We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Hotel, Better around”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of City Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Beach Resort
Ranked #87 of 134 Hotels in Hua Hin
Worldwide
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Average Hotel, Better around”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

This hotel is looking very tired. Furniture and decor needs updating.

Hotel was very busy, particularly at breakfast time, although the actual breakfast was really poor and i took it once out of the 4 mornings i was there.

Good location though and nice pool.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lee_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    58
    64
    16
    14
See reviews for
27
52
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

The hotel is showing it's age, furniture is very,very tired. Staff didn't speak very good english and being honest they weren't interested in trying. Breakfast, including the tea/coffee, was luke warm and usually we just settled for some toast. The stay was okay nothing more, best bit was it's location.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and had an enjoyable stay overall. The hotel is quite old and faded and could do with some refurbishment, but staff were nice, it's in a good location and it's cheap, so to me it represents good value for money.

Breakfast was poor, with cold fried eggs, boiled ham and cheap frankfurter-style sausages and not much else. Lower-3 star standard really - I stayed here a couple of years ago and I'm sure it was better back then.

Location is good, being close to the beach, the night market, train station and plenty of restaurants and bars.

The rooms were very basic but clean enough and fine for somewhere to sleep at the end of the day. The shower and other bathroom fittings all worked.

The staff were pleasant and friendly, although we didn't have much cause to do much more than say hello to them in the morning.

Overall, for the price, I'd say City Beach fits the bill. Somewhere I'd consider returning to if I was on a bit of a budget.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dantilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

Fairly average hotel, but the location is good. Breakfast.....hmmmnnn, if you don't mind your ham floating in water......everything fairly basic.
Tried several times to speak to reception staff for information, not very informative I am afraid. Good aircon.......just take the aerogard.....lots of mosquitos in the breakfast room and around the internet.
Average, and a bit dated.
And the pool...ok if you want to share it with lots of pigeons.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharni123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

stayed 8nts the hotel is great the lobby has air-con so its a great place to relax after all the shopping at the night markets. breaky was ok buffet. just outside there are many restaurants and fast food ones as well. there is a german restaurant down towards the beach on the left hand side its called Saeng Duean we ate there 4 times its the best for pork sausages,sourcraut and fried potatos. they have yummy cakes as well.
we walked down to tesco shopping mall its about 5km, but we got a tuk tuk baht only 100 bt one way

Room Tip: pool facing its in the shade of an afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bonesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

A good place to stay if you want to be downtown and close to the beach. The beautiful city beach is within a 5 - 10 min. walk from the hotel which was nice.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ukrainian09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

Great location for short stay located in the centre for the city 2 minutes walk to the beach, surrounded by great restaurant and bar options within a few minutes walk. The hotel is dated and pretty standard but was ok value for money. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was extremely average and next time I`ll give it a miss, the choices were limited and the surrounds were a bit grubby and in need of a facelift. When im on holidays i like to enjoy a leasurely lazy breakfast but this was like eating in a school canteen.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cortez48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.1 mi away
Thipurai City Hotel
Thipurai City Hotel
#38 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sirin Hotel
Sirin Hotel
#53 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wannara Hotel Hua Hin
Wannara Hotel Hua Hin
#92 of 134 in Hua Hin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
MANATHAI Hua Hin
MANATHAI Hua Hin
#34 of 134 in Hua Hin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Huahin Grand Hotel & Plaza
Huahin Grand Hotel & Plaza
#49 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalelarn Hotel Hua Hin
Chalelarn Hotel Hua Hin
#35 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Beach Resort

Property: City Beach Resort
Address: 16 Damnoenkasem Road | Hua Hin Beach, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Beach Hotel Hua Hin
Beach City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing