We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury resort in fantastic surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anantara Hua Hin Resort
Ranked #10 of 142 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2010

Just back from seven night stay at this wonderful hotel/resort. This is the best hotel my wife and I have ever stayed at.
A nice cold face towel and refreshing drink await you on arrival and the procedure is done quickly and very welcoming.
we stayed in a standard garden deluxe room which was great, a nice size room with a massive bed, plenty of wardrobe space, bathroom was a bit on the small size. Be warned when we entered our room there was quite a few mossies in there which we had to dispatch! (see below)
All the staff were really good at what they do, any questions ask a guy called Alex he seemed to be the man with all the answers.
Food: three restaurants to choose from, an Italian, a seafood and a beach side area that held the BBQ's and lunchtime snacks. We ate at all three, the standard of food is brilliant with really varied menus. These restaurants are a bit more expensive than your usual Thai restaurants but we both agreed well worth it. Breakfast was unreal, every nationality was catered for, from fresh sushi! to eggs done to any kind of order, there was also plenty of fresh fruit to dig into. We paid about €50 each for the seven breakfasts, good value.
During the middle of our stay the hotel hosted a cocktail night at the beachside restaurant followed by a Bar B Q, this was a nice way of meeting other guests, mainly Thai, Japanese, Germans, with a few Russians, English and Irish thrown in for good measure.
Spa: this like most spa treatments was very expensive but a real treat, very peacful surroundings down by the deluxe lagoon rooms.

Mossies!!

This hotel is set in wonderful landscaped tropical gardens with lagoons and ponds. This is obviously a haven for the little buggers. My wife and I were both bitten on our first night there, me eight times on one leg! You really do have to smother yourself in repellant, we found the Ben's brand the best. If you are prone to insect bites come prepared.
Tipping.
This would be our only gripe, be warned, on every food/drink item the hotel adds a 10% service charge and a 7% Government tax, on top of this there is an area of the bill left for you to fill in a tip, staff told us they don't get the 10% service charge. This can make things quite pricey when you realisticly have to add 27% onto everythin you buy. Surely one service charge is enough on any bill, we believe Anantara Manaement need to look into this or inform their clients that the service charge is not for the staff, as we didn't tip for first two days because we thought that it was included.

Overall a magnificent Hotel set in beautiful gardens, which we would highly reccomend to anyone, a great place to realax and concentrate on some serious loafing. Just watch out for the mossies though.!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stipeKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,652 - 1,658 of 2,521 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2009

From the moment we drove up the drive we were transported to another time and pace of life.
We were greeted in the most fantastic reception area, which was very tai in design ~ it was like begin on a film set ! we were given ice cold towels which were very welcome and a very nice purple drink that they are well know for.
Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff they were equally all as attentive to our needs~ my mother uses 2 walking sticks and strainght away they got her a wheel chair for the whole stay. Mr Alex the promotions manager was very helpful explaining the dining package ~ breakfast was served in the most wonderful outside area with wicker blinds to shield you from the sun~ the special themed nights are a must ~ extremely good value and top class food! we just enjoyed every meal and and the settings were fantastic ~ next to the beach ~ next to the lagoon and the italian restaurant is very special.

Our rooms were also fantastic with a very short walk through the tropical landscaped gardens to a palm fringed beach ~ the photos of this resort in the brochures don't do it justice, and the pool areas are just great with lush plants and trees all around ~ the happy hour is really good ~ can recomend all the cocktails!!

We had 4 nights here in August 09 and would recommend it to anyone ~ it is a little pricey , but it was a 5 * experience ~ and really you don't need to go off resort. We did use the free mini bus into Hau Hin - but found it difficult to match the quality of food .

We than went for 4 nights at the Sofitel in Hau Hin - this was a completely different resort and of the 2 we felt it was quite large and not so personal as the Anantara.

We enjoyed the whole experience in Thialand from visiting the Royal Palace, to going up the river on a Rice barge and Elephant treking in Hau Hin there's so much to see and temples to visit ~ certainly a photographers paradise !! can't wait to go back..

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suebradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2009

The Anantara is a perfect hotel for relaxation, take an upgrade you then have a private pool area with its own bar and staff.
The rooms a re large and spaciouse with a bath in the center big enough for 4 persons, lovely balcony over the lagoon listening to the parrots.
Breakfast is a must look forward to every morning freshly cooked eggs to perfection.
Gardens and grounds just a pleasure to walk around.
Food in resraurants could be much better.
Cocktail party given by manager minus manager which was disappointing.
Retuning again in 2010 the very best.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cocothedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Anantara is a nice resort but when we went there was a lot of building work going on. Our tour comany sent us the details about the work, provided to them by the hotel 2 days before we were due to go out. This meant no opportunity to change our accomodation. When we got there they did make the effort to change/upgrade our room to a lagoon room away from the noise and work. But at breakfast the noise was already going on, and during the day there was no point going near the beach due to the drilling /hammering and general DIY noises. At one point we thought they were digging up the roads! Not sure if it is worthwhile coming here for the rest of the year whilst the work is ongoing, as it kind of spoilt our holiday. And they didn't really offer anything in the way of compensation, eg a free meal package etc. On the plus side, the staff were friendly and courteous and I'm sure it will be a nice place when the work is finished. However it was not great that they hid the fact that such major work was going to happen until the very last minute. This kind of work would have been planned well in advance, so there is really no excuse. As a result we won't stay at Anantara again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kullybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Hotel, gardens and staff is everything you could wish for, however with practially no warning they closed the pool bar and restaurant as they started major building work on the pool bar and restaurant - so it is very noisy and dusty and also at the sea view rooms which means that area down near the beach is very dusty and noisy too. The work is scheduled to continue till mid December. Also don't buy the meal package offered - they are not worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tish57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

This hotel was gorgeous. The place was not crowded as hotels in Bangkok or Phuket. Most of the rooms were suites and the staffs were very friendly. There are a couple of restaurants on the resort.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melohnbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

After 3 hectic but enjoyable nights in Bangkok, we arrived at the peaceful, quite beautiful Anantara resort.

We enjoyed every minute from the moment we arrived sipping cooling refreshing drinks in reception to saying goodbye. All the staff are wonderful and make a point of looking after you and ensuring your stay is as comfortable and welcoming as possible. Special thanks and mention must go to Alex who is really the heartbeat and focal point of the hotel, a true star we enjoyed the personal Manager's cocktails with him!

Peet at the pool bar was our excellent cocktail provider, particularly enjoyed happy hour and the Dark Rum Mojitos, they went down too easily!

The massage and spa was wonderful and having been back a few weeks look forward to returning again for some more pampering!

A taxi ride from the restaurants and bars of Hua Hin, we really preferred staying here to some of the other bigger hotels in the centre of town. Thailand is always an experience and both Hua Hin and the Anantara will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KetteringLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
2.7 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#3 of 142 in Hua Hin
1,304 reviews
4.7 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
5.9 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 142 in Hua Hin
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
5.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#6 of 142 in Hua Hin
2,169 reviews
6.0 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Hua Hin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Hua Hin Resort

Address: 43 / 1 Phetkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Hua Hin Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#5 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#8 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range: £76 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Hua Hin Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 187-room Anantara Resort Hua Hin is a distinctive Thai village-style property located on the sunrise coast of the Gulf of Thailand, around 220 kms south of Bangkok. Hidden amidst 14 acres of luxuriantly landscaped gardens and lagoon pools, the picturesque resort enjoys a beachfront location at the quiet end of Hua Hin's long sandy beach for only 5 kms. from Hua Hin town centre. A three-meters high terracotta wall cleverly cocoons the resort from the hustle and bustle of town. As you make your way along the landscaped driveway, a sense of calm descends. The sense of arrival is heightened as you admire a decorative wall adorned with a parade of elephants. A cool breeze drifting in from the beach floats through the open-air Lobby with the strains of a melodic Thai tune lingering. Polished timber floors and Thai-style salas (pavilions) heighten the ambience of an intimate tropical hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anantara Hua Hin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Resort And Spa Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Anantara Resort Hua Hin
Anantara Hua Hin
Anantara Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing