We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Week end in Hua Hin”
Review of Tanawit Condotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tanawit Condotel
Ranked #105 of 144 Hotels in Hua Hin
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We booked two rooms last minute this last busy week end to watch the awesome fireworks. Tanawit had rooms available at a reasonable price and pix on Agoda looked Ok. Actually we got what we paid for. Large rooms, flat screen TV with DVD player renovated bathroom small balcony with excellent location and walking distance to night market. Only negative was the terrible bad smell that came from the bathroom drain. That was real bad. The space to park the car was also limited and a bit jammed. Staff nice and breakfast basic but OK. Did not have opportunity to try out spa. We booked high floor and connecting rooms. We got high floor only. Hotel has two pools.

Room Tip: Ask for High Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

Seemed quite expensive. Good location for the night market and bars. The room was clean and tidy but the staff seemed paranoid. Had to get a coupon form reception for a pool towel. Return the towel to get your coupon back and hand it to reception or be charged 500 baht! Difficulty getting fresh extra towels for bathroom. Had to hand back used towels first. Mini bar prices listed on fridge but nothing in there. We had been spoilt in northern Thailand with amazing value so I may be unfair. Hua Hin is a busy tourist spot so understandably higher prices.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The Tanawit was a nice older hotel that had recently renovated rooms. It was centrally located and very good acess to Night Market. The staff was somewhat inattentive probably due to boredom in the low season, but overall they were acceptable. Our room was very clean and comfortable. WiFi service was more often inoperative than not making it useless.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Where to start.....I have the impression that this hotel was once quite nice in the not too distant past, but there seems to have been little upkeep and staff customer service skills appear to have gone in the same direction.
Breakfast - voucher system is ridiculous and i have never been subjected to such a system in any other hotel I have ever stayed in. In order to get any breakfast, each morning you must first go to reception to ask for your daily voucher. You then need to give that to an eagle eyed breakfast attendant who will not let you within 10 feet of the buffet until it has been produced. The breakfast is nothing special however, and while I have no problem with a traditional Thai breakfast being served, I draw the line at sweet and sour chicken as a valid breakfast option.
Pool area - There are two pools to choose from, which from a distance look lovely and inviting, but when you get close it's clear that they are ever cleaned properly. There were always bird feathers and bugs etc floating on the surface, the pool surround was not cleaned during the whole 10 days we were there as the same dollops of bird poo remained on the tiles surround the second pool until we left. The pool bar looks more like the caretakers corner at the local swimming baths. There is absolutely no atmosphere and no music of any kind played. The pool staff sit behind there desk with their head down the entire day. It was very quite in the hotel when we stayed at the end of August, but the still couldn't be bothered to get up and help you move the mattresses onto your sunbed.
If you would like to use a hotel towel at the pool, you must first go to reception on the ground floor and pay 500baht. They will then give you a voucher which you take back to the pool bar on the third floor to retrieve your towel. You must then repeat the process to get your 500baht back. Also just in case you wish to purchase anything in your room they provide you with a handy laminated price list of all the items in your room from the old 90's box tv, to the ashtray....bizarre.
Rooms - The room we had was big and spacious with powerful air con and very comfortable beds. The room it's self as worn and slightly dated but I have no real complaints here. Free bottled water was placed in the mini bar fridge everyday and the rooms were cleaned to a high standard and very quickly each day. Free wifi was available throughout the hotel, but signal strength was very dependent upon where you were standing and what direction the wind was blowing.
Reception - It seemed to really depend upon what time of day you went and whether or not they were in the mood to help you. After staying in a lovely boutique hotel in Bangkok where the staff were always smiling and ready to help and answer any questions you might have, it was a bit of a shocked to see the sullen faces behind reception here. Don't bother to ask them to help you locate an internet cafe or organise a taxi to the airport or bus station (if you can't manage all your luggage on your own) as they will need to have an in-depth discussion about this before they decide if they can help you. It is much easier to drag all your bags (with a fractured arm) yourself to the main road and haggle for one there.
Location - For central Hua Hin the hotel location is very good, but trying to cross the main road the get the beach side became tiresome dodging all the traffic. If I came to Hua Hin again I would probably recommend a hotel on the beach side of the road as the only thing we really accessed on the other side was the night market and night bazaar which are literally a 3 minute walk from the hotel. That said we would probably not return to Hua Hin, and definitely NOT the Tanawit Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kassioppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed at Tanawit on 24 August 2013. The hotel is old and poorly maintained. Our room was supposedly a Superior but was dirty (marks on walls) and there was a lot of mold in the bathroom, The bedsheets were stained and grey. The lift looked like a goods lift and would only function with up button. The pool area was in a poor state and the pool fittings were dirty and corroded. There was broken and unfinished landscaping. The breakfast was OK but eggs were cold. We complained to reception but were completely ignored. This is at best a 2 star hotel and a poorly run 2 star hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel entirely - dont believe the photos published - look at travelers photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Col W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The hotel is very near to night market and beach. Also the city. I stayed in a double twin room so the room is bigger and it come with a bath tub and a shower place. I like their toilet very bright and clean. But the room was okay as the curtain couldn't closed properly and air cond dripped water. Overall it was a very old building that need lots of maintenance. I felt the price is bit expensive because of the old ambience.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

First visit to Hua Hin because we wanted to stay in a quiet sea side place. The location was not bad to walk to the beach, the night bazar and the station. The hotel was old and front desk staffs looked tired of working. The room with a balcony was big and clean with a shower booth. But the facility is not so new and I felt like “go back to the '70s”. Our room doesn't have a safty box. It is not a hotel but an inn. The breakfast was not good for us, probably good for locals. It is better to ask for the room rate without breakfast because there are many places to eat oputside. A little far to walk to the beach and we found many more better inns closer to the beach.

Room Tip: there were 2 wings. please choose one after looking at both rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cinnamon1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.0 mi away
Baan Manthana Hotel
Baan Manthana Hotel
#53 of 144 in Hua Hin
168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Euro Hua Hin City Hotel
Euro Hua Hin City Hotel
#86 of 144 in Hua Hin
27 reviews
1.0 mi away
Narawan Hotel Hua Hin
Narawan Hotel Hua Hin
#82 of 144 in Hua Hin
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
MANATHAI Hua Hin
MANATHAI Hua Hin
#37 of 144 in Hua Hin
216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baan Klang Hua Hin Condo & Resort
0.2 mi away
City Beach Resort
City Beach Resort
#87 of 144 in Hua Hin
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanawit Condotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanawit Condotel

Address: 64/1 Amnuaysin Road, Hua Hin 77119, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 144 Hotels in Hua Hin
Price Range: £23 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanawit Condotel 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tanawit Condotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing