We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary in the hustle and bustle of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at the Centara for 7 nights at the end of April for our honeymoon, and have not stopped raving about it to our friends and family back home in Aus.

The hotel reminded me immediately of the Raffles in Singapore, with its beautiful colonial facade and lush, landscaped gardens. The fact the hotel is so peaceful, and is set right in the middle of town, is a credit to the hotel. You are within a 1 minute walk of massage, restaurants, bars, and then can retreat back to your room (the massage place directly across the road charges 300bht for a 1hour thai massage if you feel like a cheap way to spend the afternoon!!)

We mostly ate our breakfast in the Club Room, and went out for lunch, then back for afternoon tea and evening drinks while relaxing by the pool. We occasionally used the gym, which is of a very high standard with great modern machines and weights.

Best bits:

Our decision to upgrade to the Club Rooms – couldn’t recommend this more, and worth the expense. The club itself is so beautiful, and the drinks and food on offer is outstanding. You really wouldn’t need to eat at any other point if you had breakfast, afternoon tea, and evening drinks at the resort as the food and drinks is never ending and of such a high quality. The evening cocktail of the day was also a nice treat. Other benefits of the club rooms include daily laundering of 2 items (back most days by 4pm), free wifi, delicious cakes with turn down service, and very late check out

The spa is also one of the best I have ever been to worldwide, and would also recommend for a special treat. They use Jurlique facial products (an organic, natural Australian brand), and the design and quality of treatment was amazing.

We had dinner on our last night at Hagi, the hotel’s Japanese restaurant, and it was excellent. Great service, food and range of drinks.

Worst bits:

For us as honeymooners, it was the fact the resort was extremely popular with families with children. Perhaps 1 of the 3 pools could be made a kid free zone? Or at least ban the floaties and lilos they all seemed to carry. At some points, you could barely see the water due to several small children in their 8 foot long shark floatie!! Also, I don’t think it’s appropriate to allow children into the Club Lounge during the evening drinks between 5-7pm – could this at least be a child free zone for this time as alcohol is being served?? I’ve never felt bothered by small children at any other resort ever, but I felt I had to say something in this case.

In summary however, do yourself a favour, and make the 2.5 hour drive to Hua Hin.

A special thank you to Chloe and Narsica (sorry if I’ve spelt that wrong!) at the hotel, whose friendliness and professionalism were outstanding (as was all the staff).

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank PrueKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you very much for your time to leave a review following your recent stay at Centara Grand Beach Resort and Villas Hua Hin on TripAdvisor.

It was certainly a pleasure to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the hotel will be shared with all the team. Your particular impression with Chloe’s and Narsica’s performance has been conveyed and appreciated by her. We have special noted your concerned regarding the children’s at the Club, your feedback is very important to us. Rest assured that corrective actions have been immediately taken and improvements.

Thank you once again for you constructive comments. These will certainly enable us to improve the quality of our services to better meet the needs of our guests.

Meanwhile, we remain at your disposal for any further information you may require.

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,855 - 1,861 of 2,530 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel in June 2011 when it was still a Sofitel and I am note sure what changes has been made since the change to the Centara brand, although the changes seems to be quite small from reading the other reviews.

We stayed in a lovely Duplex Suite which was huge and all you could ever want. On the first floor was a large living room and a nice bathroom. On the second floor of the Duplex suite was the bedroom and a large bathroom. The balcony was huge and overlooking one of the many pools.

The Club Lounge was great with a great selection during breakfast, afternoon tea as well as evening cocktails. The beach in front of the hotel is also very nice and clean. Service at the hotel was great and even though the hotel is located pretty much in down town Hua Hin it is very quiet and serene.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suntrip62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed stay with us.

On behalf of all the staff here at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, we profoundly hope that we will have the opportunity to be able to welcome you back to our resort again in the future.

Meanwhile, we remain at your disposal for any further information you may require.

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed at the Centara in a delux pool villa for 9 nights from 19th April, and boy did we not want to leave to move on to Bangkok. Beautiful hotel, a sancturay less than a stones throw from the exciting hussle and bussle of Hua Hin. The amazing topiary gardens would put a smile on the most hungover of faces(!)..it was a joy to walk through them every day to breakfast, the gym or the main pools. Breakfast was the best that we had experienced on any of our travels..best poached eggs ever, English bacon (yum) and many other delights catering for all nationalities. Staying in a pool villa we had all the club benefits..2 pieces of laundry each day, afternoon tea..and the pièce de résistance cocktails and canapes between 5 and 7pm..wow...we were so spoilt, it felt great! Fabulous service each evening from the staff providing the club drinks, friendly and very attentive. We will most definitley return as soon as we can do.

We travelled from Bangkok with Oriental Escapes, our driver Sonia was great - arriving punctualy and driving very safely, would most definitely recommend them for transfers.We requested a quiet, non-overlooked, secluded villa based upon earlier Tripadvisor reviews and were very happy that the Centara accommodated this request. We were sad to have to leave to go to Bangkok...however Sunday brunch at the Raintree Cafe was awesome..and a must do for anyone visiting this great city..if interested take a look at my review of this restaurant.

Thank you Centara, we will be back as soon as we can be.

Room Tip: Villas are great with huge pools..love the outdoor space where you can see, hear and smell the delig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PigPaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Owner at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you very much for your time in writing to us following your recent stay at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin. Your very kind comments are much appreciated and will be relayed to the employees concerned.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Receive of your comments as there is nothing more motivating than guests who take the time to send a note of appreciation.

With our reiterated thanks and looking forward to be again of service to you in the future, we remain,

Sincerely yours,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I have a good time on this beach resort, The room and services are very good, Warm and friendly people, nice food and nice to spend your vacation. The place is safe for all tourist.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojo_alagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review of Centara Grand Beach Resort and Villas Hua Hin on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the room, food and excellent service from our staff as per your positive rating.

On behalf of all the staff here at Centara Grand Hua Hin, we profoundly hope that we will have the opportunity to be able to welcome you back to our resort again.

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My husband and i have just returned from Hua Hin and stayed at the Centara Resort. Most amazing resort we have stayed in. On arrival we were upgraded to a Seaview Room, which had only recently been refurbished and it was absolutely gorgeous. we were delighted with the upgrade as the view from our balcony was fabulous. We were on the 3rd floor, which was a little bit of a walk but it did not worry us as the room was at the end of the resort and was so quiet, we felt like we were the only people there. The room was immaculately presented, the whole resort was immaculate and service was very good. The buffet breakfast was truly one of the best we have ever had, though when it was busy the staff seemed a little flustered, but they would so graciously acknowledge you and serve tea and coffee asap. Overall if you are wanting a quieter relaxing holiday away from the big city without being in and out of airports, Hua Hin is just a 2-3 hour drive from the heart of Bangkok, with all the amenties of a big city and The Centara is divine.

Room Tip: Seaview Room 267 is the pick for a view and so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leanne1364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Sir / Madame,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, Hua Hin. We will share your comments with department concerned. This feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I can't recommend highly enough of this place. Everything is just perfect: the service, atmosphere, spa, decor, beach, food, pool, plants, gardens, golf cars, highly-trained staff etc. They even bought their own white fine sand to lay in front of their hotel here. Hua Hin sand is corse normally. We stayed in the villa. Although it's more expensive than the other types of their room, go for it if you have a little spare. It's worth every penny. We had a colonial-style villa with a private pool under a tamarind tree (in the room!!!), a wonderful living room in a separate villa, two beautiful bathrooms, the all-inclusive drinks and snacks and many other services that come with it. You will hear birds tweeting and squirrels climbing about from your own pool. Extensive variety of wonderful breakfast in bed or by your own pool if you like. Newspaper delivered on your door. Free DVDs and books etc. You won't get bored here. In fact, I felt we didn't have enough time. Every minute was so enjoyable. Every corner we turned to was just beautiful. The hotel has a really good taste. It gives me an idea of what my perfect home would be like one day. I have been to the best hotels in the world but this one beats others by all standards and will remain a wonderful memory for a very long time! The only thing was they didn't turn down the bed and didn't bring bedtime sweets as they promised. But given everything was undescribably wonderful, I forgive ;)

Room Tip: Go for Villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Schweiztraum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin on TripAdvisor. We very much appreciate your comments and we are pleased to note that you have enjoyed our Villas facilities.

Club benefits are generous and are indeed very liked by our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will definitely share your comments with our team. We have also noted with concern your comments about the turn down service did not meet your expectations.

We have been carefully noted by our Executive Housekeeper in order to improve the quality of our service to exceeding our guests’ expectations.

Thank you once again for you kind’s review of our resort. On behalf of all the staff here at the resort, we sincerely look forwards to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Our second trip to this resort and although the management has changed from Sofitel :-( to Centara, the service, ambience staff have not changed one bit. The pool villas are individual and set apart from the main hotel. They are gated, and each has its own plunge pools so you are completely private. We used the plunge pool several times each day as it was hot. A very short stroll to the Huan Hin village and its seafront restaurants and shopping makes it a great location. If you're an Accor Member or in a villa or club room, you can access the Club Milleseme each evening for happy hour (5-7) for complimentary lovely wines, cocktails and canapés. For us, it was a golf trip, mainly to Black Mountain, though a hot one with daily temps of 38 degrees C, but the pool, the staff, the in-house restaurants and the proximity to the town made it a great break for 9 days. We're going back - just check the temperature before you go.

Room Tip: Club room or pool villa will give you the best holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAMMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review of Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your holiday with us. As you can imagine, our main objective is guest satisfaction and we are always motivated when guests are telling us that we succeeded.

Once again, thank you for your kind review of Centara Grand Hua Hin, which is very much appreciated and we all look forward to welcome you back here to our resort.

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.7 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#4 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,327 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#6 of 144 in Hua Hin
2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#90 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,350 reviews
2.6 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
1.7 mi away
Cape Nidhra Hotel
Cape Nidhra Hotel
#8 of 144 in Hua Hin
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin

Address: 1 Damnernkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range: £119 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin first opened its doors in the early 1920s at a time when Hua Hin was still a sleepy coastal village. This five-star beachfront resort was built along the classic lines of that era, with phenomenal gardens and beautifully spacious rooms and suites (up to 170 square metres) with high ceilings, polished hardwood flooring, period furniture, and the warm tones of Thai silk. The resort is also home to 42 single-storey villas that offer privacy and space (up to 120 square metres) and the choice of a Jacuzzi or plunge pool on the terrace. Beside Hua Hin’s gorgeous beach, a stone’s throw away, and a relaxed atmosphere to enjoy to the full, the resort also offers plenty of leisure options for adults and children: four swimming pools and children’s pools, a superb spa, a fitness centre, tennis courts, Muay Thai and Tai Chi classes, and two kids clubs. Plus, the town is outside our door, and some of the best golf courses in Thailand are within easy travelling distance. The dining venues include a colonial style café and all-day dining restaurant, a Japanese restaurant, a Thai restaurant located near the villas, and the modern COAST Beach Club & Bistro. With its setting on the beach and its elegant atmosphere, the resort also is the perfect setting for a dream wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Fastbooking, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Sawasdee, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas Hua Hin
Sofitel Hua Hin
Accor Hua Hin
Hua Hin Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing