerely yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    63
    22
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I've been to Hua Hin twice and ate at Hagi twice eat time - it's so good. We are heading back in November and as soon as we booked the holiday we started talking about the great meal we will have in Hagi. The last time we were there we had these large tray like tapas meals. what a great way to try loads of different things. I'm really surprised at some of the reviews - I think a couple of them are purely for effect on the reviewers part. What I would say is, try it out for yourself. Amazing!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vickyping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara Hua Hin H, Manager at Hagi, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Vickypingi,

Thank you for all your positive comments regarding our Hagi Japanese restaurant!

Be ensured that your very kind comments will be relayed to our team members in kitchen and in service.

We are looking forward seeing you again in November, maybe this time for a Teppanyaki experience or simply for our delicious “A la carte” selection.

With our reiterated thanks and looking forward to be again of service to you in the future, we remain.

Sincerely yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A great night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We visited this restaurant as a group of four and had pre booked the Tepanyaki. We had a great night and thoroughly enjoyed the entertainment provided by our chef. The food, from the miso soup, the seafood, rice, steak and dessert were all very well cooked and presented. We also enjoyed a few cocktails. This was not our cheapest meal in Hua Hin but we still considered it good value for money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara Hua Hin H, Manager at Hagi, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Arls1,

Thank you for your comments regarding our Hagi, Japanese restaurant!
We do appreciate that you have enjoyed our outlet, our food, as well as the skills of our Teppanyaki Chef!

Be ensured that your very kind comments are much appreciated and will be relayed to our team members.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

With our reiterated thanks and looking forward to be again of service to you in the future, we remain,

Sincerely yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tepanyaki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Visited here on a recommendation, well worth it, fabulous food and service at very reasonablem prices...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank wingchunsifu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara Hua Hin H, Manager at Hagi, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Wingchunsifu,

Thank you for all your positive comments regarding our Hagi, Japanese restaurant!

Be ensured that your very kind comments will be relayed to our team members in kitchen and in service.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

With our reiterated thanks and looking forward to be again of service to you in the future, we remain,

Sincerely yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awful food - great service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

The food was really, really disappointing. The gyoza was cool, soggy and greasy and the slow cooked beef was fatty and repeated for hours afterwards. The price was high for probably the worst Japanese food I have ever eaten. Avoid unless the chef has changed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keith-N14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara Hua Hin H, Manager at Hagi, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Keith N14,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about our Hagi Japanese restaurant!

We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your dining experience at our restaurant.

We were surprised about the mentioned food issues, as on the evening itself you did not share any feedback with us.
Be ensured that our Chef would have been happy to discuss directly with you on that evening, about our recipes for “Gyoza” and the “Slow cooked beef”, as both of these dishes were prepared as per our usual standards.
Nevertheless your comments concerning the quality of the beef and the temperature of food are well received and discussed with our Kitchen team.

If you allow us we would be happy to welcome you again for an excellent dining experience with authentic Japanese dishes and perfect service.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hagi also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Hagi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing