We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anantara Hua Hin Resort
Ranked #7 of 134 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed for 5 nights in a Lagoon room and were upgraded for free to a delux lagoon room which was the most wonderful room I have ever stayed in. The staff were attentive and very thoughtful. They filled our bath with flower petals in a pattern and left us messages and gifts on our pillow. I would recommend upgrading to the Lagoon rooms because you get to use the beautiful infinity lagoon pool and bar (with delicious bar meals). The customer relations man called Alex that worked there encouraged us to go for a treatment at the spa. I told him that I would love to but unfortunately the prices were way out of our budget. So he gave us a great deal on a 1 hr couples Thai massage treatment for both my boyfriend and I. I think it was about half price. We had wonderful food there at the lagoon bar, lovely italian restaurant and by the beach and the Thai restaurant - all delicious. I thought the prices were reasonable for the quality. I think this could be the best hotel I have ever stayed in!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenyellowhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,398
    582
    141
    50
    15
See reviews for
641
976
63
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2010

After a 11 hour flight and 3 hour drive you pull off the main road into what can only be describe as heaven. I have recently spent 7 nights at the resort and would not hesitate to recommend it if you were travelling to Hua Hin.
Upon arrival you are greeted with a refreshing drink and cold face towel....however the hard sell now comes to upgrade to a Lagoon room......even after we had declined and where shown to our room.....they still tried to go via another more expensive room to show it to us.
Now for me comes the only real negative aspect about the resort and that is the basic rooms. We had booked a deluxe garden room and there was not anything deluxe about the room especially as the resort claims to be 5*. The room was old, musty, dirty, and the bathroom being unusable. Water did not even so much as trickle out of the shower and there was mould around the bath. Needless to say we spoke to the hotel manager and were moved to a deluxe premium room, at no extra charge. What a difference, big, beautiful and spacious with a lovely rainforest shower.
The resort is really split into two sections those who have Lagoon rooms and those who do not. If you have a Lagoon room you eat breakfast separately and have your own pool and bar area. I did not see inside a Lagoon room, but wondered around the Lagoon and pool area which are beautiful.
Breakfast was served near the pool and was large and of reasonable quality.
Neither pools have sea views, which is a shame and the beach did not seem that appealing and was very windy.
We spent our days lounging by the pool and the staff around the resort and especially by the pool could have not been more helpful. Little touches such as remembering our drink order where noted. The resort is very isolated and although there is a 7-11 nearby you have to cross a very major highway to reach it. Therefore there is a ridiculous mark up on drinks and ice creams. In Hua Hin a Magnum was 40bht and in the hotel well over 100bht.
The pool area is very shady and as shade bathers it was perfect. The swimming pool is great and very large. Most days the staff would come round with free fruit on sticks as well as selling ice cream in the afternoon. My only minor complaint was at times it was hard to get a drink and staff should have been coming round to loungers more often.
Food at the resort was delicious and we ate at the in house Thai resaurant twice.
Mosquitos are a problem and if you are like me a sufferer then make sure you bring medication and sprays that work.
The resort is a ten minute drive to Hua Hin and you can either take the resorts minibus (50bht) which runs every hour or so during the evening or a taxi which is 150bht. When the minibus drops you off at the clock tower if you head back past boots and cross the road this is the night market. To get to the pier and sea front continue straight and take the first right. Food is generally good and really cheap, I think our cheapest meal was under £12.
I did not particularly enjoy Hua Hin as a town and having been to other resorts around Thailand I would not be going back. On a personal note there is a very big scene for western men and Thai women and at times I found this very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

..no joke.

We got married here on 5th Jan, taking 13 rooms for friends and family.
The management here is excellent and the staff are well trained. The service was the best we've seen anywhere. The atmosphere is good, no pretentious American-style service like we saw at the Sheraton.
We took the suite which was amazing. Having seen all room types I would suggest taking the lagoon room over the basic room if possible.
The grounds are spectacular and it puts places like YaiYa in the shade (we took a look as it was one of our choices)
Food was also excellent - even the European food, which is unusual in Thailand.
Wedding arrangement was perfect (thanks Jiab) - contact us if you want more info.
The location next to Hua Hin town centre is great for trips out, shopping, etc.

What could be improved :
- Need free wifi, and wifi in rooms.
- Drinks are quite expensive, go to the 7/11 and stock up your minibar

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chad25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

see my review of the Soiftel in Hua Hin.

We stayed at the Anantara for the last two days – absolute heaven and thoroughly recommended. Great food, fantastic staff and access to a separate lagoon pool if you book one of their lagoon rooms.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterville, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

Just back from seven night stay at this wonderful hotel/resort. This is the best hotel my wife and I have ever stayed at.
A nice cold face towel and refreshing drink await you on arrival and the procedure is done quickly and very welcoming.
we stayed in a standard garden deluxe room which was great, a nice size room with a massive bed, plenty of wardrobe space, bathroom was a bit on the small size. Be warned when we entered our room there was quite a few mossies in there which we had to dispatch! (see below)
All the staff were really good at what they do, any questions ask a guy called Alex he seemed to be the man with all the answers.
Food: three restaurants to choose from, an Italian, a seafood and a beach side area that held the BBQ's and lunchtime snacks. We ate at all three, the standard of food is brilliant with really varied menus. These restaurants are a bit more expensive than your usual Thai restaurants but we both agreed well worth it. Breakfast was unreal, every nationality was catered for, from fresh sushi! to eggs done to any kind of order, there was also plenty of fresh fruit to dig into. We paid about €50 each for the seven breakfasts, good value.
During the middle of our stay the hotel hosted a cocktail night at the beachside restaurant followed by a Bar B Q, this was a nice way of meeting other guests, mainly Thai, Japanese, Germans, with a few Russians, English and Irish thrown in for good measure.
Spa: this like most spa treatments was very expensive but a real treat, very peacful surroundings down by the deluxe lagoon rooms.

Mossies!!

This hotel is set in wonderful landscaped tropical gardens with lagoons and ponds. This is obviously a haven for the little buggers. My wife and I were both bitten on our first night there, me eight times on one leg! You really do have to smother yourself in repellant, we found the Ben's brand the best. If you are prone to insect bites come prepared.
Tipping.
This would be our only gripe, be warned, on every food/drink item the hotel adds a 10% service charge and a 7% Government tax, on top of this there is an area of the bill left for you to fill in a tip, staff told us they don't get the 10% service charge. This can make things quite pricey when you realisticly have to add 27% onto everythin you buy. Surely one service charge is enough on any bill, we believe Anantara Manaement need to look into this or inform their clients that the service charge is not for the staff, as we didn't tip for first two days because we thought that it was included.

Overall a magnificent Hotel set in beautiful gardens, which we would highly reccomend to anyone, a great place to realax and concentrate on some serious loafing. Just watch out for the mossies though.!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stipeKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ripley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2009

From the moment we drove up the drive we were transported to another time and pace of life.
We were greeted in the most fantastic reception area, which was very tai in design ~ it was like begin on a film set ! we were given ice cold towels which were very welcome and a very nice purple drink that they are well know for.
Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff they were equally all as attentive to our needs~ my mother uses 2 walking sticks and strainght away they got her a wheel chair for the whole stay. Mr Alex the promotions manager was very helpful explaining the dining package ~ breakfast was served in the most wonderful outside area with wicker blinds to shield you from the sun~ the special themed nights are a must ~ extremely good value and top class food! we just enjoyed every meal and and the settings were fantastic ~ next to the beach ~ next to the lagoon and the italian restaurant is very special.

Our rooms were also fantastic with a very short walk through the tropical landscaped gardens to a palm fringed beach ~ the photos of this resort in the brochures don't do it justice, and the pool areas are just great with lush plants and trees all around ~ the happy hour is really good ~ can recomend all the cocktails!!

We had 4 nights here in August 09 and would recommend it to anyone ~ it is a little pricey , but it was a 5 * experience ~ and really you don't need to go off resort. We did use the free mini bus into Hau Hin - but found it difficult to match the quality of food .

We than went for 4 nights at the Sofitel in Hau Hin - this was a completely different resort and of the 2 we felt it was quite large and not so personal as the Anantara.

We enjoyed the whole experience in Thialand from visiting the Royal Palace, to going up the river on a Rice barge and Elephant treking in Hau Hin there's so much to see and temples to visit ~ certainly a photographers paradise !! can't wait to go back..

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suebradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

The Anantara is a perfect hotel for relaxation, take an upgrade you then have a private pool area with its own bar and staff.
The rooms a re large and spaciouse with a bath in the center big enough for 4 persons, lovely balcony over the lagoon listening to the parrots.
Breakfast is a must look forward to every morning freshly cooked eggs to perfection.
Gardens and grounds just a pleasure to walk around.
Food in resraurants could be much better.
Cocktail party given by manager minus manager which was disappointing.
Retuning again in 2010 the very best.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cocothedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
2.7 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#1 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
4.7 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
7.3 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#5 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
5.9 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
#12 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Hua Hin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Hua Hin Resort

Property: Anantara Hua Hin Resort
Address: 43 / 1 Phetkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Hua Hin Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#5 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#6 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Hua Hin Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 187-room Anantara Resort Hua Hin is a distinctive Thai village-style property located on the sunrise coast of the Gulf of Thailand, around 220 kms south of Bangkok. Hidden amidst 14 acres of luxuriantly landscaped gardens and lagoon pools, the picturesque resort enjoys a beachfront location at the quiet end of Hua Hin's long sandy beach for only 5 kms. from Hua Hin town centre. A three-meters high terracotta wall cleverly cocoons the resort from the hustle and bustle of town. As you make your way along the landscaped driveway, a sense of calm descends. The sense of arrival is heightened as you admire a decorative wall adorned with a parade of elephants. A cool breeze drifting in from the beach floats through the open-air Lobby with the strains of a melodic Thai tune lingering. Polished timber floors and Thai-style salas (pavilions) heighten the ambience of an intimate tropical hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelbag, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Anantara Hua Hin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Resort And Spa Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Anantara Resort Hua Hin
Anantara Hua Hin
Anantara Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing