We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great first visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
Ranked #3 of 135 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great first visit”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Our first time in Thailand & first time away for Christmas. What a lovely hotel.

The staff were friendly & helpful but not obtrusive. The rooms were really nice & v clean. Food was lovely. Our only issue was that the pools were quite cool. Our 5 year old didn't mind but I couldn't stay in for more than 1 hour.

Hua Hin is great & the hotel is near enough to be handy but out enough to be quiet.

Highly recommend & we'll definitely return!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank drnat07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear drnat07,

We are grateful that you have taken the time to share your recent experience at the resort. We are glad that you and your family had a good time even though you have traveled far from home to our destination.

We truly appreciate your support and patronage and recommended our resort to anyone for their trip to Hua Hin and at Centara Grand Hua Hin.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,746
    392
    88
    41
    19
See reviews for
658
1,152
74
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We booked the Centara based on TA reviews and we like the Centara brand after visiting Centara Samui two years ago. Our room was a deluxe sea view in the original part of the hotel just above the museum/Tea room and what was the original reception, just perfect cool and comfortable faultless twice daily maid service. Breakfast was well presented and there was a good variety to suit both european and asian taste. Sunbeds were plentiful with attendants to allocate beds and supply towels and a regular supply of fruit and cold hand towels. Location is good just short walk to resaurants and night market. Our overall opinion is that the Centara more than met our expectations and we would certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank billogbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear billogbob,

We are very grateful to you for having taken the time to give us such nice comments with reference to your recent stay at Resort.

Your very kind comments are much appreciated and will be relayed to the team.

We truly appreciate your support and patronage and we look forward to see you again same time next year.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

An oasis of old-school hospitality with atmospheric buildings - the reception, the 'museum' lounge and the bedrooms - friendly competent staff, beautifully tended gardens. The Palm restaurant serves a high standard of food. The Elephant bar in the early evening for a G&T and canapes was the highlight of a wonderful stay at the Centara. The 'packed lunch' breakfast provided for our very early start back to BKK airport was appreciated.

Room Tip: Rooms in the northern wing have a better outlook than the southern wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ed s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear ed s,

We appreciate your kind comments following your stay at the resort. We are very happy to read that you had a good time in the resort.

As you can imagine, our main objective is guest satisfaction and we are always motivated when guests are telling us that we succeeded.

With our reiterated thanks and hoping to be of service to you again soon, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We have just arrived home from our third stay at Centara Villas Hua Hin, and it was just as good as our first stay two years ago. The setting is superb in the lush gardens, with wonderful facilities throughout. Our villa provided us with our own private pool, and we could choose between the other pools or take a dip in the sea. Early morning walks/or runs along the beach,followed by a quick dip and then a wonderful breakfast were a great start to the day. The staff are so friendly and helpful that there is nothing left wanting. We'll be back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NumberEighteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear NumberEighteen,

We truly appreciate your support and patronage. It is always very motivating and rewarding to receive positive comments and not only negative ones.

We are glad that you enjoyed this third stay with us and would like to assure you that it has been a true pleasure to have you with us.

We all look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

This ex-Sofitel now managed by the Centara group. It kept its old charming feel combined with an amazing garden, love what they have done with the greenery sculpture. It really feels timeless, really great feeling.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SamAtlantis_Bkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear SamAtlantis_Bkk,

We are truly delighted to have your visit and glad that you had a good time in the resort.

All of us are looking forward to welcome you back again, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

First impressions are warm greeting by colonial dressed staff, beautiful foyer, being escorted to our room opening the curtains and seeing a beautiful view of the pool and sea. The grounds are immaculate with huge topiary hedges of elephants and flocks of birds. The rear entrance of the hotel is the original front entrance which is home to the museum/tearoom. Afternoon tea in the sophisticated atmosphere is a must. Rooms, mattress, pillows were all of a high quality and provided a wonderful nights sleep. The staff were professional at all times and always provided a warm and friendly greeting. Not forgetting the wonderful harpist who was playing elegant music during breakfast and in the foyer area. Elegance and Sophistication.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room with sea view. We requested top floor which there are only 3 this afforded bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jedsue11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Jedsue11,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Centara Grand Hua Hin.

We truly appreciate the various observations and positive feedback for the facilities, services and surrounding area of the resort.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apeldoorn
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Centara Grand Hotel is built in a colonial style, although Thailand was never colonised. But you can imagine how it was in other Asian countries during the colonial period. There is even a small museum where guests can have a drink and enjoy classical music. The rooms are not identical, but they are very well furnished and decorated. The gardens are large, bushes and trees are trimmed in the form of animals like it was before when this was still Sofitel. We stayed in the Sofitel 16, 17 and 18 years ago. Centara now is much larger, but also much less personal. Service is good, staff is friendly. Location is in the center of Hua Hin.

Some remarks: there are many steps. Also you have to climb stairs, because there is no elevator (!). (There are 4 floors). Food and drinks are fine, but very expensive. Therefore we had dinner in the hotel only once. Most guests have dinner somewhere else, so in the evening the restaurants of Centara are almost empty and for that reason there is not a pleasant atmosphere. Leaves were not removed for days. The airconditioning in the fitness room is too hot for a good workout (6 thermostats were set on 25 degrees, 2 on 20). The coolest air is about halfway and in the back of the room.

But we had a good time and we hope to come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room within a short walking distance to the reception and breakfast restaurant and for eld...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquarius46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Aquarius46,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the resort recently. We have taken a good note of your comments regarding food and drink price, the cleanliness and air condition set at fitness center and would like to assure you that appropriate action will be taken to remedy, where necessary, the problems which you have highlighted. We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that was created.

Apart from the points that you rightfully mentioned, we are pleased that you had a good time and enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Centara Grand Hua Hin in the near future, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.7 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 135 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
4.0 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#5 of 135 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
2.6 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#12 of 135 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
2.6 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
Address: 1 Damnernkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin first opened its doors in the early 1920s at a time when Hua Hin was still a sleepy coastal village. This five-star beachfront resort was built along the classic lines of that era, with phenomenal gardens and beautifully spacious rooms and suites (up to 170 square metres) with high ceilings, polished hardwood flooring, period furniture, and the warm tones of Thai silk. The resort is also home to 42 single-storey villas that offer privacy and space (up to 120 square metres) and the choice of a Jacuzzi or plunge pool on the terrace. Beside Hua Hin’s gorgeous beach, a stone’s throw away, and a relaxed atmosphere to enjoy to the full, the resort also offers plenty of leisure options for adults and children: four swimming pools and children’s pools, a superb spa, a fitness centre, tennis courts, Muay Thai and Tai Chi classes, and two kids clubs. Plus, the town is outside our door, and some of the best golf courses in Thailand are within easy travelling distance. The, and include a colonial style café and all-day dining restaurant, a Japanese restaurant, a Thai restaurant located near the villas, and the modern COAST Beach Club & Bistro. With its setting on the beach and its elegant atmosphere, the resort also is the perfect setting for a dream wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas Hua Hin
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Sofitel Hua Hin
Accor Hua Hin
Hua Hin Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing