We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Wave is great but skip elephant abuse at Hua Hin winery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hua Hin Blue Wave Beach Resort
Ranked #115 of 144 Hotels in Hua Hin
Reviewed 29 January 2009

Currently on a one-year tour around the world, we are now staying at the Blue Wave Resort for three months. It's steps from the beach, the staff is wonderful and Hua Hin is a great little city. But I would strongly urge everyone to skip a visit to the Hua Hin Hills Winery. We witnessed horrific elephant abuse by the mahout as he severely punctured the elephant's head with the bullhook for straying three feet over to pick leaves off a tree. It was just horrible as we noticed the elephant's head was bloody and gouged from past beatings. We told him to immediately return to the boarding platform and tried to explain to the him and the staff why we were so upset. Please do not go to this "attraction".

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank saitang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2006

From the outside this hotel looked bleak, a monolithic grey concrete block which reminded me of an inner city housing block in Glasgow. Reception and entrance didn't exactly add to the ambience either, but surprisingly enough the rooms were very clean and modern.

A pleasant restaurant area with good food and service, although nowhere near as good as the restaurants in town. The pool overlooked the beach area, which was the hotel's biggest plus point. The beach was fairly quiet and free from vendors, but there were enough beach bars around without making too much noise. Horse riding on the beach was also available, the long open spaces being excellent for galloping along. The kids loved the beach, when the tide was out there were all sorts of creatures left in the pools, including hundreds of tiny hermit crabs, as well as the occasional tiny octopus.

The downside is that you're a long way from anywhere and once the beach huts close down at sunset there's not a lot going on. There isn't much in the way of entertainment at the hotel and catching a taxi into town is a little tricky as it means walking to the main road through pitch-black streets (or waiting a long time for a taxi to be called to the hotel).

The pool is also very poor for this level of accommodation, its far too shallow and completely unsuitable for any adult over 1m high. Fine for kids to splash around though.

Great place for families, but for a bit more life look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Casualist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank PalleoTott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: หากต้องการน้ำร้อนสามารถติดต่อได้ที่เจ้าหน้าที่หน้าฟรอนท์ได้ เพราะจะมีกระติกน้ำร้อนให้ยืมค่ะ
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pandacity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017
Thank soxiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Brian Boelck N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TOUCHAWIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
6.2 mi away
Imperial Hua Hin Beach Resort
18.8 mi away
Long Beach Inn
Long Beach Inn
#18 of 144 in Hua Hin
208 reviews
2.3 mi away
Takiab Beach Hotel
Takiab Beach Hotel
#92 of 144 in Hua Hin
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Mango Spa & Resort
Mango Spa & Resort
#64 of 144 in Hua Hin
30 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nern Chalet Beachfront Hotel
3.5 mi away
Sunshine Guest House Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hua Hin Blue Wave Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hua Hin Blue Wave Beach Resort

Address: 37 Banhuadon | Nongkae-Takieb, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range: £39 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hua Hin Blue Wave Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hua Hin Blue Wave Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hua Hin Blue Wave Beach Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing