We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“budget is the word for this guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karoon Hut Guesthouse
Ranked #204 of 308 Hua Hin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 March 2014

worst guesthouse i,ve ever stayed in was on the ground floor ,got a room that you could not swing a cat in ,had a fan that was floor standing so you could not even walk round your bed without tripping over the cable .only 1 plug socket which was taken up with the t,v and fan. and to cap it all the floor boards outside the room where so noisy you could hear everyone walking by your room day and night ..i know its not expensive ,but i expected more than a sardine can as a room

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flux1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We were absolutely appalled by the way we were treated. We made a booking a week in advance only to be told the day before that they had given our twin room to someone else! They offered us a double and we explained that we were two friends travelling together and would like separate beds. The lady owner quite obviously didn't honour our booking in preference of someone there waving cash in her face. Well if that's the way they do business how can anyone trust that If they make a booking the room will be there when they arrive?! So they were happy to leave two lone female travellers to wonder the streets in search of somewhere to sleep! Didn't give a hoot about our holiday!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Abena31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We discovered this guest house in 2012 and have stayed on each of our return trips since. It is now under new ownership that has made it better still! It is what it is a guest house but it is clean and fantastic value for money. What better than to wake up with the sound of waves underneath you, a great resteraunt over the pier and a lovely couple as your hosts! Looking forward to next year glyn and katrina uk

Room Tip: Any room all are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The room is clean, but both toilet and sink is leaking water on the floor. The hotel is on a pier and you can see the water under between the floor plates. As the waves hits in at 4am you are awake the rest of the night.

The rooms are small and simple. No fridge. No safe. But clean.

This is simply to noisy to be a hotel with those waves every night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppa80Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Karoon for two nights.
Never again probably least favorite hotel in SE Asia.
Both nights we stayed we ended up battling coackroachs in the bathroom. There was a plumbing issue with the sink all the water spilled onto the floor. Large hole at back of toilet presumably where the roaches were getting in from. Tiles were lifting off around it from water. Holes in the wodden floors. On our last night I plugged in my phone to charge in the socket under the window and got an electric shock. Around the plug was stuffed with tissue im presuming to stop critters getting in.
Restaurant attached has good priced breakfasts.
Victors across the road same price and cheaper rooms. Go there, I wish I had.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank beena01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed one night in the GH.the room is clean, with double bed, tv, aircon(new one obviously so no smell which is great and silent though the outside piece make vibrating the bed).there are two small box at the head of the frame of bed that u can use as safe box which is good.the bathroom with hotshower and toilet is clean but stincks canalisation.
The room is situated above the water with wooden floor.
The restaurant at the back is very nicely decorated and great view on the sea, they play relaxing lounge music.the boss seems French and welcoming.many French guests.staff was kind.good breakfast (start from 90bath, 120 for big American breakfast).

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gedeon2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Sound of waves under the floorboards is nice, beds are a little hard. The guesthouse on a whole could do with A LOT of repairs (my toilet and sink leaked, the sink tap was not properly adjusted, creaky floorboards throughout guesthouse..)

After the initial shock of how simple the rooms were in comparison to the pictures, it's a decent stay. However, there are so many rooms available on the sea front it seems we may have been able to get better at the same price.

Breakfast was good, it's very nice to sit out on the sea front.

Location is convenient.

WARNING not for the faint hearted I've already encountered numerous cockroaches around the guesthouse (but as expected within many parts of Thailand)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.0 mi away
Sunshine Guest House Hua Hin
0.5 mi away
Huahin Loft Hotel
Huahin Loft Hotel
#113 of 144 in Hua Hin
346 reviews
3.0 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hua Hin Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
M & A Guesthouse
M & A Guesthouse
#100 of 308 in Hua Hin
24 reviews
0.4 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#4 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karoon Hut Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karoon Hut Guesthouse

Address: 80 Naresdamri Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Hua Hin
Price Range: £8 - £10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Karoon Hut Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing