We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third time; still excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
Ranked #3 of 134 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Third time; still excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We have just arrived home from our third stay at Centara Villas Hua Hin, and it was just as good as our first stay two years ago. The setting is superb in the lush gardens, with wonderful facilities throughout. Our villa provided us with our own private pool, and we could choose between the other pools or take a dip in the sea. Early morning walks/or runs along the beach,followed by a quick dip and then a wonderful breakfast were a great start to the day. The staff are so friendly and helpful that there is nothing left wanting. We'll be back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NumberEighteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear NumberEighteen,

We truly appreciate your support and patronage. It is always very motivating and rewarding to receive positive comments and not only negative ones.

We are glad that you enjoyed this third stay with us and would like to assure you that it has been a true pleasure to have you with us.

We all look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,719
    385
    87
    41
    19
See reviews for
651
1,133
72
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

This ex-Sofitel now managed by the Centara group. It kept its old charming feel combined with an amazing garden, love what they have done with the greenery sculpture. It really feels timeless, really great feeling.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SamAtlantis_Bkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear SamAtlantis_Bkk,

We are truly delighted to have your visit and glad that you had a good time in the resort.

All of us are looking forward to welcome you back again, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

First impressions are warm greeting by colonial dressed staff, beautiful foyer, being escorted to our room opening the curtains and seeing a beautiful view of the pool and sea. The grounds are immaculate with huge topiary hedges of elephants and flocks of birds. The rear entrance of the hotel is the original front entrance which is home to the museum/tearoom. Afternoon tea in the sophisticated atmosphere is a must. Rooms, mattress, pillows were all of a high quality and provided a wonderful nights sleep. The staff were professional at all times and always provided a warm and friendly greeting. Not forgetting the wonderful harpist who was playing elegant music during breakfast and in the foyer area. Elegance and Sophistication.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room with sea view. We requested top floor which there are only 3 this afforded bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jedsue11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Jedsue11,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Centara Grand Hua Hin.

We truly appreciate the various observations and positive feedback for the facilities, services and surrounding area of the resort.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apeldoorn
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Centara Grand Hotel is built in a colonial style, although Thailand was never colonised. But you can imagine how it was in other Asian countries during the colonial period. There is even a small museum where guests can have a drink and enjoy classical music. The rooms are not identical, but they are very well furnished and decorated. The gardens are large, bushes and trees are trimmed in the form of animals like it was before when this was still Sofitel. We stayed in the Sofitel 16, 17 and 18 years ago. Centara now is much larger, but also much less personal. Service is good, staff is friendly. Location is in the center of Hua Hin.

Some remarks: there are many steps. Also you have to climb stairs, because there is no elevator (!). (There are 4 floors). Food and drinks are fine, but very expensive. Therefore we had dinner in the hotel only once. Most guests have dinner somewhere else, so in the evening the restaurants of Centara are almost empty and for that reason there is not a pleasant atmosphere. Leaves were not removed for days. The airconditioning in the fitness room is too hot for a good workout (6 thermostats were set on 25 degrees, 2 on 20). The coolest air is about halfway and in the back of the room.

But we had a good time and we hope to come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room within a short walking distance to the reception and breakfast restaurant and for eld...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquarius46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Aquarius46,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the resort recently. We have taken a good note of your comments regarding food and drink price, the cleanliness and air condition set at fitness center and would like to assure you that appropriate action will be taken to remedy, where necessary, the problems which you have highlighted. We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that was created.

Apart from the points that you rightfully mentioned, we are pleased that you had a good time and enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Centara Grand Hua Hin in the near future, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

after doing some touring (Chaing Mai & Siem Reap) this was our relaxation treat - and so very happy that we chose it .

it is so very relaxing yet very close to the shops/bars/restaurants of Hua Hin .

We never eat in the hotel other than the included breakfast (which has to be the best breakfast buffet I've ever seen), as there were so many really good restaurants close by (try the night market for amazing sea food).

- No bagging of sunbeds - brilliant - why can't other hotels learn from this
- no banging music , just glorious relaxation .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jordie_tart666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear jordie_tart666,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Centara Grand Hua Hin.

We are delighted that you had a good time and enjoy the surrounding in and out the resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Ex Sofitel Hua Hin, now Centara (when you ask a tuk tuk driver it is enough to say Sofitel, everybody in town still calls it that) is a hotel I will always come back to as long as I may and can (think I have been there 8 or 9 times, really cannot remember since 7 years back, solo, with family or friends). Even with the change of hotel chain the beautiful building is there, the gardens as well as the location in the center of the city (which you cannot hear from the hotel), while still on the beach. Not to mention the staff, where there might have been some changes but that is normal. OK, the bathroom products have changed from Occitane to something indefinite, but they are generous and you lack of nothing, the hotel even provides you with sun lotion. The rooms I have had are very fine, well decorated, simply superb - I love the hotel and the very competent and adorable staff. Highly recommended even if it does not go for backpacker prices!

Room Tip: Cannot, it is too up to everyone to know what they like, garden, sea or whatever
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Marja W,

It is always a pleasure to have you at the resort and we truly appreciate your support and patronage.

Beyond the change of name, nothing regarding the resort service and standards will be changed. We continue to give the entire guest a warm and friendly welcome.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Visited hotel again my third visit , previously stayed on the right hand side of hotel as you look out towards the beach, beautiful rooms
On this visit we were given a room in the older wing and I can only say if I was given this room on my first visit I would never have returned
I think it was the worst room in a hotel in Thailand I had ever stayed in. Shabby dreary and not a single draw in bedside tables bathroom or wardrobe the original balcony was enclosed into the room and steep steps down to a overgrown seating area.
After complaining they found us a room in the other wing which cost us a extra 1000 baht a day I was very disappointed
Still once settled in the new wing I could appreciate the service and location of the Centara that I love. The new poolside towels were very nice but not sure of the colour, but the food service and our room maid were all excellent
IF I ever go back I will make sure I choose my room carefully.
A meeting with mr Juan re the rooms was not very conclusive but on checking the website I notice they do not show this room I wonder why

So yes go to the hotel its lei action and service is excellent just watch which room you book

Room Tip: Room 053 onwards are beautiful the rooms near the museum cafe
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThailandAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear ThailandAddict,

Thank you for sharing your experience. Your comments on the service and hospitality given by all the staff are most gratifying and will be shared with all the team.

We take note your comments about the room was below your expectations. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us improve the quality of our service to better meet our guest needs.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.7 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#1 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
4.0 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#6 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
2.6 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
2.6 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
Address: 1 Damnernkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin first opened its doors in the early 1920s at a time when Hua Hin was still a sleepy coastal village. This five-star beachfront resort was built along the classic lines of that era, with phenomenal gardens and beautifully spacious rooms and suites (up to 170 square metres) with high ceilings, polished hardwood flooring, period furniture, and the warm tones of Thai silk. The resort is also home to 42 single-storey villas that offer privacy and space (up to 120 square metres) and the choice of a Jacuzzi or plunge pool on the terrace. Beside Hua Hin’s gorgeous beach, a stone’s throw away, and a relaxed atmosphere to enjoy to the full, the resort also offers plenty of leisure options for adults and children: four swimming pools and children’s pools, a superb spa, a fitness centre, tennis courts, Muay Thai and Tai Chi classes, and two kids clubs. Plus, the town is outside our door, and some of the best golf courses in Thailand are within easy travelling distance. The, and include a colonial style café and all-day dining restaurant, a Japanese restaurant, a Thai restaurant located near the villas, and the modern COAST Beach Club & Bistro. With its setting on the beach and its elegant atmosphere, the resort also is the perfect setting for a dream wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Travelbag, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas Hua Hin
Sofitel Hua Hin
Accor Hua Hin
Hua Hin Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing