We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing this time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

After staying here several times already, I was a bit disappointed this time.
Level of service is decreased in the last year. During breakfast you have to belong to the - mostly German - incrowd to get good service at your table.
During the start of the weekend a very large group arrived, taking over the hotel. I am not used to that in a hotel of this class. Poolarea had the ambiance of a cheap Spanish costa hotel in august. Too crowded.
Only light so far is the Elephant bar with the Centara Angles taking service to a professional level. Nice atmosphere.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jljm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear J.L.J M,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recently stay at the resort. We are glad that you enjoyed the service at the Elephant Bar. Thank you for highlighting this.

We will continue to enhance the service experience and the various facilities offered at the resort and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again soon.

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,408 - 1,414 of 2,508 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

My husband & I chose the hotel to celebrate our 40th Anniversary having lived in Thailand for 6 years shortly after we were married. We could not have made a better choice as from the moment we arrived until we sadly left we received a level of service well in excess of our expectation. We certainly knew we were in the "Land of Smiles" as Thailand is sometimes called.
Having been built in 1932 the hotel had a colonial feel, however the facilities were right up to date; modern bathroom with fluffy towels changed twice daily.
The choice at breakfast was excellent and having mentioned we liked mangoes, these were prepared for us and appeared without asking on each day following, which we thought was a super touch.
Although the hotel was in a very central position in the old town of Hua Hin and surrounded by many restaurants we ate on four occasions (twice at the Railway and twice at the Thai ) as the quality and presentation of the food was excellent and service attentive.The price was also very reasonable.
Do try afternoon tea in the coffee area which is accompanied by live music from a resident harpist who was excellent.
The grounds with their assortment of trees shaped into various animals and birds were vast and immaculate and the pools very inviting.
We could not have asked for a more friendly and helpful staff or more pleasant surroundings for our celebration and we will most certainly be returning!

Room Tip: Railway block is quiet. Room overlooking pools and beach give sunrise views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 15oct70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear 15oct70,

Thank you indeed for taking the time to express your satisfaction and for celebrating your wonderful 40th Anniversary at Centara Grand Hua Hin.

We shall take the greatest pleasure in passing on your kind words to our entire team and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the resort in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

the hotel is still very classy & so charming
our upgrade room was splendid with a wonderful view on the garden & the sea
delicious breakfast with a lot of choices ( maybe fresh fruit juices & everything is top !!)
garden is still wonderful, nice pools(3), specially the Garden pool

to be perfect : change the aqua gym please ; he cannot swim & do almost all the exercise with the arms out of water, he cannot speak english & don't explain his exercises ;
as we came from Centara Samui where we had a fantastic yoga teacher ( 2 times/day) Mr Joe Gasby, what a deception when we follow the yoga lesson in Hua Hin; yoga must be given in the wonderful garden & not in the hall near the fitness & the day we followed it looks more on gymnastic than yoga...

for the rest a wonderful stay,, & we will go back again for sure

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear chris v,

It was a pleasure to have you recently at the resort. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay.

We appreciate your feedback regarding Yoga conductor is needed to improve and rest assured that corrective steps have been immediately taken.

We look forward to your next visit and rest assured of our undivided attention and utmost service at all times

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Location was perfect, easy to walk into the small bustling town centre of Hua Hin. Breakfast was excellent great choice to suit all tastes. Sitting looking out at the ocean for lunch was just what you want as part of a relaxing holiday. Proximity to some superb golf courses if that's your thing. The architecture and the service makes you feel you've stepped back in time to when everything was the way it should be. The staff and level of service is superb. Would recommend and will return. Please don't change anything. Perfection is difficult to improve.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Uhdcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Uhdcfc,

We appreciate your kind review of your recent stay at Centara Grand Hua Hin and we are happy that you had a great time.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay at the resort and recommended the resort to anyone we look forward to your next visit, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Absolutely wonderful hotel.. Old Grand and keeping the momentum living up to the best. Beautiful lobby hotel surrounded by a state of art garden... I wonder how they maintain this so glamorously.
Suite stayed ( Flower Suite) was stunning...Felt real grand with chosen furniture bathroom and dining area matching to one another.
Smiling staff helpful & knowledgeable... Beach with horses not a real match but the locals make the area lively.
The main restaurant " Station" hope I'm right..was another grand...Excellent breakfast with ample varieties.... topped up with a Harp music (Live) absolutely memorizing.. Never seen at a breakfast...
Was privilege to participate the King's birthday celebration at the hotel.
Well done Centara Hua Hin..

Room Tip: take the Flower Suite 051
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sisira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Sisira S,

It was a pleasure having you with us, we are very happy to read that you have enjoyed stayed with us. As you can imagine, our main objective is guest satisfaction and we are always motivated when guests are telling us that we succeeded.

With our reiterated thanks and hoping to be of service to you again soon, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We have arrived to the hotel after a trip in northen Thailand and they welcomed us perfectly. great service, great hospitality overall it is an amazing hotel and I could ask for more. Highly recommended for the perfect vacation

Room Tip: We have been at the third floor at room 324 and there was a small noise from the A/C unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rakefet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear rakefet s,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Centara Grand Hua Hin we are glad to note that you had a pleasant time.

We appreciate your kind recommendation of the resort to everyone and we look forward to your return visit.

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We recently enjoyed 7 nights at this amazing hotel and have only positive things to say. This really is old fashioned splendour at it's best from check in and the delightful staff, to the moment we left. The hotel is stunning with fantastic topiary in the beautifully maintained gardens. Every member of staff was a delight to deal with and made our stay extra special. The breakfast buffet was the best I have ever had, with every type of food combination possible. I did wonder what the vanilla custard was for and on the last day discovered the most unbelievable bread and butter pudding under one of the silver domes. A must try. We were slightly nervous to eat any of the street food but wanted to try something at the night market. Snack Jack was the best ever. There weren't many people in as the place is quite newly opened, but we found it to be the cleanest and most delicious food. The seafood hot plate and barbecued sea bream was amazing. As you walk up the night market to the railway station, you cross over the first road and this is the second restaurant on the left hand side. Another amazing place to eat has to be Moon Smile and Platoo. This is a top rated restaurant and when we walked past was always busy so we just ate elsewhere. We decided to try on our last night and to be honest I would have eaten here most nights once I tried the food. The crab fried rice was unbelievable and chicken and cashew nuts (around £2) was just divine. This was so good, I had to eat there at 5.00pm the next day before we headed to the airport, just to taste this dish one more time. We are real foodies and have eaten at some of the best restaurants, but rarely tasted food so good. We also had an amazing day out at Thai Cooking Course Hua Hin. One of the best cookery courses we have ever done and made the best thai green curry I have ever tasted. This is a gorgeous hotel and hope to return one day. Thank you to all the staff for making our holiday so perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlasgowTravelbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear GlasgowTravelbabe,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience about your recent holiday at the resort. We are all certainly delighted that everyone had a great time.

With our reiterated thanks and looking forward to be again of service to you in the future.

Yours sincerely,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.7 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#4 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,317 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#5 of 144 in Hua Hin
2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,329 reviews
2.6 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
1.7 mi away
Cape Nidhra Hotel
Cape Nidhra Hotel
#8 of 144 in Hua Hin
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin

Address: 1 Damnernkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range: £118 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin first opened its doors in the early 1920s at a time when Hua Hin was still a sleepy coastal village. This five-star beachfront resort was built along the classic lines of that era, with phenomenal gardens and beautifully spacious rooms and suites (up to 170 square metres) with high ceilings, polished hardwood flooring, period furniture, and the warm tones of Thai silk. The resort is also home to 42 single-storey villas that offer privacy and space (up to 120 square metres) and the choice of a Jacuzzi or plunge pool on the terrace. Beside Hua Hin’s gorgeous beach, a stone’s throw away, and a relaxed atmosphere to enjoy to the full, the resort also offers plenty of leisure options for adults and children: four swimming pools and children’s pools, a superb spa, a fitness centre, tennis courts, Muay Thai and Tai Chi classes, and two kids clubs. Plus, the town is outside our door, and some of the best golf courses in Thailand are within easy travelling distance. The dining venues include a colonial style café and all-day dining restaurant, a Japanese restaurant, a Thai restaurant located near the villas, and the modern COAST Beach Club & Bistro. With its setting on the beach and its elegant atmosphere, the resort also is the perfect setting for a dream wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelbag, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas Hua Hin
Sofitel Hua Hin
Accor Hua Hin
Hua Hin Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing