We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Make sure you try when your in Hua Hin!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karoon Restaurant - CLOSED

Karoon Restaurant
Price range: US$3 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Le restaurant fait partie d'une guest house. Nous avons le restaurant avec une magnifique terrasse sur la mer.La cuisine est Europeen dans une ambiance lounge-bar. Le patron est francais et sera ravi de vous accueillir pour le petit dejeuner, dejeuner ou diner.A tres bientot,Fabrice.The restaurant is part of a guest house. We have a restaurant with a beautiful terrace overlooking the sea European cuisine is in a lounge bar. The boss is French and will be delighted to welcome you for breakfast, lunch or dinner.See you soon,Fabrice.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Make sure you try when your in Hua Hin!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Really cozy setting and a feeling of being more family run which I like. Menu had plenty of good choices and we were not disapointed, 2 friends both had Pork dishes which we very good and less than 200 baht, I had lamb which wasnt cheap but the portion was very very generous, so actaullu excellent value - prefectly cooked with a nice baked potatoe and roast asparagus along with a well paired sauce. We had beers/wine and main plus a superb desert... chocolate fondant.... oh my goodness was that good.. tiramisu was fanatsic too.
Fabrice is a lovely unassuming guy who takes pride in his work and delivers the good, go ahead and try, you wont be disappointed :).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JWalker009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    11
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a delight of Mediterranean comfort food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Tucked away in the heart of Naresdamri road, on the ocean side just opposite Cool Breeze, is a new kid on the block. At street level you may be forgiven for mistaking this restaurant for a guest house , well technically it is , at least the front of the building is... but carry on past the reception area along the long corridor, and you will be pleasantly surprised at what greets you.

Karoon Restaurant and lounge bar has a southern French rustic feel, helped by it's shabby chic seating , and with a backdrop that money can't buy.

The menu, nicely pared down, was a delight of Mediterranean comfort food, with the emphasis being on locally sourced produce. It is broken down into al a carte and set menus, we opted for the set mains which included roast lamb, honey tenderloin chicken, and white snapper, our starters of asparagus vinaigrette and salad nicoise, were as tasty as they looked. All of this was accompanied by a very cheeky house red, making it too hard to resist the al a carte dessert menu, chocolate fondant, tiramisu, and limocello washed down with various fresh coffees .

My only criticism would be the lack of vegetarian options on what is a well executed menu, when I mentioned this, I was offered other choices.

The menu at Karoon is constantly refreshed, and chef/owner Fabrice is clearly passionate about his food but what sets his restaurant apart is his commitment to moderate pricing and keeping his customers happy, the perfectly paced service reflects this, the staff are attentive but not over bearing and with the comfortable surroundings, the gentle sounds of the ocean waves underneath your seat, you could quite happily spend all night there ...I'm already planning my next visit!

3 course dinner with wine , soft drinks and coffees x 3 = 1.990 thb.

Cheers

Hua Hin Food Critic

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HHFoodCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Don't judge a restaurant by its entrance!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

A very unassuming looking venue from the outside, we considered turning back as we neared the entrance but are very glad we didn't! The setting of this restaurant is great-one of only a few that actually looks out onto the sea. We had a great value meal of a high standard (higher than expected if we are brutally honest!) and it was so cheap! Less than £7 for two courses! The drinks were reasonably priced and the service was good. We even had a hubbly bubbly! We highly recommend this restaurant-a lovely setting and great value for money!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joshua G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Karoon restaurant is a very special plce in Hua Hin. It's hidden between the Thai terasses with the big entrances. But you schould try it. Walk through the long corridor with guestrooms and you will find the most beautifull terrace of the all: spacious, cosy. Chef Fabrice manages the place with care and attention. He serves good food with a French touch. Every wednesday a special lunchmenu. You really should try the hospitality and taste.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eetsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bombastic :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Great place on the pier with a nice view... Bit of an odd entrance to get to it but should not put you off.... The first thing that will strike you is that the menu is really limited... Maybe 15 items max which covers starters, mains and deserts .... But anything we picked was really good so who needs variety when you have this quality. The presentation was great and as a plus not expensive. The staff and owner were also great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hashem Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karoon Restaurant also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing