We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting there...”
Review of Amari Hua Hin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amari Hua Hin
Ranked #11 of 144 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We booked this hotel way in advance, we were looking to stay in the family suite but it was fully booked therefore the staff suggested to take the suite and add to extra beds. We arrived on the day of check in and the reception told me to wait 45 mins for the room wasnt ready and then 5 mins after, told me to wait 10 mins because the room was ready. When I arrived none of the 2 extra beds we requested were not ready and after many calls to the reception and house keeping, the staff informed me that the hotel was fully booked therefore my 2 year old would have to sleep in the sofa and my 15 year old son in a extra bed they "managed" to get me.

We agreed, as there was no other option and the staff promised me that on the next day, the first available extra bed was going to be mine. Nobody seemed to remember this "promise" the following day and after 30 mins and 3 calls to reception at 8pm they still didnt have an answer if I was going to get the extra bed. Finally we got an actual single bed from another room, so until today I dont know why that could not have been done since the first day.

I must say that the room is very nice, its a new hotel so you would expect everything to be in order. We had a view of the pool but I didnt let my baby go on the balcony as the design of it has a big gap were even an adult's heads can fit under it. Again called downstairs to get it fix and they put a railing at the bottom and another one on the side, which still was very dangerous when you have a toddler trying to climb in those railings like a stair. In our bedroom we also had a noise with the aircon, and we called and the technician came, he tried to fix it but with no luck. We continued the rest of our stay sleeping with this annoying sound the whole night.

The room service was very nice and good price for value, the food was also ok, specially the desserts. I was impressed with the selection of the breakfast but we had to queue every morning as everything was full. No idea who designs a hotel which doesnt have the space to accommodate the same amount of people that are in the rooms, in the breakfast area. One day we even had to go to have breakfast in the ballroom, and even though they said the food was the same, it wasnt. There were still many things not available in the ballroom area which made us do a few trips all the the way to the restaurant just to get it.

The pool area is very nice, and the water was always clean and warm. The staff were friendly but sometimes you had to go to search for them if you needed something cleared from the table.

We chose Amari because there was going to be a beach party for Songkran, so we though it would be the perfect opportunity to be away from the madness in the city and have a more quiet but still fun songkran celebration. We arrived to the party around 4:30pm, my kids played a bit, and then around 7 they went back to the room. We continue the party and around 9pm and 6,000 baht spent in their party, the police arrived and closed the whole thing down, because someone next door didnt like the kind of music they were playing.

We didnt received any compensation on behalf of the hotel, not even after we spoke with the general manager on the next day, basically, thats life and we do not know what to say. The whole experience was very poor: The way that the hotel didnt cover its basis when organizing something especially in Songkran, The way anyone got a compensation for the money spent or not even a shuttle service to take us to a venue that allowed us to continue with our celebration. NOTHING.

In my opinion, I think the management of this hotel is very poor. The hotel has the quality to offer a better service but i think they fail to transmit that to the thai staff. They all looked better trained in "customer service" but at the same time, chasing their tail as not having a good leadership or guidance

I cant say its a terrible hotel, its actually quite nice, but these flaws are all very annoying when you still, go to a place, spend your money and dont get what you wanted, especially when you are travelling with your family and small children.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 555Bella555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario M, Manager at Amari Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Bella

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Amari Hua Hin. I am disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations.

At Amari, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

I hope that you will accept our apology and allow us the opportunity to show you this level of service is not indicative of the usual high standards at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

583 - 589 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

If you like a resort situation where you don't have to leave this is great. The beach is a distance away so you get there by hotel golf buggy. One of the best pools I've seen and a great choice of eating places. Room was great but looking out over an old building and after reading my itinerary was suppose to be a pool view room, a staff mistake. Plenty to see if you like to walk and the 10 baht bus stops out the front to get you everywhere.

Room Tip: Check your booking you might be put in the wrong type room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnP3840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The Amari Hua Hin is a difficult one to review because the resort itself is a fantastic experience, but it is massively let down by the poor attitude of its staff.

First the positives: It is a wonderful resort, with great food and good facilities, especially for groups traveling with children (as we were). As a previous reviewer mentions, the photos the hotel puts up online don't do the place justice; it is much nicer! The rooms were modern, spacious and new - we had four rooms but could easily have done with two. The pool areas were lovely, with great poolside food and drinks, and a very good deli adjacent as well. The beach is a buggy ride away, and disappeared during high tide, but still had nice private feel to it and had a fantastic restaurant servicing it. And all of this at pretty reasonable prices!

Now the negative: There was a night of much-disturbed sleep due to a rowdy wedding party at the resort during our stay (for which we got an apology and some compensation from the excellent manager dealing with us, Mr. Mario Mendis). But our biggest complaint was not that, but rather the poor service from the hotel staff, especially the front desk.

First of all, when we arrived, we were told that although our rooms were reserved under the same booking, we had been assigned rooms in different wings of the hotel. When we asked if we could be roomed closer together, there was no effort to even cursorily check if that could be done, and we were very sternly and unsmilingly told "no", almost in a take-it-or-leave-it tone. They even told us off, in not so many words, for arriving "so late". Well, sorry if we inconvenienced them, but 9pm on a Friday night is not "so late" by our standards.

On the night of the rowdiness, our phone calls to the front desk were met by quite unsympathetic shrugs of indifference. And once we went to the front desk to complain in the morning, they simply said for all our troubles they would allow us to check out at 2 instead of 12. Not even an apology. It was only after we insisted on seeing the manager was Mr. Mendis contacted, and he handled the situation, and our anger, very well.

The staff certainly need better training, in both service and smiles! Because right now they are badly letting down this great property.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zayd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario M, Manager at Amari Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Zayad K

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Amari Hua Hin. I am disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations.

At Amari Hua HIn, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

I hope that you will accept our apology and allow us the opportunity to show you this level of service is not indicative of the usual high standards at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and please do not hesitate to get in touch with us.

Yours sincerely,

Mario Mendis
Executive Assistant Manager i/c F&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

A couple of kilometers outside of Hua Hin down town. 150 THN with a songtail. Really good value for money: The hotel is better in real life than on the pictures. Best "pool food" we have been served at a swimming pool. Gym has very modern equipment. Friendly and helpfull staff. Room was cosy and well thought through in terms of furniture and lightning. Breakfast was good; could have been more vegetables. 5-10 mins walk to the beach. Hotel lounge bar at the beach.

Con: Only 2 devices allowed on the Wi-Fi at a time.

Room Tip: 1409 with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reisenissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario M, Manager at Amari Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Reisenissen

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Amari Hua Hin. It was indeed a pleasure to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind compliments have been passed on to my fellow Team Members. At Amari Hua Hin, special emphasis is placed on staff training and it is always rewarding when guests voice their appreciation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mario Mendis
Executive Assistant Manager i/c F&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We had a week at Amari HH just before Christmas... It was a great family retreat! Our kids are aged 6 and 3, and we paid a babysitter to spend time with them in the kids club... Such a blessing to have this option!!! We did an hour each morning and an hour each afternoon. We also opted to pay a babysitter one night and go into HH for a nice meal. Apart from that we barely left the resort, it had everything we needed!! Fantastic pool with deep and shallow ends for the kids. Great food by the pool (although you need to go to the bar to order, no one walking around taking orders... This was good and bad... No one pestering you while u are relaxing!!). Good quick room service and we could borrow kids DVDs from the kids club. It's a good four star resort, that is relatively new, so feels modern and clean. We walked to Cicada markets nearby or evening for great food and a pre-Christmas shopping. We squashed our family of four Into a standard room (all family rooms were booked out - would like to try them next time!!). We had a rollaway for our 6 year old and used the little day bed/couch for our youngest. Massages at a place across the road were cheap and good. The beach at this end of HH is nonexistent... But we knew that and chose this hotel based on pool, kids club and price... And it did not disappoint!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario M, Manager at Amari Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Becky B

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel, we are delighted that you and your family had a pleasant stay. We have some fantastic sized family deluxe rooms, not being the suites only. Actually all our deluxe hillside rooms come with built in sofa day beds, which can easily sleep two kids under 6. This is a favorite amongst families with young kids. However my personal favorite are the pool view rooms, the higher the floor the better. Cause the views are just too good to pass up.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and please do not hesitate to contact us, to ensure a warm welcome back

Regards

Mario Mendis
Executive Assistant Manager i/c Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

I was very enjoy my vaction with family.This is perfect place to stay in Hua Hin.Nice clean room nice bed nice pool nice bar by the sea nice breakfast nice cake.
Nothing to say how perfect it is.!!!!!!
May i invited who will come to Hua Hin please stay at Amari Hua Hin this is perfect place to stay with the best service!!!!

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank SuperBe11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario M, Manager at Amari Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Superbe11

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Amari Hua Hin. It was indeed a pleasure to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind compliments have been passed on to my fellow Team Members. At Amari, special emphasis is placed on staff training and it is always rewarding when guests voice their appreciation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mario Mendis
Executive Assistant Manager i/c F&B
Amari Hua Hin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

It is such a nice hotel and friendly, helpful staff. We spent our honeymoon 4 days and 3 nights in there with room overlooking the swimming pool and balcony. We checked in pretty late but they still kept the room and gave us the warm welcome and congratulated our honeymoon. The room was spacious and comfortable with honeymoon cake set up on table, traditional candies and flowers...

Nice bathroom and facilities. Breakfast was included and lots of choice with indoor and outdoor seats. I was sick on the 2nd day, but hotel staff helped us to contact with the hospital and took care us during the stay. One of female FO staff also gave my husband a ride from the hotel to my hospital as he missed the shuttle bus.We would like to say thank you to all the hotel staff and management team.

Hotel is not on the beach but they have the golf cars to serve guests and shuttle bus to the central everyday.

Anyway, I definitely will book this resort if I have chance come back Hua Hin.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jelly_yummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario M, Manager at Amari Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear JellyYummy


Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Amari Hua Hin. It is always a real pleasure to learn that our guests have enjoyed yet another stay with us.

Every company is the sum total of the individuals who work together to make it a success. At Amari Hua Hin, we are fortunate to count many fine individuals amongst our team, to which I shall enjoy passing on your kind compliments to. It is highly motivating for the Team Members to know that their efforts are appreciated, especially by such guests as yourself.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Amari Hua Hin once again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mario Mendis
Executive Assistant Manager i/c F&B
Amari Hua Hin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
1.5 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
3.3 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#3 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,316 reviews
1.7 mi away
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
#12 of 144 in Hua Hin
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#5 of 144 in Hua Hin
2,236 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Hua Hin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Hua Hin

Address: 117/74 Takiab Road | Nongkae, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 144 Hotels in Hua Hin
Price Range: £62 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Hua Hin 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the popular seaside town along the Gulf of Thailand, Amari Hua Hin is just two and a half hours drive from Bangkok. Offering contemporary accommodation in an idyllic garden setting, the resort sits adjacent to Khao Takiab beach and is just 10 minutes from Hua Hin’s downtown area, providing the perfect blend of convenience, style and comfort.Amari Hua Hin features 223 modern rooms ranging from superior rooms to expansive suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Amari Hotels, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amari Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing