We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good, but needs renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anantara Hua Hin Resort
Ranked #7 of 136 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“good, but needs renovation”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Great service, just needs renovation, the bathrooms are old, showers not up to standard. good butler service very helpful. The hotel has special rates for golf around, nearly 50 % for the course I wanted to try...

Room Tip: lagoon rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polyakov123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,477
    612
    148
    51
    17
See reviews for
683
1,023
66
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
v1grad
Level Contributor
189 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

My stay here on May 28 through May 31 could not have been better. This was my second visit here since my first stay back in 2011. What impressed me most and led to my return was the overall quality of the resort ideally situated next to a pristine stretch of almost uninhabited beach. I have never been in warmer beach water before and you can walk as many kilometers in the sand as you need to unwind and relax. Something about this beach is magical in the way I just feels so comfortable being around it. The front-end staff on check in and check out is top-notch although I thought that the staff in the restaurant could have been more on top of requests. Our room was an upgraded ocean view suite which was large and very well appointed. It had a large balcony for sea viewing, a great big soaker tub, mood lighting, snacks, drinks, and a lounger couch full of pillows.
I average over 100 nights a year in hotels and this is definitely one of the most memorable experiences I have ever had. I can't recommend this more highly if getting away to a luxurious beachfront tropical garden resort is your most important criteria.

Room Tip: Get a beach view room for that added special memory
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank habitact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Anantara Resort & Spa Hua Hin for a weekend in March 2013, using an airline voucher, and paid some premium to get the room nearest to the beach - about 1100 Baht more -- but it was worth the money. We had a great time. The hotel has a private beach with a lush garden and a swimming pool. We didn't use the pool, but it looked nice with a bar right by the poolside. The breakfast line was excellent, offering a wide variety of choices and unlimited supplies of foods. Although the egg lines were always long, and required a long queuing time, other lines were impressive. In-room lighting might be rather dimmed for people who really love to read. We love to read, so we went outside of the room instead, for reading.

Room Tip: Check the rates for the rooms nearest to the beach, if you like beachfront view. It's worth spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateSrirojpinyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Rooms are simple, lightly decorated, small LCD, simple bathroom but nicely designed, but the public area of the hotel is so nice, lots of trees with a nice pool and a pool-bar, beach is quite clean, very quiet and relaxing.
At the arrival it took us a bit of time checking in. but the waiting area was nice, so was not a big deal. check out was so fast.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morteza K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore,India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We were four of us (two couples) on a 3 day trip to Hua Hin staying in adjacent rooms in Anantara. We wanted to have some fruits.So we asked for two empty plates.We were dumbstruck when told by the front office that we had to pay Thai Baht 100++ (per plate).In all our travels worldwide, this is the first time that we are coming across such a ridiculous and unreasonable demand. Normally hotels of this class do not charge for empty plates. Though Anantara has thoughtfully provided in the room - a knife,a small wooden cutting board and two napkins- there was no plate to keep the cut fruit. Anantara management has to seriously calculate "profit" to be made by charging for a plate versus "loss" of goodwill incurred by refusing to give one free.

To create a feeling of more space in the room, the concept of an open bathroom (with sliding doors) is good. But the design of the open bathroom in Anantara is a bit flawed. The bath tub is quite deep (especially for old people),doors are not leak proof,location of sharp edged taps at tub entry is dangerous and the opening is too wide to prevent wetting of floor while taking a shower, standing. It is suggested that a light sliding shower curtain be provided at the opening.

The gym had 4 to 5 cycles, obviously for the use of guests.Though they were not in a readily usable condition (as tyres were deflated), we asked whether we could make use of the cycles.Pat came the reply - "Thai Baht 500++ per day per cycle".In a resort of this class one would expect free use of cycle (like free use of gym). A refundable deposit may be charged when a cycle is handed over to a guest.

Except for the above,Anantara resort is a good place to stay. A lovely green environment, a nice swimming pool, a good breakfast spread, a not too far off location (THB 150 by taxi, one way, to city center) and all other services pretty much up to the standard.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BussaBangalore_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis Z, General Manager at Anantara Hua Hin Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Khun Bussa Bangalore,

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the request to pay for plate and cutlery delivery to your room. It was unfortunate that a communication breakdown among our team created a negative feeling and experience for you and we do apologize for this.

Thank you for your comment regarding the bicycles and our team have begun checking these on a daily basis. In addition, the comments regarding our terrazzo bath tubs and we are considering alternative designs in the future.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future and remain at your disposal should you require any further service.

Best regards,
Francis Zimmerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We were quite apprehensive about going to Hua Hin, and having heard about the Anantara chain, we booked 2 rooms, but did not quite know what to expect either from the resort or the city. These fears were put to rest the moment we landed at Anantara and were received by a friendly and helpful staff and a refreshing drink! Loved our rooms which had an amazing view of the ocean, and the attention to detail that characterizes this resort. Every where one turns, there are surprises, with sculptures of myriad animals dotting the resort. Instantly fell in love with a Ganesha sitting under a white umbrella! The restaurants and pool have a great atmosphere and we found the food to be surprisingly affordable. On knowing about our daughter's 25th birthday, the management thoughtfully sent a delicious cake to mark the day.The only downside was the struggle with making the room mosquite free, but on the whole, we had a wonderful time, and this holiday will be a treasured memory.

Room Tip: Easily the best rooms in the resort are the sea facing ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annuL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

We have just got back from 7 nights at Anantara, Hui Hin. We had dne 4 days in Hong Kong and 4 days in Beijing so this hotel was the last place on our trip and the place we wanted to relax.
We upgraded to lagoon room on arrival (although original room we had booked through travel co was lovely). We upgraded because of the comments on this site but also the lagoon room gave us the opportunity to use a very quiet, (and we have been the only people there mostly) swimming pool which is an infinity pool that looks over a lovely lagoon. We also used the happy hour which came with the up grade, each evening between 4 & 5 we could drink anything from quite an extensive drinks menu and they put on a small buffet too which was nice. We didn't use the spa - far too expensive, had great hour long massage in town for 5 quid.
Breakfasts were really nice, couldn't fault the quality or quantity. We had the choice to pre book breakfast at one of the resturants which my husband did, he had some beautiful food, but i ate in the larger resturant buffet style which was very nice. All staff really nice, especially Kit who worked the lagoon bar, he was very friendly and helpful.
Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Henryruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
4.7 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
2.7 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,258 reviews
7.3 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#4 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,971 reviews
5.9 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
#13 of 136 in Hua Hin
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Hua Hin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Hua Hin Resort

Property: Anantara Hua Hin Resort
Address: 43 / 1 Phetkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Hua Hin Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#5 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#6 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Hua Hin Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 187-room Anantara Resort Hua Hin is a distinctive Thai village-style property located on the sunrise coast of the Gulf of Thailand, around 220 kms south of Bangkok. Hidden amidst 14 acres of luxuriantly landscaped gardens and lagoon pools, the picturesque resort enjoys a beachfront location at the quiet end of Hua Hin's long sandy beach for only 5 kms. from Hua Hin town centre. A three-meters high terracotta wall cleverly cocoons the resort from the hustle and bustle of town. As you make your way along the landscaped driveway, a sense of calm descends. The sense of arrival is heightened as you admire a decorative wall adorned with a parade of elephants. A cool breeze drifting in from the beach floats through the open-air Lobby with the strains of a melodic Thai tune lingering. Polished timber floors and Thai-style salas (pavilions) heighten the ambience of an intimate tropical hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travelbag, TravelUp, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anantara Hua Hin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Resort And Spa Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Anantara Resort Hua Hin
Anantara Hua Hin
Anantara Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing