We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Grand about Centara Hua Hin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
Ranked #3 of 136 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney Australia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nothing Grand about Centara Hua Hin”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Unfortunately we still have 5 days here to put up with the abysmal service.
Four of us booked Club access mini suites for our stay in Hua Hin and so far we wish we had chosen another hotel.
This hotel has many guests who have paid extra for club access with the benefits of evening cocktails. So many in fact there is no room for them all to sit in airconditioned comfort, which is needed when the temperature is 35 degrees. We are only offered outside seating amongst the mosquito plagued gardens,which we decline.
There is supposed to be drinks as well later at 8:30 but we have tried to order Baileys on 2 consecutive nights only to be told "we've run out"
Any decent hotel would get whats required from another bar in the hotel or send somene to a shop and buy it.
This hotel has no airconditioned public areas so you must go to your room to keep cool.
All the rooms are in several wings with long walks on outside corridors to the lobby. Wooden stairs are the only means of access to the upper floors where rooms give some relief from the insect invasion.
There seems to be a lack of staff in numbers enough to give guests personal attention. When I mentioned this to staff they say "sorry we are busy" .
I asked at reception to book two massages at the Spa, instead of contacting the Spa and making the reservation for me i was handed the phone to do it myself. I could have done that from my room. The" Club" needs a permanent concierge to handle customer requests.

I believe that this hotel is living in the past and is not in tune with what is required by international travellers.
I am sure if management read this they will come up with the usual platitudes that they are " working towards rectifying the problems"
For current guests it will all be too late.

Room Tip: Dont bother with Club upgrade not up to much
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heron2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Heron2,

We are sorry to hear that we failed to meet you expectations during your stay. As we always state it, guest comments are one of the best tools we have to improve our operations and services.

We duly noted that you were unfortunately not satisfied with our hotel as you felt it lacking air-conditioning in the public areas and walkways. The resort was built in Colonial Style in the year 1923 and we do make an effort to clearly communicate this on our websites and other presentations. All the comments have been noted and an appropriate action will be taken to remedy, where necessary, the problems which you have highlighted.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,806
    400
    90
    41
    19
See reviews for
677
1,181
79
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Austins Ferry, Tasmania, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My husband and I stayed in a superior room at this resort, for 6 nights, during April. We loved the location as it allowed us to have long walks on the beach or head straight into town for shopping. Our breakfast was included in our price and I can honestly say I have never seen a better buffet. It was beautifully laid out with lots of variety and fresh produce, catering for everyone. All of the staff, from reception to housekeeping were friendly and helpful, everyone contributed to making our stay a very special one. We did not leave the resort to eat as the restaurants catered for our every need. The only restaurant we did not eat at was the Japanese one and that was only because we do not like that kind of food. The only negatives I could think of would be that our room was not made up until the middle of the afternoon and the turn down happened only 1 to 2 hours later while we were getting ready to go out for dinner. I would return there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Trina B,

Thank you very much for choosing to spend your holiday at the resort. We truly appreciate positive feedback for the food, facilities and services of the resort.

With regards to your remark about the delay of room cleaning and turndown service. There is no excuse for this happening and we would like to ensure you that we shared your comment with our Executive Housekeeper to re-train the team to ensure no future reoccurrence.

Thank you once again for bringing this to our attention and look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

A Nice quiet hotel in impressive grounds, selected for a family reunion due to its proximity to Bangkok. We selected a Junior suite, unfortunately the initially allocated room was small + dark, and located at the end of the old (railway) wing with the Balcony obscured by trees, apart from the end which overlooked the road down to the beach. An alternative room in the Garden wing was completely different - spacious light + airy with a balcony overlooking the excellent topiary gardens.

Breakfast in the Club was very good, with a decent buffet selection and cooked breakfasts available to order.

Restaurants were generally quiet due to the availability of many restaurants with in walking distance, but we did eat dinner in both the Thai restaurant and the Railway Restaurant, both were good.

Service and staff were generally very good.

Room Tip: We preferred the rooms in the newer wing, which are larger and lighter, although some may prefer the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visionary47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Visionary47,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Centara Grand Hua Hin with your family.

We are glad that you had a relaxing family week at the resort

It is our hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My wife and I just returned from a five night stay at this hotel. We had a very hard time finding the hotel as there are no signs. After a 5 hour drive from Jomtine we spent another hour trying to find the hotel. There are NO signs showing where it is. The signage for the hotel is terrible. There is no sign posted on Soi 61 to tell us where the hotel is. We ask a military guy, an old man, and a young guy walking across the street. None of them had ever heard about this hotel. We then went back to the main road and down Soi 61 again where we saw a security guard standing at what we thought was the back gate. The gate had a sign which said Centara Grand Hotel. My Thai wife ask him where the enterance was and he said we had to go back to the main highway and turn left. We did this and of course didn't find it. Back to Soi 61 and at last we found the hotel. The general manager should take note of this and add Soi 61 to the hotels address and put a sign on the Soi pointing to the hotel.

The first night we ate at the Hagi Japanese Restaurant. We found the food to be very very good. The next morning we ate breakfast at the Railway Buffet. I have been to about 120 countries and the Railway Buffet is prehaps the best breakfast I have ever eaten. We looked forward to the Buffet Breakfast every morning. The next evening we ate at Palm Seafood Pavilion where the food was again very good. But again we had a problem as there was no lights. I couldn't even see my shrimp on the plate. I don't understand the thinking for having no lights. Maybe so you can see the stars.We tried room service one day at lunch and my hamburger was cooked just right.


Our room was on the 2nd floor looking out over the beautiful grounds. I would rate the Centara excellent but can only give it a very good because of the difficult time we had finding it,

Tom & Mayura, Jomtine

Room Tip: We were in room 229 and it had a great view of the grounds from our balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ASIATRAVLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear ASIATRAVLER,

Thank you for choosing the resort for your stay recently.

We appreciate the review and we will certainly enhance the highlighted points as mentioned to the improvement.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

this year we booked the 2 bed duplex suite since our son and grandson were with us. this gave us plenty of space and our six sorry six and a half year old grandson had his bed on the upstairs landing which is huge.
as always the best part of this wonderful hotel is the staff. even in the few days we were there the reception staff greeted me by name at every opportunity and their level of english surpasses that found in any other hotel in thailand, in my experience. ( just on this trip we stayed in the sofitel and westin grand in bangkok and the le meridien in chiang mai). also on our last day when checking out we hit a problem. wow, the reception staff appreciated our problem very quickly and provided a number of solutions.
The food in the club lounge is now of a reasonable quantity compared to our visit last year. we therefore have absolutely nothing to complain about after the visit in april 2014.
we will be back.

Room Tip: the 2 bed duplex suite is expensive but provides a mass of space for a large family of even two smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clnwrgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear colcol,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Centara Grand Hua Hin and we are delighted that you had a pleasant time.

Thank you for highlighting the great service that you had with our reception. It is greatly appreciated and will share with the team.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Just returned from a 10 night stay at this amazing hotel in Hua Hin . We read many good reviews on this hotel so were very excited about our stay. We were not disappointed fantastic location on the beach and close to some great restaurants and shops. We had a junior suite in the old wing which suited us as we had a young 7 year old that loved the pool and kids zone. We were there for the Thai New Year Songkram which was great fun and loved the monks that came in the morning to see in the new year at the hotel. We took advantage of the club facilities at the hotel which is good value afternoon tea and cocktails and nibbles at night. The staff were very good in particular Jonas who is on a 12 month placement at the hotel from Switzerland and also Tirapong who always greeted us with a smile every morning. Will defiantly be going back next year. Breakfast was amazing with a harpist from Italy playing in the morning. The gardens are amazing .

Room Tip: If you are travelling with children then the old wing is better not so far to walk to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackandalfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear jackandalfie,

We appreciate your kind feedback following your stay at the resort recently.

We are glad that you had a good time during ten nights stay and enjoyed the Songkarn Thai New Year ceremony .

We certainly hope to welcome you back next time, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here with friends a few weeks ago in junior suites with club facilities. Rooms 206 and 204. These rooms are nowhere near five star. They need a complete refurb and also they were very dark. We had huge balconies but with all the greenery outside it made the rooms look gloomy.We had to put all the lights on to see properly.
The clubroom was very nice with lovely nibbles and tea and coffee presented in bone china. The waiters were superb and kept our glasses filled every night.
As time went on we noticed that the club got fuller and fuller with some guests scruffily dresses and children running about. A couple of evenings we had to sit outside in the heat as the clubroom was packed.

The breakfasts were plentiful with all you could wish for including a real honeycomb. Service was always good. We ate once in the clubroom but we had to order breakfast. Not as much choice as in the main buffet restaurant. The bread and butter pudding was lovely.

The pool at the back of the hotel was our favorite because it is quieter than the other pools. All the staff are very polite and efficient in their jobs.
The gardens are superb with topiary and well manicured lawns. A haven after the hustle and bustle outside.

The aircon in our rooms was brilliant with fans as well as aircon units.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taffytaf_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear taffytaf_2

Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to having you at our resort. We appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience.

We are pleased to note that you were happy with our services and facilities as per your positive ratings of our standards of service.

We have duly noted of your comment about the fact that you were not happy with rooms 204 and 206. These rooms are located in the Railway Wing, which is the original building from the year 1923. These rooms are very popular with a lot of our repeating guest, but we do appreciate that their style was not to your liking. Our Front Office Team would have been very happy to assist you with a change to either our Garden Wing or Colonial Wing, which are of a different appearance.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of serving you again, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.7 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,276 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#5 of 136 in Hua Hin
2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
2.6 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#12 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,217 reviews
2.6 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
Address: 1 Damnernkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin first opened its doors in the early 1920s at a time when Hua Hin was still a sleepy coastal village. This five-star beachfront resort was built along the classic lines of that era, with phenomenal gardens and beautifully spacious rooms and suites (up to 170 square metres) with high ceilings, polished hardwood flooring, period furniture, and the warm tones of Thai silk. The resort is also home to 42 single-storey villas that offer privacy and space (up to 120 square metres) and the choice of a Jacuzzi or plunge pool on the terrace. Beside Hua Hin’s gorgeous beach, a stone’s throw away, and a relaxed atmosphere to enjoy to the full, the resort also offers plenty of leisure options for adults and children: four swimming pools and children’s pools, a superb spa, a fitness centre, tennis courts, Muay Thai and Tai Chi classes, and two kids clubs. Plus, the town is outside our door, and some of the best golf courses in Thailand are within easy travelling distance. The dining venues include a colonial style café and all-day dining restaurant, a Japanese restaurant, a Thai restaurant located near the villas, and the modern COAST Beach Club & Bistro. With its setting on the beach and its elegant atmosphere, the resort also is the perfect setting for a dream wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas Hua Hin
Sofitel Hua Hin
Accor Hua Hin
Hua Hin Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing