We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This would have to be the best Hotel that I have ever stayed in. Rooms were lovely and clean and the staff could not do enough for us. We got it at a very good deal of stay for 8 nites and only pay for 4. Breakfast was a mega feast of asian and european dishes ranging from eggs every which way, sushi, dumplings, stirfries, sausages, vegetable dishes,cheeses and meats, fresh and dried fruit, pastries, cereals and the best waffles and crepes ever with various sauces. The fresh juice and smoothie bar was a great hit as well. Ther was no need for lunch. We also attended the French Buffet dinner which again was an enormous gastro feast. The freshest seafood and the most amazing little desserts. Mains ranged from duck, lamb, fish , chicken, beef. The lobster bisque was to die for as was the duck confit. We couldnt manage any of the 22 imported french cheeses but they looked delightful. All for an amazingly cheap price. This is definitely a must do. The 3 pools were always attended by very courteous staff. When we go again I would definitely go for the room upgrade which has a club attached. This gives you free drinks and nibbles for 2 hours every nite and 2 free laundry items every day. A huge bonus. The drinks are cheaper on the beach under the umbrellas, a lovely setting as the sun goes down. A must do.

Room Tip: A room upgrade with the club attached is worth every cent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fozlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,708 - 1,714 of 2,508 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

My wife and I are now nearing the end of a 10 day stay at this resort --- a 1920's Colonial Style property located in beautiful landscape gardens. It is very similar in style to other Colonial Style hotels that we have visited eg. Mount Lavinia in Sri Lanka, Raffles in Phnom Penn and Raffles in Singapore. Mention must be given to all staff members who always went out of their way to be helpful and with a smile on their face --- marvellous !

Breakfast in the Railway Restaurant did get a little crowded especially at weekends however the staff members did their very best to provide very good service considering how busy the restaurant was. When we are on holiday we do like to support the hotel as much as possible by eating inhouse however we found that the restaurants during the evening were not supported by the majority of guests presumably because the prices were excessive compared with like for like competition (Hilton Hotel Hua Hin) Maybe the hotel management feel that they do not need to generate additional income but what is the advantage of dining in a restaurant with no atmosphere ? It would have been very nice to take advantage of difficult to refuse incentives to dine inhouse instead of having to dine at alternative venues --- anyway food for thought !

We did have a problem with our room but this was very quickly resolved by the Front Office Manager (Mr.Kiattiyos Aparachipairin) who handled this issue superbly. Our thanks to all staff members for a very memorable vacation.

Thank you once again for a memorable stay and we will certainly come back to this lovely resort in the near future. Please pass these comments on to all the staff members.

Room Tip: All very lovely rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BLUEWONDER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin and leave your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind remarks regarding our staff and services especially from our Front Office Manager are received with great pleasure and have been conveyed to all concerned. These will certainly serve as encouragement for us to continue improving the standard of our services.

We have taken note of your comments regarding the restaurant for dinner as well as the price, and would like to assure you that we will be taken to remedy, where necessary, the problems which you have highlighted.

Thank you once again and, and look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future.

In the meantime, assuring you of our continued care and attention at all times. We remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed at the Centara for two nights in September 2012. We can only concur with other reviews which speak so highly of this hotel. We travelled with our daughter and extended family, all of whom were delighted by the Club facilities, the gardens and beautifully appointed rooms. There is a wonderful atmosphere here and is an experience we intend to have again some time soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your kind review on TripAdvisor, which is appreciated by all of us here at the resort. We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your holiday at the resort and we all look forward to the opportunity of being able to welcome you back to our resort soon.

Sincerely yours,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Stayed hear for 12 nights at the end of September, after a long flight from the UK the journey seemed endless getting to the hotel, on arrival the greeting was first class and the staff so helpfull and friendly the cold tea was delicious.We had a room on the ground floor in the colonial wing it was gorgeous, lovely sea view,clean, lots of bottled water given every day,tea/coffee, we did ask for more hangers and iron/board they arrived promptly,toiletries replenished regularly. The breakfast was amazing loads of choice, I even had the noodles and chili beef one morning so good.We eat at the restraunt on steak night about £20 each may seem expensive for Thailand but what a choice not only every cut of steak you can think of also duck,pork ham and the best bit you could have all of what was on offer go back as many times that your appetite would allow,leave room for the fab choice of dessert's it is 3 course forgot to say.also had room service one night due to rain again the food was fantastic tip if you want fries do not order extra as we ended up with 3 plates of them even the starter came with fries fab they cleared the plates in record time.The gym is full of top equipment and steam room in changing room, staff will help you with equipment if required. All of the staff are a credit to this hotel nothing is too much trouble I don't think we saw one unhappy person even the security guard always had a lovely greeting before you went on to the beach well done Centara high praise to you all we would make this our first choice returning to Hau Hin. On the beach turn left number 6 Madam Poo fab food and welcome.In the town we did not have a bad meal in any restaurant recommend all seasons, bam bam eat in the night market all good times, go into Hilton for a drink on the top floor great views of Hua Hin. Down side never had problem before with mosquitos buy lots of spray.

Room Tip: Colonial building near pool, restaurant and gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tinkerbell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin on your recent visit to Hua Hin, and for taking the time to leave a kind review of our resort on TripAdvisor which we are very grateful for.

We are absolutely delighted to know that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and service from our team, and on behalf of the entire team here at the resort, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you again for your review.

Yours Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Centara Grand is impressive, the moment you swing through the entrance and head up throught the immaculate gardens, this gives you an idea what may be in store. I have to say it does not dissappoint on any front.
It stands head and shoulders above the more modern concrete boxes in the area in terms of character and space.
It could be as fussy or laid back as you want the service is discrete and and easy to get along with.
Breakfast is so good and the choice is awesome, its difficult to choose.
The gardens and pool areas (three) are kept in pristine condition with loads of loungers and sun or shade to suit any taste.
We won't be looking for anywhere else for our next trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thaipro12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you again for the positive review, and for choosing Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin on your choice for holidays. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our resort in the future, we remain,

Yours Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We spent 3 very relaxing weeks at the Centara Grand in Hua Hin. Loved the layout of the hotel, the different wings meant that at no time did the hotel appear crowded.
My husband is a wheelchair user, able to walk short distances only, and we had been assigned a ground floor room in the colonial wing. Fantastic..... Our room looked out to the beach..... We couldn't have asked for a nicer room. Mr O could manage the walk to breakfast and also to the pool.
Breakfasts were wonderful and we were very glad they were included in our package. I think I tried something different virtually every day! Waiting staff were very attentive and very friendly. Coffee and orange juice were often already being poured for us as we approached our table.
The bellboys were also very helpful, making some adjustments to the footrests on the wheelchair to make it easier for us to use the ramps and arranging for the tyres to be pumped up. On the subject of the ramps..... I'm not sure that they were originally intended for wheelchair use as they were quite narrow and very steep in places. I found it quite difficult at times. Having said that, if there were any staff around, they would always come rushing to help.
Our room maid was excellent, the room kept very clean and well serviced. One day, I had washed a crinkle top, the kind you roll up to dry, and left it on the balcony. When we returned to our room, our maid had very kindly placed it on a hanger to dry:)
The poolboys also deserve a mention, nothing is too much trouble. I loved the cold towels and fruit slices morning and afternoon. Food and drinks around the pool are more expensive than outside, but not excessively so and worth paying for if spending the day by the pool.
We rarely ate at the hotel, so much cheaper and much more fun to eat outside. We did, however, generally call in to the Elephant bar for coffee at the end of the evening. The staff here are delightful, the jazz band excellent and my nighttime coffee just isn't the same now! I miss the macaroons served with the coffee!
We booked the Centara Grand on recommendation of TA forumites, and I'm so glad we did.... Surely the best hotel in Hua Hin.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank openwide88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear Value Guest,

On behalf of all the staff and management at the resort, we would like to thank you for leaving such a wonderful review which we very much appreciate. We are very pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. Moreover, we are delighted to hear that you have been impressed by our staff service as per you positive rating.

We will share your comments with our team, and we look forward to welcoming you back again to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin soon.

Yours Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Stayed three nights in a Premium Deluxe Pool Villa was wonderful. Spacious bed room, lovely colonial style bath room, adequate cleaned villa pool, and 2 toilets satisfied our needs. The room had benefits of using the club lounge, late check-out depending on the room availability, free charge of wireless internet access of all area, and using library near the villa all day.

We took advantage of the hotel's limousin service
BMW was comfortable and I was able to enjoy the journey of about 3 hours with confidence in sincere support of the drivers with a good driver technique.

At the reception for the villa area, we were welcomed with a cold towel as well as a cup of tea which was in a cute elephant glass. There are more than 40 villas and our villa was located near the pool area, the reception, and the library where we could use PC for free of charge at any time. During that period, both of Japan and Thailand had possibility to be affected by Typhoon. The PC of the library and club lounge was very useful to check not only my emails but also the weather and latest information.

As for meal, we did use no restaurants for lunch and dinner because we always had fully belly at the club lounge. But we had breakfast at the Salathai and Railway restaurants. Salathai was located in the villa area, Railway was in the main building area. Both restaurants were nice decoration and cozy atmosphere.

The city of Hua HIn was more prosperous than I had expected. There were many local restaurants, souvenior shops, convenience stores, and Mac Donald & Starbacks coffee. In the morning mom and I could walk around the surrounding area without fear. Hua Hin is a safe, comfortable city so that many tourist coming from all over the world can enjoy with their family.

On the beach of villa side, many beach parasol were lined for enjoying Thai local food. On the beach of the main building, we could watch some people swimming in the sea and riding a horse. The sea was very calm and the water was transparent.

There were 4 big common pools in the resort. I did enter no pools but many people enjoyed with their family. All pools reached a depth of 2.6 meters and the shallowest was 1 meter. The pool of the private villas was 1.2 meters depth.

Anyway I recommend to visit Hua Hin as well as this hotel for people who want to relax and enjoy quiet resort life with your family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear Value Guest,

We are very pleased to note that you enjoyed our resort and thank you for your positive review of our resort and highly recommended our resort. We certainly do hope that we will get the opportunity of welcoming you back again to Centara Grand Beach Resort and Villas Hua Hin in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.7 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#4 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,317 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#5 of 144 in Hua Hin
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,332 reviews
2.6 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
1.7 mi away
Cape Nidhra Hotel
Cape Nidhra Hotel
#8 of 144 in Hua Hin
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin

Address: 1 Damnernkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range: £116 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin first opened its doors in the early 1920s at a time when Hua Hin was still a sleepy coastal village. This five-star beachfront resort was built along the classic lines of that era, with phenomenal gardens and beautifully spacious rooms and suites (up to 170 square metres) with high ceilings, polished hardwood flooring, period furniture, and the warm tones of Thai silk. The resort is also home to 42 single-storey villas that offer privacy and space (up to 120 square metres) and the choice of a Jacuzzi or plunge pool on the terrace. Beside Hua Hin’s gorgeous beach, a stone’s throw away, and a relaxed atmosphere to enjoy to the full, the resort also offers plenty of leisure options for adults and children: four swimming pools and children’s pools, a superb spa, a fitness centre, tennis courts, Muay Thai and Tai Chi classes, and two kids clubs. Plus, the town is outside our door, and some of the best golf courses in Thailand are within easy travelling distance. The dining venues include a colonial style café and all-day dining restaurant, a Japanese restaurant, a Thai restaurant located near the villas, and the modern COAST Beach Club & Bistro. With its setting on the beach and its elegant atmosphere, the resort also is the perfect setting for a dream wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas Hua Hin
Sofitel Hua Hin
Accor Hua Hin
Hua Hin Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing