We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, large room”
Review of City Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Beach Resort
Ranked #100 of 136 Hotels in Hua Hin
Vaudreuil-Dorion, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location, large room”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I spent 4 nights to the City Beach Resort in January 2014. The location was great - it was halfway between the train station and the beach. We easily walked to the beach, many shops, night market, cafes, restaurants around, closed to the train station. The room was quite large, (4th floor) clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. There are two computers fee in the lobby. Breakfast was a buffet and was OK.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank France B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    60
    65
    17
    15
See reviews for
29
53
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed five nights whilst on golfing holiday. Should have taken better notice of the reviews written. This hotel is a disgrace, counter staff unfriendly, rooms are ancient and have terrible odours, bathroom is disgusting and the breakfast is not fit for human consumption. Don't waste your money.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ross m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hua Hin hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Amazing....I had no booking when I arrived and unfortunately the hotel was fully booked. But the staff at this hotel went out of their way to find me a hotel nearby and then carried my bags to the hotel they found for me.

Wanting to try this the City Beach Hotel I booked a few nights the following day. For me staying at this hotel was a pleasurable experience. It was so comfortable, clean and with service and a smile everywhere you turned. The facilities are very good. You don't have to walk far for anything as you are close to the beach and all the towns shops, cafes, restaurants and services etc.

I would highly recommend this hotel for value, service and location.

Thanks City Beach Resort Hotel.

Anthony Egan (Brisbane, Australia)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

first of all, he location is the big plus. Walking distance to the beach (although hotel staff told us the beach is 4 km away, its actually down the road). Close to nightlife and restaurants as well as night market and shopping mall. Rooms and facilities are clean.
The problem is the hotel is a journey down memory lane. It looks the same as it was 15 years ago. They didnt upgrade it, and maintenance is only basic. travelers expect more these days. power outlets for example. hair dryer. it just looks old. if you don't mind because you just need a bed to sleep and a shower, then its fine.

Room Tip: if you can avoid the rooms facing the temple. they start playing music quite early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moongreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed 5 nights on a golf outing, the second time we were in Hua Hin for golfing in late September. Reception staff were friendly and checking in was quick considering that we had no booking and had transferred from another hotel where our booking was fouled up. As an old hotel the rooms and reception areas were decent and had been upgraded some time ago. Location wise, it get us to the golf courses in less than 20 minutes and walked to our favourite restaurants and beer joints in less then 5 minutes. The same for the night market. Our rooms were on the 6th floor with a view of the swimming pool and the sea in the distance. What's missing is the in room safe, slippers, hair dryer and hot water boiler for coffee and tea, something that I had expected. Breakfast was an average buffet spread with limited choice, probably due to the low season. On the last 2 days of our stay we had a choice of ordering ala carte breakfast. instead. Overall a decent stay for the price that we paid.

Room Tip: Take the high floors facing the pool and the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c2chen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

I have been going to Hua Hin for the past 25 years and I was able to view the hotel before it opended in 1992.
Previous reviews had made me a little apprehensive on what I should expect on this trip.
I arrived at 7 pm on Sunday the first September, the greeting was very good normal Thai Style with plenty of smiling.
I waobliged too my room 410, large double overlooking the pool which is on the second floor, room and sheets clean, satellite tv the old tube tv not flat screen, plenty of coat hangers and a good size with a balcony.
Safes are located in reception, you are given a key and it is quiet secure and is manned 24 hours.
I went out on town that night so slept pretty well., breakfast was cooked fresh as for the first 4 days there was not enough guests to have a buffet, plenty of fruit juice, coffee, tea, bread/toast jams and butter . Cereal was only available on 3 of my 8 days not sure why but if I had asked iam quiet sure they would have obliged. There was fruits as well, back to the cooked breakfast, European or Asian, well I had the European, 2 fried eggs 2 Thai Sasages and 2 bits of ham, the sasages are like the frankfurters, not my favoutite. But had plenty of toast to make up for it!
Location is brilliant 5 mins to the beach, 10 mins to the shopping complex and night markets, so not far from anywhere.
The hotel is 21 years old so is ageing, but that said it was clean with a daily maid service which was done before I had finished breakfast, the pool is fine thw the occasional pigeons did stop for a shower. The staff were friendly and helpful, Wifi in rooms which was free and speed was fine.
I had paid for a double so there was no problems if a friend visited or stayed over.
I had a great price and have no complaints I have stayed on beach front hotels there in the past but they are far more expensive, and my favourite the Marriot is now under reconstruction.
If you fancy a different breakfast then pop out the hotel and there are many available for around 120b
I would recommend the City Beach, great value and location, if you want 5 star luxury then there is the Central (Sofitel) and Hilton and firther out the Dunsit and Shearaton to name a few.
As they say decide your budget and make your choice 8 nights came in at £220 also the best exchange rate for the past five years.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven77110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We spend one night in this town in our way south to catch a boat to Ko Tao. Well located hotel. The beach is 5min walk and the bars and restaurants are in front. Not much to say about the room ... They are ok, clean and spacious. Rooms are not smoking and did not smell tobacco but the hallway does smell tobacco as employees smoke ...
The welcoming is poor vs Thai standards. Staff almost rude and bothered. Two examples : my kids left the key in the room wich can only be opened by a key. I was reprimanded and asked that this does not happen again. Also when i wanted to have directions to go to a nearby restaurant, the staff would not help, surprised i was asking such a question. It ended that the restaurant was 50 meters away! Avoid this place if you enjoy the great Thai way of dealing with tourists.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HariSeldon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.1 mi away
Thipurai City Hotel
Thipurai City Hotel
#40 of 136 in Hua Hin
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wannara Hotel Hua Hin
Wannara Hotel Hua Hin
#79 of 136 in Hua Hin
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
MANATHAI Hua Hin
MANATHAI Hua Hin
#35 of 136 in Hua Hin
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sirin Hotel
Sirin Hotel
#51 of 136 in Hua Hin
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fresh Inn Hotel
Fresh Inn Hotel
#52 of 136 in Hua Hin
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Just Beds @ Baan Rajdamnern
Just Beds @ Baan Rajdamnern
#62 of 136 in Hua Hin
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Beach Resort

Property: City Beach Resort
Address: 16 Damnoenkasem Road | Hua Hin Beach, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your City Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Beach Hotel Hua Hin
Beach City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing