We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a delightful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anantara Hua Hin Resort
Ranked #9 of 137 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a delightful stay”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We wanted to have a romantic escape for a few days with my wife and enjoyed a very nice stay at this gorgeous hotel; really loved the beautiful garden that provides a very peaceful atmosphere as well as the very nice and comfortable room.

We were really pleased with the friendliness and efficiency of the staff during our whole stay. You can tell that the management of this hotel is definitely on top of its game with high service standards whether at the reception, in the restaurants or the spa!

Thank you for the delightful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zobilamouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Anantara Hua Hin Resort, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Zoubilamouch,

What a great review!

I sincerely thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to read that you and your wife have enjoyed our resort, its unique garden and our Team's friendly and efficient service.

I do sincerely hope to welcome you in the very near future,

With warm regards,

Thomas Barguil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,542
    636
    151
    57
    20
See reviews for
728
1,057
71
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone Kent
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was our 6th visit in 7 years and really feels like coming home. I will write this review for someone who has never been here. This hotel is very Thai style, 2 storey buildings spread around beautiful gardens. The pool is a good size with lots of sun beds although personally we prefer to use the sun beds at the beach. You see more of life down there, like watching the fishermen, chatting to the massage ladies etc. Go to massage no 3 just down the beach, 300 baht for an hours massage. Okay, you don't get piped music, luxurious surroundings etc but the massage is good and you're helping the women, they need the money to survive. The restaurants all serve good quality food but are quite expensive compared to what you can get in town, which is why the hotel is very quiet in the evenings. The barbecue eat as much as you like evenings are good value if you can eat a lot, I can't. The beach is not the best and we would not go back in September as the water was very high a lot of the time which meant you could not walk along the beach much. We used to know most of the staff that worked here, apart from Alex and Neung on reception everyone else has moved on to other hotels. If you have never stayed here you will find the staff friendly and good at their job. We found that they have no interest in the guests. We have been used to spending evenings chatting, making friends and having a good time with the staff who have become very good friends, even though they now work elsewhere we spent a lot of time with them, even went to a wedding of one of them. It would have been nice if someone came and asked if we wanted a drink while we were near the beach. We had to go and get it ourselves. Don't get me wrong, I love this hotel but it has changed over the years, the fun has gone. We would still always stay at this hotel, its peaceful and so lovely. There is a taxi rank next door, so if you need to go anywhere just ask for Tingly, he is very reliable, speaks good English and used to work at the Anantara. Say Hi from Julie. Alex the parrot is a new addition and is a real character. It was amusing being woken in the morning by his squawks when he was where breakfast is served. He moves around the grounds during the day spending time by the pool or down at the Sai Thong near the beach. You will have a very relaxing time here but don't come here if you want nightlife, you will have to go into town for that.

Room Tip: We upgrade from the garden rooms to the premium garden rooms on the 1st floor with the bigger balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somchay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Anantara Hua Hin Resort, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Khun Somchai,

Greetings from the Anantara Hua Hin resort & Spa!

First of all, I would like to thank you for the time you took to write such a positive and detailled comment on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderfull to read that the Anantara is your "Home away from Home" and you find here a peaceful harmony.

Indeed some our team members have left over the years and some are new - I just joined myself 3 weeks ago this beautiful resort!- Rest assured that the team and I are working hard to continuously improve ourselves and your comments are much helpful and appreciated.

Many thanks again and I am looking very much forward to welcoming you soon at your Hua Hin residence!

With warm regards,

Thomas Barguil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dehradun, India
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Amazing property, huge area ,great breakfast ,spa was good,private beach and room on the beach,great pool,ambience was super relaxing,room facing the sea and bathroom was open giving us a view of sea from there also,clean room,basket umbrella all available in the room.overall a beautiful relaxing experience.

Room Tip: Take a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venudhingra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed 5 nites at this hotel during a winter getaway to Asia, for a rate of roughly $200/nite. We had a very pleasant experience and would stay again at this hotel. The storied Thai service was evident, and the low key nature of the resort and the town made it easy for us to decompress & relax.

Room
---
We had booked a Deluxe Garden View room but upon arrival decided to pay a small amount to upgrade to a Lagoon Room. We thought that the outdoor sofa & dining area on the (private) balcony would give us more livable space and effectively make the room feel bigger. Plus, the shuttle to town (complimentary for Lagoon Room guests) and expanded breakfast options for the Lagoon Rooms were attractive. This proved to a good choice, as we lingered over breakfast every morning on the balcony, and enjoyed reading & relaxing on the outdoor sofa. The sofa is plenty large, btw; my daughter (10 yo) and I could both stretch out on it at the same time,

The room had an airy feel, mostly due to the very high ceiling (14+ ft, I'm guessing) and the full height sliding glass doors to the deck. The furniture was dark teak and the TV+audio equipment was stored in a large armoire. The BA had a separate deep tub & shower and dual vanities, which came in handy for our family of 3.

Note that there isn't a wall separating the BA from the sleeping area. SIiding translucent windows serve as a partition from the BA to the rest of the room. Opening the windows make the BA completely open to the rest of the room; closing them provides privacy but it's not the same as walls. It worked well enough for us but honestly it's better suited for a couple than for a family.

Service
---
Service was consistently friendly. Breakfast was sometimes delivered a touch late but that's about it. The breakfast itself was one of the high points of our stay. We developed a ritual of putting our order in the night before and then eagerly awaiting its arrival in the morning. There was a good selection of American/European and Asian options (Chinese/Thai/Japanese) options. We had loads of dumplings, congee and noodles every morning. The food was very tasty and plentiful.

We took the shuttle into town at least twice every day. It was always punctual and the driver friendly.

My wife took a Thai cooking lesson at the resort, which included shopping for the ingredients at the market with the instructor (who is one of the hotel chefs). She greatly enjoyed this, it was a real highlight of our stay.

We had several meals at the beachside Thai restaurant, all very tasty. The service was friendly. Again, not the most punctual but not so slow that we called attention to it.

Hotel facilities
---
We spent load of time in the pool. It's a great pool, with shallow areas for little ones and 9-10 ft deep in the deep area. Clean yet without too much chlorine (which when overused burns our eyes a bit, so we're attuned to it). Plus, you can see the beach from the deep end, which makes for a beautiful view.

The gym is smallish but well-equipped. I used the treadmills on several occasions.

There are several restaurants on site, so there are a variety of dining options.

There are kayaks and jetskis available for rent right on the beach, so lots of opportunity for ocean-centric activities.

As mentioned before, there is a hotel shuttle into town. It's a quick 5-10 min ride, and well worth it. The town is very tourist friendly, with lots of eateries, shops, and massage shops. We spent the bulk of our afternoons in town, after a morning spent at the pool.

Location
---
The hotel is just north of town, flanked by others resorts on each side. Though it's not massive in terms of acreage it manages to feel private & intimate, due to the landscaping and the low-rise buildings. There is a more hotel-centric area in town, where there are 5, 6, 7 resorts in a row on the beach, so this is a little more removed in that regard. But the hotel shuttle gets you there & back easily and taxis are also always available.

Misc
---
We used the hotel car service for the ride from Bangkok Airport down to the hotel. It was easy to find the representative at the meeting point in BKK and we had no problems at all getting settled in for a fairly speedy 2 hour ride to the hotel.

Room Tip: Lagoon rooms have outdoor living space that make the room feel bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debjani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was our first visit to Thailand, we had a fabulous stay. The staff were all excellent and so genuinely helpful.
We had stayed for 2 nights in the Anantara Bangkok and travelled down by taxi- quite a long drive, so we arrived hot and tired to be greeted with cold drinks and towels by a calm and polite receptionist who accompanied us to our beautiful sea view rooms.
The hotel is not central,traveling in to the town cost between 100-150 baht - good fun in a Tuk-Tuk!
Eating in the hotel is expensive, not unusual in my experience, compared to eating in town- we could eat for 4 in town for the price of one in the hotel.
Having said that we did eat in the hotel and the food was very good but as previously mentioned by other travellers lacking in atmosphere due to a lack of customers!
The breakfast choice was excellent,for the first time in my life I had noodles, rice and curry for breakfast! who wants cereals ever again...
The pool area was lovely with free towels- we can also recommend the snack menu for lunch and happy hour cocktails in the pool bar or lazing on the day beds.
My only complaints?- neither the reception area or main restaurant ( where we ate breakfast ) are air conditioned- there are fans, but not quite as cooling as it could be.
Robes , slippers and outdoor pool shoes are provided which is lovely but the robes are quite thick and heavy and the room slippers and outdoor pool shoes had obviously been used by someone else before us and not washed/ cleaned as they still had sand on the bottom of them, ( I have a thing about other people's feet!)
A minor point in which was the most amazing holiday, the Thai people are SO friendly and the Anantara staff were too.
We can't wait to go back.........

Room Tip: Pay as much as you can to get the best you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ambergonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Having read other reviews about this hotel, I was a little apprehensive of what to expect.
On arrival after 2 hr taxi from Bangok, cold towel and welcome drink. Shown to my room which was in the Palm garden on the 1st floor.Big room, great beds air conditioning excellent. I have nothing t
bad to say and those people who critise the breakfast, or any other restaurant then they should simply spend their time away. This is not my first visit to Thailand but my first to Hua Hin, and I will come back here. Even the 50 baht that somebother guest moaned about, it is still cheaper than the 150 or 200 for the taxi to get to town. I started walking not knowing the distance but after abkut r15 min caught a motobike taxi for 100 baht.Pool and poolbar great.

Room Tip: Palm Garden on 1st floor?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed in premium garden view room. Checkin and Check-out was very quick and smooth. On arrival they provided very refreshing drink (butterfly pea drink) and cold towel.
Resort was very big and gardens were kept very well maintained. Room was little bit small and very old furniture. View from the room is very nice. We had ground floor room so we were able to use front and back door which is very convenient. Lots of chairs are provided at the pool and beach. Chairs are always available at beach and pool. Drinks were reasonable at pool side bar. Don’t miss out on happy hour deals between 4-5pm at poolside bar and 9-10pm at Sala Siam. They also have live music at Sala Siam. We had cocktails at both bars and cocktails were very good.
Breakfast buffet was very good, wide choices for eastern and western dishes and very fresh. Location of the breakfast buffet (Issara Café) was also very nice located next to beautiful pond full with lotus. However I spotted black cat (pet cat) in the dining area (pet animal should not be permissible in food preparation and dining area). Black cat was walking on deck, under tables and throughout the buffet.
All three restaurants are well overpricing. They had Thursday night Thai dinner buffet for 1000 B (plus 17% tax) per person. We had a look around 8pm and only one table was occupied. At night time resort is not very happening place because everyone goes to town for dinner. Price of dinner at Anantara is not justifiable. You can get nice Seafood Dinner Buffet at Centara Garden for 1200B which is cheaper and a lot nicer than other option available at Anantara.
Anantara resort is like a small topical island. Property is full of mosquitos and Anantara charge you 320 B for use of mosquitos repellent, this is ridiculous management of this resort know that they have problem with mosquitos and they still not include this dirt cheap mosquitos repellent.
Location of the resort is not very convenient; it is located 5-6 kms away from the town centre. Resort provides shuttle mini bus/van service every hour for 100 B (plus 17 % tax) per person for return trip which I found ridiculous. I took shuttle bus service on the first day, on 2nd day I took tuk tuk (shuttle van) which cost me 10B from resort to the night market.

Room Tip: Get a deal with breakfast buffet and bring electric mosquitos repellent or coil
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pankit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
2.7 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 137 in Hua Hin
1,285 reviews
4.7 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
7.3 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 137 in Hua Hin
1,241 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#5 of 137 in Hua Hin
2,068 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
#14 of 137 in Hua Hin
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Hua Hin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Hua Hin Resort

Property: Anantara Hua Hin Resort
Address: 43 / 1 Phetkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Hua Hin Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#5 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#8 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Hua Hin Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 187-room Anantara Resort Hua Hin is a distinctive Thai village-style property located on the sunrise coast of the Gulf of Thailand, around 220 kms south of Bangkok. Hidden amidst 14 acres of luxuriantly landscaped gardens and lagoon pools, the picturesque resort enjoys a beachfront location at the quiet end of Hua Hin's long sandy beach for only 5 kms. from Hua Hin town centre. A three-meters high terracotta wall cleverly cocoons the resort from the hustle and bustle of town. As you make your way along the landscaped driveway, a sense of calm descends. The sense of arrival is heightened as you admire a decorative wall adorned with a parade of elephants. A cool breeze drifting in from the beach floats through the open-air Lobby with the strains of a melodic Thai tune lingering. Polished timber floors and Thai-style salas (pavilions) heighten the ambience of an intimate tropical hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anantara Hua Hin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Resort And Spa Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Anantara Resort Hua Hin
Anantara Hua Hin
Anantara Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing